1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root dont want OTA UPDATE I'm rooted

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by topdj, May 25, 2014.

  1. topdj

    topdj Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010

    Aug 15, 2010
    72
    2
    16
    dont want the update what system folder do I mod or is there a program that uses root to stop OTA?
     

    Advertisement

  2. DirtyDee

    DirtyDee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    2,205
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013

    Mar 18, 2013
    2,205
    443
    203
    Male
    Janitor/cook I know strange two jobs to have
    Detroit Michigan
    Just wipe cache it's a temporary solution
     
  3. topdj

    topdj Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010

    Aug 15, 2010
    72
    2
    16
    which cache
    its trying to update right now.... I had to turn my data off :(
     
  4. DirtyDee

    DirtyDee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    2,205
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013

    Mar 18, 2013
    2,205
    443
    203
    Male
    Janitor/cook I know strange two jobs to have
    Detroit Michigan
    Which recovery are you using?
     
  5. topdj

    topdj Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010

    Aug 15, 2010
    72
    2
    16
    stock rooted 4.1.2 starts downloading as soon as I turn data on I have both HD and a M to stop this update from occurring on. ridiculous the can legally push our data plan over the limit. thats over a gig on for both phones. how do i make it forget to download this huge over 500mg file
     
  6. topdj

    topdj Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010

    Aug 15, 2010
    72
    2
    16
    well I stopped it for now by rename of Blurupdater_VZW.apk and the odex file.

    I also renamed Otacerts.zip thank god I have root R/W not possible without :)
     
    Mastermind47 likes this.
  7. Mastermind47

    Mastermind47 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    40
    3
    16

    I'm assuming "Blurupdater_VZW.odex" is the odex file you're referring to.

    Is there any particular name to give Blurupdater_VZW.apk and Blurupdater_VZW.odex? Or does it just not matter- just name them something different to confuse the updater?

    I'm trying to use ES File Explorer to rename it but it keeps saying "Task Failed". I've granted permission using SuperSU. What gives? I just paid to have my phone rooted and I don't want to lose it!!

    I'm stock rooted, and my phone just started trying to download the update even though I have FOTA kill on my device.

    Thanks

    MM47

    Thanks.
     
  8. bolski

    bolski Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    314
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010

    Dec 8, 2010
    314
    73
    63
    Male
    IT Architect/Developer
    Hey, go ahead and take the OTA now, and od it NOW because another OTA is on the way.

    The current OTA has a new root exploit (Towelroot) AND, get this people, YOU CAN UNLOCK YOUR BOOTLOADER AGAIN!

    So, go here:

    http://www.droidrzr.com/index.php/topic/46155-rootunlock-razr-hdm-build-183-kitkat-towel-root/

    Get Towelroot and the latest Motopocalypse files from SamuriHL and unlock your bootloader. Do this NOW because I just received an email today about another upcoming soak test, which means, root WILL be lost (Towelroot only works on kernels dated before June 3rd, 2014) which also means, once you lose root, you cannot use Motopocalypse to unlock your phone AND they'll probably re-patch the unlock exploit again.

    So, do it now or forever hold your peace.

    BTW, if you're worried about warranty, you already will void it once you root and they have a root checker built in, so they CAN tell if you rooted or not, so if you're going to root, you might as well unlock the bootloader too.
     

Share This Page

Loading...