1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Doing an IMEI unlock properly?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by gusto5, Apr 12, 2010.

  1. gusto5

    gusto5 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010

    Feb 9, 2010
    46
    0
    15
    I was wondering if any of you have unlocked this phone by acquiring an unlock code generated from your IMEI and doing an unlock. I have the code, and I have acquired the same from two places but neither of them work, so perhaps someone can point out where I'm doing something wrong:

    1) Turned off phone
    2) Removed sim and rebooted phone without a sim
    3) Opened Keypad and entered #7465625*638*Code#
    (at this point it's supposed to unlock, but it does nothing)
     

    Advertisement

  2. podtalje

    podtalje Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    I have unlocked the phone with the code.

    I put the SIM form different provider and when I booted the phone I entered the code into dialog and the phone was unlocked.

    I would suggest that you first try to check the lock status with:
    *#7465625#

    There are several different type of locks and maybe you do not have the correct code for your type of lock.

    How much did you pay for the code. If it was very cheap there is a big chance that it is fake. If it was less than 20$ I can assure the code is not correct.
     
  3. gusto5

    gusto5 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010

    Feb 9, 2010
    46
    0
    15
    Would you suspect that the lack of a different sim may be why I can't input the code? I bought a code from 3 unique sites (costs me like...$60 in total) and they have all generated the same code so far. Either they're superstar scam artists or the necessity of an incorrect sim is necessary. Your thoughts?

    Ill also confirm here that network lock is on, but subnet sp and cp are all off.
     
  4. podtalje

    podtalje Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    I am not sure but I would definitely recommend that you try to get SIM from another provider and when the phone will start it will ask you for network unlock code.
    There you enter the code that you received.

    After that you can use any SIM you like.
     
  5. Beerkan

    Beerkan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    720
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    720
    166
    93
    Blighty
    You can check your SIM lock settings by entering *#7465625#

    eg mine, which is locked.

    Network Lock [ON]
    Network Subnet Lock [OFF]
    SP Lock [OFF]
    CP Lock [OFF]
     
  6. banna

    banna Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    14
    1
    16
    Beerkan: Does that mean that rooting your phone will also unlock the SIM (may be you have followed some specific process to do that).

    My phone is not rooted and i am trying to find a way to unlock the SIM from my SP. Btw I have noticed that using different SIM from the same SP works on my phone (may be its MNC) but putting different SIM brings up the screen where i have to enter the unlock code.

    Did you come across ways to unlock the SIM without rooting it? I heard some people referring to the App store for free service, but they all were for Samsung vibrant or captivate etc, I couldn't find one for Galaxy Spica.

    Any help is welcome

    -Banna
     
  7. Beerkan

    Beerkan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    720
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    720
    166
    93
    Blighty
    Just to clarify, rooting the phone does not remove SIMLOCK. Probably the easiest (ie the cheapest) way to remove it is to ask whatever Provider it's locked to. They usually give you a run around, but are supposed to provide an unlock code at your request. However, I believe you need to be out of contract with them. They won't release unlock code on a PAYG phone.

    Alternatively, check out commercial unlockers online. Pick a reputable one, one that offers money back guarantee, or take it to your local phone shop.
     
    banna likes this.
  8. banna

    banna Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    14
    1
    16
    Thanks to clarify.
     
  9. banna

    banna Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    14
    1
    16
    Hi,

    Just heard from a friend (who hasn't tried it yet) that updating the firmware also removes the Network Lock. Does anyone has any experience on it?

    -Banna
     
  10. Beerkan

    Beerkan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    720
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    720
    166
    93
    Blighty
    Updating firmware does NOT unlock the SIM for any carrier.
     
  11. maryhaase1014

    maryhaase1014 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Does anyone know how to unlock the screen on the Samsung Vibrant? It has those circles and you have to know the pattern .
     

Share This Page

Loading...