1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Doh! Bad luck with Google Maps

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by captainm27, Jun 8, 2010.

  1. captainm27

    captainm27 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    174
    20
    38
    So today I was using GoogleMaps and I noticed that when I kept going another way than what she wanted, the "Recalculating" took like forever! Almost a full minute. And after the next "skipping directions" I got a "No Data Connection Available" message. Does this mean I was outside of 3G range? And if so, does that mean that the built-in GPS device cannot be used without 3G? I had the feeling that the device was also a standalone GPS, but I'm beginning to think that it uses the 3G to draw the maps too. :( That stinks if you end up in the middle of the boonies with no signal and no way of getting home....

    ...anyways, the good news is that after driving for more than a mile, I seemed to be able to get a 3G signal back, and everything started working again.
     

    Advertisement

  2. callmeox

    callmeox Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    535
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    535
    317
    113
    Paid geek
    NE Ahia
    IIRC, you can stray outside of data range if you stay on the original route as GM will load what it needs when you start navigating. Since it does not know what detours you may take along the way, it doesn't load alternatives.

    To be a dedicated GPS, the entire road network would need to be loaded in the phone all the time.
     
  3. Blotto

    Blotto Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    11
    3
    16
    From what I've noticed it needs 3G to fetch the text directions from Google. The maps app then just displays the route to you. Maps uses the gps to track your location. When I have been without service the navigation functioned as it should. Although if you deviated from your route it wouldn't recalculate. It just zooms out and shows your location compared to the blue line you should be following.
     
  4. captainm27

    captainm27 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    174
    20
    38
    Hmm....ok, that's what I suspected. I think the whole data (or at least just roads) should be stored in memory just in case one does travel to the remote areas. I know that my last GPS software, iGuidance 4.0 shipped with a 2GB card that fit all their data. Maybe once GoogleMaps comes out of Beta they'll install it as part of the Android OS.
     
  5. Outatime

    Outatime Android Expert
    Rank:
     #110
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,629
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    1,629
    662
    253
    Male
    Fed

Share This Page

Loading...