1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Does Sprint roam on Verizon?

Discussion in 'Sprint' started by typehxr1, Jul 2, 2010.

  1. typehxr1

    typehxr1 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009

    Dec 25, 2009
    9
    0
    25
    Engineer
    Houston, TX
    I live in Houston, but work in remote parts of North Louisiana for 25 out of 30 days a month. I currently have a 1yr old 3GS w/ATT. In Houston, it's fine for all services as I live in the 4th largest city in the nation, but I'm never home. ATT and the iPhone suck ass for reception where I work.

    I went to Verizon 3 days ago and got a Droid and a 1yr contract to test drive the VZ network w/the intention of getting the Droid X on the 15th (w/in my 30 day window). I have been blown away at the coverage over the last 72 hours. I get 1-2 bars out of 5 on ATT and 3-4 bars of 3G on Verizon. It's sick.

    So I'm looking at Sprint and it seems that every location I work in is in a roaming area according to their coverage map on the website. So, I get to thinking.....the only other CDMA carrier is Verizon. If Sprint phones are to work while roaming on someone else's towers, are they Verizon's towers?

    I pose this question because if I got an Evo, would I be getting the best of both worlds? The cost of Sprint, and the use of Verizon's network when roaming? Some lame ass at Best Buy didn't know and I haven't felt like calling Sprint because I think they'd lie to me and say yes so I'd buy a phone.

    Let me know. Thanks :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. mak916

    mak916 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #159
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,244
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    1,244
    291
    163
    Male
    Sacramento, CA.
    From what I understand the answer to your question is yes. Sprint does roam on Verizon's network for free. And Sprint is much cheaper than Verizon also. If I were you I would go talk to someone at the Sprint store to make sure. And while you are there you can play with an EVO.
     
  3. Carl6

    Carl6 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    58
    1
    36
    Retired
    Seattle
    Sprint does have a limit on how much roaming you can do as a percentage of your total usage. With the amount of time you will be in the roaming area, you might have a problem with that.
     
  4. thekarens

    thekarens Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    210
    32
    63
    Houston
    Don't do it. As much as I love Sprint and the Evo, if I were stuck roaming most of the time I'd go with Verizon. My Evo roams when I'm at the office and the speeds are worse than slow. When you roam you don't get their 3g, just their 1x. It's fine for texting, but phone calls go straight to voice mail when I roam and accessing the net or streaming anything is almost impossible.

    One of the reasons I chose the Evo is because I'm also in Houston and 4g is fantastic! (when I'm not in my office)

    PS............yes, you roam on Verizon.
     
  5. zcarman

    zcarman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    342
    46
    43
    IT Support, Testing, Product Development
    Everett, WA
    Another thing to consider is that roaming on Verizon counts against your 'landline' minutes. So for a family share 1500 minute plan, every minute of roaming counts against your totals.
     
  6. mynamewastaken

    mynamewastaken Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    302
    81
    73
    Get the EVO, and get yourself an Airave so that you don't have to roam in the places you spend most of your time (at work). Roam when you're out and about. Added bonus, all calls made over the Airave are free and don't count against any minutes, day or night.
     
  7. Fonseca

    Fonseca Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    320
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    320
    39
    63
    While roaming, your data limit is 300MB
     
  8. typehxr1

    typehxr1 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009

    Dec 25, 2009
    9
    0
    25
    Engineer
    Houston, TX
    Verizon it is. If I were in Houston all the time, Sprint would be the way to go
     
  9. toomuchgame441

    toomuchgame441 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,081
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    1,081
    78
    128
    typehxr1... OMG I just died laughing at your Avatar/Member Pic... that's priceless
     
  10. KitsapAndroid

    KitsapAndroid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    743
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    743
    118
    113
    Male
    Group Sales Associate/Front Desk Clerk
    Washington (state)
    With Sprint you have an option for unlimited roaming. It's a couple extra bucks, but you never have to worry about how much your phone roams. Gotta love the Sprint Unlimited Everything plans! =D
     
  11. typehxr1

    typehxr1 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009

    Dec 25, 2009
    9
    0
    25
    Engineer
    Houston, TX
    Ha, thanks man. I have a whole folder of stuff like that on my computer :)
     
  12. typehxr1

    typehxr1 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009

    Dec 25, 2009
    9
    0
    25
    Engineer
    Houston, TX
    Though I don't know what Airave is, I probably wouldn't use it as I'd get the unlimited plan through Sprint. What is it?
     
  13. typehxr1

    typehxr1 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009

    Dec 25, 2009
    9
    0
    25
    Engineer
    Houston, TX
    I didn't see this option (to pay for unlimited roaming) at checkout. How did you do it/find out about it?
     
  14. clarson

    clarson Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    If you are riding in the mountains do not go with Sprint. The roaming sucks and the phone coverage is even worst. I broke my contact with them and went with verizon. Couldn't be happier.

    Sent from my Incredible
     
  15. KitsapAndroid

    KitsapAndroid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    743
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    743
    118
    113
    Male
    Group Sales Associate/Front Desk Clerk
    Washington (state)
    I don't know, they just asked me if I wanted it when I signed up. It's great though. I would just ask your Sprint store about it, or the CS Rep you get with the 800 number.
     
  16. brackett5

    brackett5 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    162
    3
    36
    I just tried out the Sprint network, Im coming from verizon and I can say where I am at Sprint is horrible. Roaming off of Verizons towers IS only good for text. Calls were dropped left and right. Go with Verizon.
     
  17. bigdaadio

    bigdaadio Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011

    Jan 8, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Loot.
    The $99 sprint everything everything INCLUDES roaming,no extra
     
  18. bigdaadio

    bigdaadio Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011

    Jan 8, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Where did you hear that calls on the airwaves are free?


    This is NOT true.Your calls are then treated like handled on a sprint tower, But,not free..

    Could be costly .... :-(
     

Share This Page

Loading...