1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Downgrade to CM6, MMS still not working...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bazinganaruto, Jun 6, 2011.

  1. bazinganaruto

    bazinganaruto Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    43
    0
    15
    Ok please dont merge this in with other threads till its done, I was looking at what everyone said on the cm7 one, but not that its merged I can't figure it from all the other merged posts.

    I did everything i could on CM7, installed the patch, use apn manager, nada

    so I downgraded to cm6, still nada,

    when I go

    Go to Settings > Wireless and networks >Mobile networks > Access Point Names

    the apn is not there... it was like this in cm7, is it spose to be there in these cm's?

    I dont know what to do. I am at my end here, I have 2 other buddies that I upgraded to cm7 cause it was much better, but now the mms is not working.

    anyone know what to do. I have metro pcs
     

    Advertisement

  2. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Since you've apparently exhausted all avenues,either factory reset & return to stock 2.1.1 or 2.2 if that's the case, & start over,or a visit to a METRO PCS store is in order.

    EDIT: If you haven't tried fix permissions,go to CWM Recovery & give it a shot before going for the FINAL SOLUTION.
     
  3. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,330
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,330
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    if you post it under the right topic you will most likely get answers faster, we are trying to cut down on multiple threads with the same issues and merge them into 1 that way other users with the same problems dont have to look threw hundreds of thread and be really confuse when they only have to look threw 1. Also if you browse threw cm6/7 threads alot of you questions have been answer there or there some optional info on it... but try *228 and press option 5 if your with metro or reflash metro off v1.3 http://www.mediafire.com/?q83m25ls8p5vnvi
    after you flash that you shouldnt have no reason to open apn and mess with it, and with cm7 apns will not show but its there.
     
    KOLIO likes this.
  4. bazinganaruto

    bazinganaruto Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    43
    0
    15
    so i installed it back to stocked, and it worked fine.. is there anything that I should be looking in the stock version that I can take over to cm6 or 7

    so installed the apn manger in stock, and the only thing, which could be a big thing, that is differnt, is

    User name has my number in it,
    and the password has a password in it.

    Do you think not having those would stop it from not working?
     
  5. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,330
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,330
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    no, dont take the setting to cm7 cause of different build.pro, just flash the metro off v1.3 and it want hurt nothing if you flash that more than once. i think i have flash metro off about 5 times on the same rom...
     
  6. danaj

    danaj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    723
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    723
    245
    93
    Female
    Tucson, Az
    If you are using tibu to restore your apps you should not restore anything that has to do with mms.... it will cause mms to not work.
     
  7. Sinner67

    Sinner67 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    232
    40
    43
    Conway, AR
  8. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,330
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,330
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    that thread is old, but mms works for both carrier right after flashing it.


    • Split ROM into two ROM's, one for cricKet Wireless and the other for MetroPCS.
    • Fixed carrier banner for each ROM.
    • Fixed MetroPCS MMS issue, works out of the box now!
    • Added SD Speed Increase V1.42 by default, you will need to allow it root rights on first boot and configure the program also (2048kb should be the optimal setting, but feel free to explore).
     
  9. Sinner67

    Sinner67 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    232
    40
    43
    Conway, AR
    Nice, I didn't know that 04212011 had that fixed.
    bazinganaruto, I know that in CM7, there were no APNs in the window. All you had to do was flash the MetrOFF file. CM6 says that they should work automatically. My question is did you actually try to send/receive a MMS after flashing to CM6, or did you immediately go to the APNs and saw they were blank and assumed you were having the same issue?
     
  10. bazinganaruto

    bazinganaruto Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    43
    0
    15
    no i try and send a long txt to one of my friends, without fail. its fails
     
  11. Sinner67

    Sinner67 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    232
    40
    43
    Conway, AR
    How about sending a picture to them? Does that also fail?
     
  12. bazinganaruto

    bazinganaruto Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    43
    0
    15
    yes, my head hurts from trying to get this to work:thinking:
     
  13. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,330
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,330
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    sending long text will not work, try sending a long txt using mms instead of using sms, to be on safe side just send something short.
     
  14. bazinganaruto

    bazinganaruto Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    43
    0
    15
    how do i send a txt using mms? the only way I see to make it an mms is to put a pic in it.
     
  15. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,330
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,330
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    no, dont take the setting to cm7 cause of different build.pro, just flash the metro off v1.3 and it want hurt nothing if you flash that more than once. i think i have flash metro off about 5 times on the same rom...
     
  16. bazinganaruto

    bazinganaruto Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    43
    0
    15
    will flashing it many times get it to work or something?
     

Share This Page

Loading...