1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Does The handset Use More Power When 4G Is Turned On?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by BetterMost, Jul 17, 2010.

  1. BetterMost

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    1,066
    119
    163
    Paramedic
    Northern Illinois
    Has anyone tested this yet?
     

    Advertisement

  2. exBBuser

    exBBuser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    921
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    921
    123
    93
    Miami,FL
    What u think?
     
  3. sagedil

    sagedil Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    796
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    796
    178
    93
    Laid off....sigh
    Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't seem to use a bunch of power when just searching. WAY less than if my 3G was searching.

    As for using, certainly no more than the 3G radio would use.

    I live in Raleigh, a sometimes I can get 4G city. I leave 4G on all the time now. Was turning it on and off until I figured it wasn't making any real difference in my battery. So it is just always on now.

    This is me, this is EVO, YMMV LOL
     
  4. Caloy

    Caloy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,871
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    1,871
    200
    163
    Male
    Mad Scientist! MUAHAHAHA!
    Richmond, TX
    In my experience yes. When I turn on 4G I notice a higher consumption. I usually just turn it off, since 3G is enough speed for me.
     
  5. Vincent Law

    Vincent Law Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    396
    64
    53
    Yes it uses more power. And I believe it actually uses more power than 3G. Thing is, the 3G/2G modem stays on anyway because it is required for making calls.
     
  6. axisofoil

    axisofoil Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    136
    19
    58
    Rocket Scientist
    You can turn off mobile data entirely without removing your ability to make calls.

    Long press the power button and hit "Mobile network" to toggle it on/off.

    When my 4g is searching (randomly gets enabled... idk why), it kills my battery about twice as fast as just using my phone without it searching. I imagine it's not too terribly bad if it actually connected though.
     
  7. JunBringer

    JunBringer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,186
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    My problem is when it connects it disconnects in less than 5 seconds. I get a great signal but it won't just stay on. Somebody said you can do a #somethingsomething and have that changed, but I can't remember what it was.
     
  8. Vincent Law

    Vincent Law Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    396
    64
    53
    Which won't have any effect, as data is going over 4G, and the 3G data is the same as voice modem chip.
     
  9. RiverOfIce

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,715
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    1,715
    1,254
    313
    In exile
    Yes, no, and maybe.

    Yes your phone will consume more power when wimax and 3g/cdma radio on, then having one of them turned off.

    No, wimax by itself does not consume more power then cdma/3g radio.

    Now in saying that, wimax radio can be "on" and use zero power. If it has a good signal, when you are not transferring data, the wimax radio shuts down to 0 zero power use. When data comes from tower to the radio, it comes either has a high power burst waking the radio or uses 3g/cdma to tell the wimax to wake up. When you then return data from phone to tower, wimax just sends a message asking the tower which channel to use.

    Your 3g/cdma radio can never go dormate, either is on or off. So if you have a good signal, wimax will not consume power until you use it. There is no standby for wimax.

    Which means, yes it will consume more power, if you use it with the normal radio. But when it is not being used, it uses zero power, and when used by itself, consumes less then 3g.

    Need to clearify one point, when I speak of zero power, I mean less then .5 milli amps, just know someone is going to say, it uses .25 of a milliamp in standby, quit lying.

    For the record, your 3g radio uses 70 milliamps in standby.
     
    OutofDate1980 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...