1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Dorid drops calls when switches to 3G

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by GuamBomb, May 3, 2010.

  1. GuamBomb

    GuamBomb Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Cricket Moto Droid Flash User here.

    I've had this phone for couple months now. The 1st month it was super smooth. Now it consitantly drops calls. Sometimes I can't even call out, the moment I hear the ring tone it drops.

    Now, this is what I notice. When I dial out it's not in 3G, it just shows the bars. So when I am talking it's still has the bars and no 3G. BUT when the phone switches to 3G mode that's when it drops....It does that everytime, when it swtiches to 3G I get disconnected.

    The Firmware is still 2.0.1. It asked to update to 2.1 and I said yes. It went through the process of downloading and shutting down but it's still on 2.0.1.

    I tried switching the mode network type to EvDo for 1x service but it switches back to 3G and it still drops my calls....

    Any suggestion? Anyone encounter this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. GuamBomb

    GuamBomb Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Bump for help pls. Thanks :)
     
  3. kyleonfire

    kyleonfire Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010

    Apr 1, 2010
    119
    2
    36
    You said you flashed to another network?
    I'm guessing that right there could be the problem.
     
  4. GuamBomb

    GuamBomb Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    9
    0
    5

    Well the phone has been Flashed to Cricket. Everything was fine for a month now it's trippin. I had a blakcberry storm before this and that too was flashed to Cricket, it was a great phone, no problem at all. This problem with the droid makes me miss the storm so much lol.
     
  5. kyleonfire

    kyleonfire Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010

    Apr 1, 2010
    119
    2
    36
    Well I don't know then. I never flash my phones because of crazy problems. And you can't exactly bring the phone in for service if your network doesn't even carry the phone. Unlocking/flashing phones to networks it wasn't designed for probably "trips" the phone out and sometimes might cause it to not function well.
     
  6. GuamBomb

    GuamBomb Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    I'm sure there is a fix for it. Someone has to know!!! LOL! It only happens when it switches to 3G from normal. There has to be a hicup going on there or something. Hmmmm?
     
  7. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,940
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    2,940
    564
    213
    Real Estate Agent
    M A dub'l dolla sign
    I'm pretty sure I know why this is happening. 3G AKA EvDo is for data only (evolution-data optimized) and when you make a call it drops down to 1x. Now since your on Cricket I'm thinking the tower is letting you switch to 3G during a call and it shouldn't be. Now your saying "well this didn't happen before" and to that I say it's because when you accepted the update you most likely got the new baseband even though the rest of it didn't install, and the new baseband is what's causing your problem. To check this go menu>settings>about phone and scroll down to "Baseband version" if it says C_01.3E.03P then your on the new baseband.
     
  8. GuamBomb

    GuamBomb Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Thanks for responding. I just checked it, I am still on the C_01.3E.01P ......?
     
  9. GuamBomb

    GuamBomb Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Bump for help pls. Thanks
     
  10. GuamBomb

    GuamBomb Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    bump for help pls
     
  11. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,940
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    2,940
    564
    213
    Real Estate Agent
    M A dub'l dolla sign
    You might have better luck at howardforums.com, a lot of people over there have their Droid's flashed to Cricket.
     
  12. GuamBomb

    GuamBomb Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Ok I will post there. Once I get an answer I will post it here aswell for refrence for everyone. Thanks again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...