1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Does Samsung Galaxy Spica/Lite support Multi-touch?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by noworry, Feb 25, 2010.

  1. noworry

    noworry Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    Feb 3, 2010
    26
    0
    15
    India
    Hi,
    Does this phone support multi-touch (like HTC Hero, Nexus One) in Browser, Google Maps, Photos etc like applications ?

    I want to buy this phone, but this feature is a deal-breaker for me.

    Thanks a lot...
     

    Advertisement

  2. The_Double

    The_Double Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    1
    16
  3. noworry

    noworry Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    Feb 3, 2010
    26
    0
    15
    India
    I heard that Android 2.1 update was supposed to enable multi-touch.

    Or is it a hardware limitation that this phone doesn't support multi-touch? If so, could you please point me to any specifications from reliable sources?
     
  4. Orfeas91

    Orfeas91 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    26
    0
    15
    No it doesn't support multi-touch. 2.1 provides multi-touch function but the phone's hardware isn't capable. Look to other posts like that and this one.
     
  5. noworry

    noworry Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    Feb 3, 2010
    26
    0
    15
    India
    Thanks for the links to the posts.
    But none of them mention any reliable reference for the reason.
    Samsung should clarify this. I ll ask the Samsung customer care about the same.
     
  6. Orfeas91

    Orfeas91 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    26
    0
    15
    Ok, if you find something let us know ;)
    Maybe with a different ROM we could have multi-touch.
     
  7. The_Double

    The_Double Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    1
    16
    The latest developments are that the touchscreen itself supports it, but the controller chip attached to it doesn't. But someone also achived to flash his controler chip using a firmware from the behold2... So if Samsung really wants to it might be possible, but i don't think they care.
     
  8. Orfeas91

    Orfeas91 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    26
    0
    15
    I don't think they do either...
     
  9. nx1977

    nx1977 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,421
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,421
    174
    163
    UK
    None of the beta's support multi touch, yet 2.1 on other devices have it by default. So the Samsung should as well, but only when the official ROM comes out
     
  10. rusty4ever

    rusty4ever Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    5
    1
    6
    i read on some russian forum that the hardware supports multitouch. so may be official upgrade will do the trick..
     
  11. The_Double

    The_Double Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    1
    16
    The controler chips firmware needs to get flashed, becouse this is a high-risk operation, i'm quite shure it wouldnt be implented in the offical roms.
     
  12. Tiggybot

    Tiggybot Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    45
    2
    36
    London UK
    It's OK, to tell the truth, I'm not sure that all the HYPE is about with multi-touch. I can live with out it.
     
  13. nx1977

    nx1977 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,421
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,421
    174
    163
    UK
    The screen touches are only manking the software react how it's programmed to.

    So, as long as the s/w allows multi touch, it will.

    The HTC hero supports pinch zoom from the box, and that's on v1.5!
     
  14. ClausG76

    ClausG76 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010

    Mar 3, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    Try to download
    Dolphin browser on the market.
    It's a free internet broowser that has a pinch zoom feature
     
  15. rusty4ever

    rusty4ever Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    5
    1
    6
    hey guyz i have a logical reason. i upgraded my spica to 2.1(leaked) and when i checked for multitouch(on game called ice hockey 2 player) i found that it is sensing two touches and resultant point is average of both so may be it only required software update..i have also noticed on non-multitouch displays that they only recognizes one touch at a time.. correct me if i am wrong
     
  16. Beerkan

    Beerkan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    720
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    720
    166
    93
    Blighty
    Just to point out, there's a copyright to this as well. Apple own the copyright to
    multi-touch or pinch. So any manufacturer including it could encounter the wrath of Apple. (eg HTC)
     

Share This Page

Loading...