1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General does the intercept do flash

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rick00770, Feb 15, 2011.

  1. rick00770

    rick00770 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    45
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010

    Mar 20, 2010
    42
    0
    45
    Male
    retired, sales
    cartersville, Ga.
    can anyone tell me if the intercept on sprint can support adobe flash, thats all i need, i got the optimus s and it wont support it, and iv got time to trade, before trial runs out, i got to have flash cause i research a lot on web, thanks:thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. pastafarian

    pastafarian Pâtes avec votre foie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,619
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    5,619
    4,623
    623
    Sales
    The Sea of Tranquility
    The Intercepts processor isn't capable of flash according to Adobe, so there will never be official flash support for this phone. I'm sure someone over at SDX will figure out how to get flash working eventually, but how well it works is another issue. If you need to view flash content with a non flash enabled phone, give Skyfire a try.
     
  3. rick00770

    rick00770 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    45
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010

    Mar 20, 2010
    42
    0
    45
    Male
    retired, sales
    cartersville, Ga.
    im gonna give it a try right now,
     
  4. DroidSyndicate

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    28
    2
    16
    This is just a BS answer from Adobe.
    Translation: "We are lazy and do not want to program a version of flash for the phone."
    Android 2.2 on the Intercept can use flash.
    Android 2.1 on the Intercept needs a hack and flash may or may not work.
     
  5. pastafarian

    pastafarian Pâtes avec votre foie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,619
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    5,619
    4,623
    623
    Sales
    The Sea of Tranquility
    It's not about picking on a particular phone. Adobe picked minimum processor performance specs for flash and Intercept falls below that minimum. If they're lazy, it's that they don't want to deal with the "why is flash so damn slow on my phone" support calls. On the plus side, if you don't have flash (on any platform), you're less likely to be hacked or have browser problems. As much as I don't like many of Apples policies, I agree with them not supporting flash at all. Forcing the lazy net to move away from depending on propriety Adobe software will be better for everyone in both performance and security.
     
  6. ginglish

    ginglish Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010

    Aug 25, 2010
    102
    35
    43
    So even if I wanted to try and upgrade the Flash Player on my Intercept, it is not available on the Market when searched from the phone. How would one go about finding and installing Flash? Is to Root the only way?
     
  7. rick00770

    rick00770 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    45
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010

    Mar 20, 2010
    42
    0
    45
    Male
    retired, sales
    cartersville, Ga.
    good point , sir, i never thought of it like that, maybe someone could come up with a better way to do flash? thanks for info. Rick
     
  8. pastafarian

    pastafarian Pâtes avec votre foie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,619
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    5,619
    4,623
    623
    Sales
    The Sea of Tranquility
    HTML5 is the way, but I've read still needs development. Take away the flash "crutch" from developers and development should be accelerated. Adobe is working on this.-

    Adobe Hopes Wallaby Can Vault Apple?s Flash Blockade: Online Video News

    But to me, it begs to question that if it's so easy to convert flash to HTML5 and most now and all future browsers are html5 compliant, why start out with flash in the first place?
     
  9. adamtrott

    adamtrott Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    13
    1
    16
    ubuntdroid rom has flash :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...