1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Downgrade to 2.2.1

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by madeale, May 27, 2011.

  1. madeale

    madeale Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011

    May 27, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Hi guys.

    I have my new Ace, and I pretty love it. I did the update to gingerbread 2.3.3 but I would like to downgrade it to 2.2.1 froyo.

    Could you please explain it how to do it? it is the same process I did to update it, but with froyo firmware?

    sorry, but I am new to the android world and I am not 100% sure of what I'm doing.

    thanks a lot, and congrats for the forum!
     

    Advertisement

  2. GrahamF

    GrahamF Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011

    Mar 9, 2011
    260
    64
    53
    London
    Hi, how did you upgrade to Gingerbread, where are you? Why do you want to downgrade back to 2.2.1 Froyo? I keep reading this on this forum, everybody wants to go back to 2.2.1??? Thanx.
     
  3. madeale

    madeale Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011

    May 27, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    well actually, I am in Europe, and I found the update on samfirmware.com

    I would like to go back to froyo because in some weeks samsung is gonna put out the official 2.3.3 update, while the one in samfirmware is a beta version as far as I know.

    Moreover, Froyo was a little bit faster when you have to unlock your phone when you're gonna use it, while gingerbread takes almost 1 sec from when you click the home button and having the screen on.

    But Gingerbread is fine for the rest, but I want to wait till the official one.
     
  4. chismay

    chismay Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    603
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011

    Apr 24, 2011
    603
    144
    93
    ASSISTANT HEAD CHEF
    LONDON
    well... as far as i know just find a official 2.2 rom for galaxy ace and load with clockwork mod right?

    but im not sure so dont quote me lol
     
  5. error974

    error974 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011

    May 20, 2011
    45
    6
    16
    Simply download 2.2 firmware from samfirmware (choose your region, my advice latest multi-csc). Flash trough Odin, just the way you flash 2.3.3. Thats all, I tried this several times.
     
  6. reddytej

    reddytej Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 5, 2011

    May 5, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Hello everybody, I'm currently running on gingerbread. But it doesn't run link2sd - an app that I really like and useful for me. I googled but couldn't find an alternative for this app which runs on gingerbread. I've tried darktremor's app2sd but it really didn't work on gingerbread. Please suggest me some alternatives.

    Thank You
     
  7. galaxyacex

    galaxyacex Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    May 19, 2011

    May 19, 2011
    28
    10
    18
    London
    have you got titanium back up? i moved all apps to sd with that.

    you can get lots of free stuff too.........;)

    ................these aren't the droids you're looking for.............;)
     
  8. madeale

    madeale Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011

    May 27, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    thanks a lot!

    I installed now froyo 2.2.1 with the package S5830XXJLC ## found in samfirmware.com. I would like to install S5830XWKC3 ## as an update to froyo but I downloaded it and I'm not able to find the OPS file inside, nor even the other files I found on the S5830XXJLC ## to use in Odin.

    Some of you know how to use those file in odin? the file are AMSS file, BOOT file, CSC file, RECOVERY file and SYSTEM file

    thanks a lot for the help!
     
  9. jdgreat4

    jdgreat4 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    71
    19
    18
    Male
    hello people,
    i'm not able to flash back to fryo from the villain rom using odin.. i tried using the froyo firmware but my phone just got bricked.. luckily i know how to unbrick the phone so no harm done :p but seriously can someone tell me why i'm not able to flash back to froyo :thinking:
     
  10. chismay

    chismay Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    603
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011

    Apr 24, 2011
    603
    144
    93
    ASSISTANT HEAD CHEF
    LONDON
    seriously dude if you know how to get the galaxy ace back from 'bricked' status and post a guide, you'l be ****ing famous,,,, we would all appreciate it for safe-knowledge.
     
  11. jdgreat4

    jdgreat4 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    71
    19
    18
    Male
    If your phone is rooted, then download move2sd enabler
    You can move almost any app to your sd card
     
    M_Shaaban likes this.
  12. pujitjuneja

    pujitjuneja Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    234
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011

    Apr 9, 2011
    234
    72
    53
    Developer-to-be ;)
    Delhi, India
    Actually, it's pretty easy..
    How to unbrick Samsung Galaxy Ace - xda-developers
     
  13. pujitjuneja

    pujitjuneja Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    234
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011

    Apr 9, 2011
    234
    72
    53
    Developer-to-be ;)
    Delhi, India
    Are you trying to flash a one package file? like the indian firmware?
    If so just try a multi package file, like any european froyo, and then flash again with the one package file..
     
  14. jdgreat4

    jdgreat4 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    71
    19
    18
    Male
    ok dude... i'll try it out and yeah i was trying the one package file :p
     
  15. jdgreat4

    jdgreat4 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    71
    19
    18
    Male
    actually yeah its pretty easy as pujijuneja said... remove your battery(not necessary sim card and sd card, i didnt)hold the vol-, home and power button and put the batery back in while doing this after a few seconds you will see the downloading screen and then flash your firmware...
    That is all ;)
     
  16. jdgreat4

    jdgreat4 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    71
    19
    18
    Male
    you can get cooper.ops here:Multiupload.com - upload your files to multiple file hosting sites!
    To flash the firmware follow these steps:
    1.)Open odin(duh!)
    2.)Check the one package option on the upper left.
    3.Then from the one package thing in the bottom selct the zip file and flash.
    Simple yet efficient ;)
     
  17. madeale

    madeale Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011

    May 27, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    thanks.

    done, I have now froyo on the latest update found on samfirmware.com

    waiting for the gingerbread to come (the real one, not betas or leaked).

    have a great day!
     
  18. taikitjw

    taikitjw Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I would like to borrow the host's thread to ask some question

    I'm from Malaysia. If i don't know the baseband version (w/o upgraded), but right now i checked it through the *#1234#, it is written the upgraded version 2.3.3, which is S5830XXKP8 and the region is European. So if i want to downgrade, is it got any influence to my previous version or just download any European version?

    Thanks
     
  19. taikitjw

    taikitjw Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    How long we need to take for downgrade to 2.2?
     
  20. djcurzed

    djcurzed Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011

    Jul 14, 2011
    16
    1
    16
    guys im trying to do this back to vodafone firmware 2.1 but its not installing the firmware when i flash it . phone doesnt switch on after!
     
  21. praky

    praky Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    224
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    224
    91
    53

Share This Page

Loading...