1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Does verizon still have any of the original droid in stock?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Kylef5993, Nov 18, 2010.

  1. Kylef5993

    Kylef5993 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010

    Sep 27, 2010
    8
    1
    6
    I have the original motorola droid and got it about 2 weeks after it was released and I'm starting to get tired of it and have insurance. If It was to break then do you think that would get another droid or the droid 2? And would I be able to get the droid 2 global if I waited till like January? Lol
     

    Advertisement

  2. obutto

    obutto Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    307
    14
    38
    They will always have the Original Droid in stock...If you have insurance you break it, take the risk. Your going to have to pay $70(I think, or more) and end up with the same exact phone (99.9%). They will always have the Droid 1 in stock. When they break, you are required to send them back. Then they fix it and they will be shipped out as refurbished...Don't cheat the system. You are just ruining things for other people.
     
  3. brnr17

    brnr17 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    309
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    309
    17
    38
    Wisconsin
    your talking about 2 different things ..

    verizon = warranty replacement
    asurion = insurance replacement

    and as i'm on refurb number 3 from verizon, i assure you they have plenty left
     
  4. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    454
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Yes im on my 3rd replacement also. They have plenty more to send out!

    The one droid they sent me the keyboard didnt work lol
     
  5. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,354
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,354
    283
    163
    Upgrades via insurance are precisely why they're so reluctant to offer newer models via insurance. If you want to upgrade you need to pay. And if you're going to commit insurance fraud don't post on a public forum about it. :rolleyes:
     
  6. jdailey1981

    jdailey1981 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    386
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Lol, I have a replacement D1 coming today, but when I switched from Eris to this, I almost had a D2 because they were out of D1. Still this day, the D1 is the most owned android device in the world.
     
    eXsoR likes this.
  7. Eurosteve

    Eurosteve Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    261
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    261
    4
    36
    Finger Lakes, New York
    Looks like you can get around $150 if you sell it on ebay. Then take the proceeds and upgrade with that. I'm pretty sure you can upgrade after only one year and pay the upgrade price.
     
  8. yokevreid

    yokevreid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010

    Mar 8, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Waiter - Houlihan's Bar & Restaurant
    verizon has a policy that if you have more than 3 warranty replacements they must offer you a different model. try one more time.
     
  9. Thornfullessrose

    Thornfullessrose Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    840
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    840
    63
    78
    Student
    Philadelphia, PA
    I've been told by many VZW reps (on phone and in store) that they crapped that policy like.. 3 years ago? Wonder why a few reps still do it. They replaced my DROID with a DROID2.
     
  10. mobrienjr

    mobrienjr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    383
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    383
    27
    63
    why would you want the D2 anyways...its the same as the D1, except you get a locked bootloader, BLUR, bloatware, and it makes it an extreme pain in the butt to root.

    I would personally wait ti see what devices are coming out in the near future if you are looking for a new device.
     
  11. Thornfullessrose

    Thornfullessrose Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    840
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    840
    63
    78
    Student
    Philadelphia, PA
    OK. You're bringing up old stuff.

    1. Its almost the same. Better keyboard and processor.

    2. Bootstrap recovery has been out for awhile. We can do all the same
    stuff.

    3. Blur isn't as bad as "everyone" says. I'll admit the launcher is a bit sketchy, but everything else is pretty cool. Plus you could always use LauncherPro and keep Blur. But if you want full stock Android then you could use Fission ROM. I have to say once i had blur and used Fission for awhile, it was pretty boring. Blur has some cool features you cant get with vanilla android.

    4. Remove the so called "bloatware" with Root Explorer and thats even if you want to. Some people actually use Blockbuster, DLNA, My Verizon, Kindle, and Skype.

    5. There are plenty of EASY ways to root, including a few One-clicks. You act as if they made rooting this phone like rocket science.

    I therefore just smashed your excuses to hate on the DROID2.
     
  12. mobrienjr

    mobrienjr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    383
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    383
    27
    63
    your right...I dont have a d2, dont see a need for a d2, so all I can talk about it the world on these forums back when it was a bitch to do.
     

Share This Page

Loading...