1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Does the instant messaging apps?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TheNextOne21, May 31, 2010.

  1. TheNextOne21

    TheNextOne21 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    49
    0
    15
    Does the instant messaging apps such as AIM use your text messaging plan?
     

    Advertisement

  2. BadBoy5537

    BadBoy5537 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    20
    2
    16
    STUDENT
    CT
  3. jryan727

    jryan727 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    67
    4
    16
    AFAIK the "official" AIM app (not sure if it exists for the incredible, I didn't even look for it) uses texts - that's the case across most (all?) VZW phones. Any other client will use data, like meebo or Hi AIM (i like the former better).

    Enjoy!
     
  4. craigrn16

    craigrn16 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    520
    13
    63
    New Jersey
    No they just use data on the incredible.
     
  5. howarmat

    howarmat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,580
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    1,580
    229
    163
    Generation Dispatcher
    Noblesville, IN
    no all messaging apps use data pretty much....dumbphones might use text but that would be about it. any phone with a DATA plan would be using that
     
  6. jryan727

    jryan727 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    67
    4
    16
    Not true.. the official AIM app on the blackberries use texts. As do a lot of proprietary "smart"phones (aka not winmo, BB, or android powered)
     
  7. howarmat

    howarmat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,580
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    1,580
    229
    163
    Generation Dispatcher
    Noblesville, IN
    nightfishing likes this.
  8. MisterMixelpix

    MisterMixelpix Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    774
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    774
    153
    113
    Youth Counselor
    PA
    They don't, but they do use hilarious amounts of battery power.
     
  9. contagous

    contagous Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    966
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    966
    132
    93
    Gfx Design / Network Engineer
    Seattle WA
    I have never had a BB, but on the site it says:

    #


    Why would you need a data plan is it used texts... So i would say this uses your Data...
     
  10. jryan727

    jryan727 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    67
    4
    16
    OK I'm not sure anymore. Some quick googling makes it seem as though it uses data. When I bought my first blackberry, I was told it uses texts. There appears to be a lot of confusion (still) on various forums, it seems that some of Verizon's phones do use texts, and some (like blackberries) do not, and the sales/support reps tend to not understand the difference.

    I was told many times by different VZW employees that it uses texts, so either they were wrong (not surprising) or it has since changed.

    Sorry for the confusion...
     
  11. MrGoodCat

    MrGoodCat Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010

    Mar 19, 2010
    62
    9
    16
    well, an sms is limited to 160 characters. i have never used an AIM app on my incredible, but does it limit you to 160 characters? if not, then it is NOT an sms and your mandatory data will be used. verizon may be greedy, but they are not that greedy...
     
  12. howarmat

    howarmat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,580
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    1,580
    229
    163
    Generation Dispatcher
    Noblesville, IN
    i found your problem lol :)
     
  13. jryan727

    jryan727 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    67
    4
    16
    On many devices, particularly ones that do not have data plans like ours, it uses text messages. I'm 100% positive of that. I had an enV and it used texts. Messages were not limited to 160 characters. The app could just split messages across multiple texts...

    yep! LOL
     

Share This Page

Loading...