1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

downloaded froyo...still can't move apps to sd card?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mirzayac, Aug 2, 2010.

  1. mirzayac

    mirzayac Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

    Aug 1, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    anyone else having this problem?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Joppie

    Joppie Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    151
    37
    43
    Not all apps will move. Need to be modified by the dev.
     
  3. 81_

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    388
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    388
    39
    43
    apps need to be built to run off internal memory or sd card. if not updated, it will only run off of internal memory
     
  4. damewolf13

    damewolf13 live~laugh~love
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    4,087
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    4,087
    2,667
    533
    Female
    AZ
    Go into settings/applications. Most of them can't be moved to the SD card yet, but a few of them can. Just click on them each to find out which ones can be moved.
    If that doesn't work, I don't know.
     
    eirrom likes this.
  5. mirzayac

    mirzayac Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

    Aug 1, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    thanks for the help....some of them could be moved :)
     
  6. Traceamount

    Traceamount Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    182
    27
    43
    Productions Manager
    Alabama
    Also seems from my experience, moving apps that you may use as a widget (such as Pandora) seem to not work as such, or atleast not be able to be found as a "widget" anymore. You can still find it as an app, but to use it as a widget, you can move it back to the phone, and restart your phone, re-add the widget and all should be well. Atleast this is the case with the .3 update. Hope this helps.
     
  7. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,192
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009

    Oct 17, 2009
    1,192
    266
    163
    So if they are able to moved, how do you know and how do you do it?

    Also, my biggest "beef" with some apps is that they cannot be run unless they have a network connection(ie Maps,etc.). I travel out of the country alot and it would be awesome to have Google Translate when I actually really need it. Will moving it to the SD card allow me to use these apps without a network connection??? If that is not the case, what is the big deal about moving them?
     
  8. NicksGarage

    NicksGarage Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    297
    96
    53
    Social Media Administrator
    San Diego, CA
    I think you can move the app to SD and then remove the widget from the screen and re-add it and then it would work from the card. Wouldn't make sense for a developer to enable the app-to-sd function when they provide widgets that wouldn't work with it.

    Give that a try.
     
  9. Traceamount

    Traceamount Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    182
    27
    43
    Productions Manager
    Alabama
    Tried it several times. The only fixing for Pandora, anyways, was to reload it to the phone, restart, and reset the widget. Not sure how true this is for any other widgets not from HTC but, would be worth trying. Like I said, I could still START Pandora as an APP, but it wouldnt even see it as a widget from the SD card.
     
  10. BenChase7

    BenChase7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,233
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010

    Jun 16, 2010
    2,233
    876
    213
    Male
    RN
    Phoenix
    will moving the apps to the SD card impact performance?
     
  11. aznmode

    aznmode Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    424
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    424
    38
    43
    Use titanium backup to move apps to sd. Open ttitanium then click on Backup / restore then tap n hold an app then select move to sd card. Only move apps that don't required resources or steaming data
     
  12. vey6whpgybtg

    vey6whpgybtg Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    San Francisco
    This situation is really stupid. They should have put more internal memory so we wouldn't have to run out of room and uninstall so we can install new apps to try out.

    Even apps2sd and froyo functionality of moving some apps to sd, is unreliable and prone to problems.
     
  13. QuickDraw

    QuickDraw Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    328
    29
    43
    Disabled Veteran - USMC
    This may have been covered, if so sorry, I couldn't find anything specific. Since the new update (FROYO), I wanted to try and take advantage of the "new feature" of installing applications to the SD card. However IF, I uninstall the apps, would I be able to download them again (paid apps I mean) with no problems? How does that work? Thanks for any/all assists.
     
  14. stainlessray

    stainlessray Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    642
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Jun 22, 2010
    642
    106
    113
    already said in details...;)
    the right coast
    yes, your paid apps will show in the market as "paid for" and you will be able to download them again. <----i did it after a phone replacement. it's attatched to your phone eid or number or something that stays no matter what.

    but let me know if that works for you. my undertandng was that only apps that support "moving" to sd will install to sd. so if you can't move it, i though there to be no point.

    if i'm wrong, let me know. that would be helpful
     
  15. docprego

    docprego Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    278
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009

    Oct 18, 2009
    278
    32
    43
    Actually the EVO has a nice amount of memory for apps. This situation really can be traced back to the earliest Android phones like the G1 which had limited space for app storage. People were whining for SD card storage to solve this problem and the whining never stopped. Now we have apps2sd integrated in Froyo and people still are complaining. Once developers add support for it to their apps this memory issue will be a non issue once and for all.
     
  16. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009


    you are correct, the dev has to activate it. very few apps have it enabled. hopefully with all you guys joining us nexus owners on froyo, this will change
     
  17. stainlessray

    stainlessray Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    642
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Jun 22, 2010
    642
    106
    113
    already said in details...;)
    the right coast
    there is a thread started on apps supporting apps2sd ... i can't find the thing to link it for you. i will add it as soon as i do :thinking:
     
  18. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    your avatar had me LMAO!!!!! Thanks needed that
     
  19. stainlessray

    stainlessray Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    642
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Jun 22, 2010
    642
    106
    113
    already said in details...;)
    the right coast
  20. Steeler

    Steeler Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    54
    3
    16
    I second that! :D
     
  21. JediJesus

    JediJesus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    266
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    266
    11
    58
    The apps I have on my sd card wont update in the market. Does anyone else have this problem?
     
  22. QuickDraw

    QuickDraw Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    328
    29
    43
    Disabled Veteran - USMC

    It appears as though you were given the correct information. I first went into Settings/Applications/Manage Applicattions to see if an app was transferrable first, then when I found out it wasn't, I uninstalled it, redownloaded it, and sure enough, I wasn't even given a choice to install on the SD card. So apparently, if you can't "move to sd card", then you cannot install it from scartch onto the sd card either. Bummer, I have nothing installed that I can put onto the sd card. Oh well.
     
  23. DragonGem

    DragonGem Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    There is an app in the market called app 2 sd that makes it really easy to tell what apps can be moved and to move them.
     
  24. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

  25. Rob_A

    Rob_A Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    825
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    825
    216
    113
    New York
    I moved all my movable apps to SD and went from 35mb free internal to 105mb free internal. Nice.

    Google Earth needs app2sd.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...