1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Does your screen come on when you get a new notification?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jjphoto, Oct 4, 2010.

  1. jjphoto

    jjphoto Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010

    Oct 1, 2010
    18
    1
    16
    Mine just vibrates, stays dark, and the LED blinks... which means I have to either hit the button or open the slider to put in my pattern to see the notification.

    Shouldn't it light up for a moment so you can see what the notification is?
     

    Advertisement

  2. duratime

    duratime Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    454
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    454
    44
    43
    Cali
    Mine doesn't. Handcent I think can be configured to do it for text messages. I actually like the screen off. I have the volume set low, and when I sleep, I don't want that screen to light up my room.
     
  3. jjphoto

    jjphoto Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010

    Oct 1, 2010
    18
    1
    16
    Thanks for the reply. I guess I'm just used to my Pre... it would flash for just a couple seconds so you could unlock it if you wished.
     
  4. duratime

    duratime Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    454
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    454
    44
    43
    Cali
    I had a Pre, there was a lot of cool things on it. Can you image how much better it would have been if it had a processor like these phones. There might be an app for what your looking to do. I'm almost certain Handcent has a quick reply pop up that will light it up, but that doesn't take care of the numerous other notifications.
     
  5. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    Sometimes it does, sometimes it doesn't. I wanted it to, so I dl'd Handcent since people said you could tell it to do this. I did it, and it was still hit or miss. I prefer teh stock texting program, so I quit using it since it didn't do what I wanted it to do.
     
  6. Android XTC

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    442
    42
    43
    Feature Motion Picture Production
    Downers Grove, IL.
    No I only get my tone and a blinking red led.
     
  7. leftkidney

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    54
    6
    16
    it used to but after the latest update it stopped doing that - or maybe its something I installed not sure
     

Share This Page

Loading...