1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Does Tmob allow VOIP over 3G via, fr example, sipdroid?

Discussion in 'T-Mobile' started by nero, Oct 22, 2009.

  1. nero

    nero Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    Oct 22, 2009
    4
    1
    6
    Hello all, I'm thinking about leaving this Hero as, like most first adopter attempts, it's too buggy for me (batt. life, headset issues, sipdroid issues etc). Most importantly though.. Sprint blocks calls/texts to Chile which is severe in my case. Even when making the call via Google Voice, sprint will block any call to Chile - epic fail.

    So Tmobile... does Tmobile allow Goog Voice and/or VOIP calls via sipdroid over 3G?

    I'm already positive they won't block any calls or texts to Chile, so I'm good there.
     

    Advertisement

  2. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    663
    Posts:
    10,543
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008

    Nov 3, 2008
    10,543
    210
    663
    Washington DC, USA
    Sounds like a question for TMobile ... or have you setup SipDroid and given it a shot ?
     
  3. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243
    I've got a SIP client, using my Vonage Softphone account, working on an N900 with T-Mo.
     
  4. AZBear

    AZBear Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    15
    1
    16
    Phoenix Arizona
  5. larryccf

    larryccf Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    212
    15
    38

    Colnago curious - have you posted anywhere, reporting on the N900 and how it runs?

    i've been considering it, only reason i'm asking
     
  6. Howie

    Howie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,412
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    1,412
    71
    148
    IT
    Central NY
    Just received mine yesterday. It is really nice, just very few apps for it (which makes the Droid nice).
     
  7. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243
    Here:
    http://androidforums.com/motorola-d...n900-may-end-up-milestone.html?highlight=n900

    ...and here:
    http://androidforums.com/motorola-droid/26286-help-choice-droid-n900.html?highlight=n900


    I really dig it. Its not as "user friendly" as the Droid, and definately not "mass market". If the integrated search and "maps" are what you're looking for, you're gonna' have to wait, and it will be nothing like the Droid/Google. It seems like its missing a lot of "stuff", and it could be more "configurable", but there is a lot of functionality "built-in"...its really discrete.

    If you want more info, "above my paygrade", check out:

    www.maemo.org

    ...and check out their n900 forums.

    Pics for peer pressure:



    [​IMG]
    img]
    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Howie

    Howie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,412
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    1,412
    71
    148
    IT
    Central NY
    Have to admit I like the browser better on N900 than Droid. I can actually load up and use Google Wave with no error (albeit slow). The Droid does start off with that error about the browser not being supported, but seems to work just fine for me as well.
     
  9. KiesJeffries

    KiesJeffries Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I really like the browser on the N900 too--no problem running the voip client. Like to see some more free apps for the Droid...
     

Share This Page

Loading...