1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Does the sprint Lg S Optimus have tethering??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by br00klyniightz, Dec 3, 2010.

  1. br00klyniightz

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010

    Dec 2, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    So i jus got the Sprint LG S Optimus yesterday and i was jus wondering if theres a way u can use this phone as a modem? I dont have a regular internet on my home computer and i was looking to find away to hook up my LG S to my computer as a modem... does n e one know if this is possible?:thinking: Please let me know thanx! :D
     

    Advertisement

  2. telemike

    telemike Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010

    Oct 5, 2010
    120
    6
    56
  3. Troy640

    Troy640 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 3, 2011

    May 3, 2011
    3
    0
    5
  4. jefboyardee

    jefboyardee Android Expert
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,526
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011

    Jan 18, 2011
    5,526
    1,786
    423
    Choosing a simpler way, I got a ten-foot USB cable and then this happened. It’s not as fast as cable, but fine for dorking around.
     
    star2011 likes this.
  5. star2011

    star2011 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    18
    0
    15
     
  6. jefboyardee

    jefboyardee Android Expert
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,526
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011

    Jan 18, 2011
    5,526
    1,786
    423
    It works on a laptop, assume it would on a laptop. I’ve put tethering on the back burner for now -- it’s just not reliable enough to replace a cable ISP, although it might just be because I’m not up to speed on all this.
     
  7. RazzMaTazz

    RazzMaTazz Android Expert
    Rank:
     #142
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,389
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    1,389
    494
    173
    If your Optimus S has the older software version LS670ZVC ("ZVC") then you can use the Quicksettings to give your phone free WiFi Hotspot capability, as described in the link from Telemike above. If you have software version LS670ZVD ("ZVD") or later then Quicksettings will not work and you will have to root your phone, and install the ZVC ROM (system software) or a custom ROM in order to get WiFi Hotspot capability.

    If you are willing to root your phone, there is a bunch of information at this link, but the amount of information is a bit overwhelming, so I might suggest scrolling down that link until you get to my post, where I distill it down into the 2-3 links that you need to read in order to root your phone.

    I guess it is also possible to tether via USB, though i haven't tried it. (I refused to accept the ZVD software update so that I could keep my WiFi Hotspot capability.)

    When my 3G signal is strong, I get about a 500-600kbps data connection. It's good enough for occasionally surfing the web when I'm out of the house-- especially since its "free". Personally I would not want to live with such a slow connection speed as my primary Internet connection at home, but it's probably plenty good enough for some people and the price is right.
     
  8. star2011

    star2011 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    Thanks for your technical guidness.
     
  9. nrg3x

    nrg3x Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Thanks again for all the information!
     
  10. jefboyardee

    jefboyardee Android Expert
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,526
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011

    Jan 18, 2011
    5,526
    1,786
    423
    In case someone’s wondering, Klink has improved to the point where I’ve unplugged my cable cord and use it exclusively, practicing for the day when I drop my ISP carrier. Using Klink with a 3G phone is rather like the dialup days, but I don’t care about speed -- free is more important these days (don’t tell Sprint I said that).
     
  11. tlyman1141

    tlyman1141 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011

    Jul 17, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I use both PDAnet from Junefabrics, and easytether, they both seem to work pretty well, PDA net will cost more but also has an sms manager that will re-route all of your texts to your computer while its connected via cord. Havent really had any issues with either set. they are both free and upgrade-able at any point. easytether costs $10 to go pro, and I think pdanet is about $30. check em out! :)
     
  12. Jessicalt1

    Jessicalt1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    68
    3
    16
    Credit Card Fraud
    Michigan
    If I'm not mistaken, Easytether is $4.99 on Amazon right now. :)
     
  13. rickfancher

    rickfancher Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011

    Jul 27, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    How do I set up my phone for USB tethering?
     

Share This Page

Loading...