1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

dowloading movies to ext sd

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by moira2612, Apr 19, 2012.

1. moira2612

moira2612 Lurker

Hi,
    I am very new to Android, have used it on my htc phone for a few apps. I now have just bought a tablet with Android 4.0 and am having fun. But I wish to watch movies and am having trouble getting some movies to play. I have got 2 movies on an ext sd card in both mpeg & avi formats. These both play on both the internal video player and the MX player app I downloaded. The problem is when I add any other movies regardless of format they will not play on either player. The sd card is 32gb so I don't think this is a storage problem. I also cannot get the ext sd to accept mp3 music. It downloads then disappears as soon as I return the card to the tablet tho music stores and plays from the internal sd.
    Any suggestions as to how to solve this would be useful as 2 movies will not be sufficient entertainment when away from home.
    Thanks

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. Stigy

Stigy Some say...

Hello and welcome to AF as well as the Android Team.

My best guess for you would be to copy the movies back to your PC (or if they alread there that's fine) and then format your SD card and try putting movies on it again and playing them. Maybe try some different movies and see if they play in MX Player or the stock player.

Sounds like some corruption happened to the card or filesystem and a format might fix it.

moira2612 and pastafarian like this.
  3. moira2612

moira2612 Lurker

Thanks Stigy,
    I have tried those suggestions and nothing makes any difference. I guess I will keep trying

4. Stigy

Stigy Some say...

May I ask the specs of your SD card? Is it a class 2 or class 4?

I wonder if the HD movies need a faster SD card to access the data from the card to the device.

5. moira2612

moira2612 Lurker

Hi Stigy,