1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Downgrading from official 2.1?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by BatarangMoses, May 20, 2010.

  1. BatarangMoses

    BatarangMoses Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    37
    2
    16
    So I downloaded the official 2.1 update....but have decided I would rather root it. Can I downgrade from 2.1 to 1.5 so I can root it?
    Thanks for any answers.
     

    Advertisement

  2. nick325i

    nick325i Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    491
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    491
    189
    68
    There is no root status for the new 2.1 RUU.
    However, there are steps to repair your boot process that will allow to run an old RUU. It is long and drawn out and kinda technical. If you want to tackle that with no guarantee go ahead. Otherwise you're stuck until they root the official 2.1 ruu.
     
    BatarangMoses likes this.
  3. BatarangMoses

    BatarangMoses Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    37
    2
    16
    Ah, ok. Those dudes are pretty quick, do you think it will be that long before they figure out out to root 2.1?
     
  4. nick325i

    nick325i Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    491
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    491
    189
    68
    My expectation is within 2 weeks of today. However if any of you followed the Eris root status it took them over 3 months from their 1.5 version. So you never know...
     
  5. Wingzfan61

    Wingzfan61 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    256
    36
    63
    Auto Mgr and Geek Squad Agent
    Michigan
    This process only works on the test RUU, the leak that came out last week. It wont work on yesterdays official version.
     
  6. BatarangMoses

    BatarangMoses Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    37
    2
    16
    Ok, thats not bad. I could live with a few weeks.
     
  7. jippolito02

    jippolito02 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    where can I find out how to do this??
     
  8. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    This is also assuming that they decide to put effort into it. Seeing as they have already rooted 1.5, they may not have much incentive to root 2.1.
     
  9. djsindt

    djsindt Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I have the leaked version installed and am technically inclined. Where can I find out how to do this?
     
  10. nick325i

    nick325i Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    491
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    491
    189
    68
    xda-developers.com has a post on how to do it in the Hero section.
     
  11. AmericanHero

    AmericanHero Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #589
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    181
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    181
    18
    38
  12. dkokkos

    dkokkos Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    49
    0
    15
    Student
    Riverside, CA
    yes from a quick look i didn't see it either... can we have a link please
     
  13. Wingzfan61

    Wingzfan61 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    256
    36
    63
    Auto Mgr and Geek Squad Agent
    Michigan
  14. AmericanHero

    AmericanHero Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #589
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    181
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    181
    18
    38
    The RUU test was already rooted. It was through ADB, this is nothing new. This was not an answer to the OP's original question.
     
  15. Wingzfan61

    Wingzfan61 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    256
    36
    63
    Auto Mgr and Geek Squad Agent
    Michigan
    Exactly, the answer to the OP is simply no.
     
  16. nick325i

    nick325i Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    491
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    491
    189
    68

    I was answering for this guy.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...