1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root drivers

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by papichulo916, Sep 30, 2011.

  1. papichulo916

    papichulo916 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011

    Aug 11, 2011
    188
    30
    43
    student
    the 916
    does anyone have the esteem usb drivers? first time i connect it to the computer it had an auto run thing that i think would've installed but i didn't then i ended up formatting the memory on my phone so i don't have it anymore. i would gladly appreciate it if you have them and hook me up with them, since i'm trying to root here :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. JWhipple

    JWhipple Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    256
    40
    43
    Melbourne, FL
    Gimme 5 minutes and I will post them for ya!
     
  3. JWhipple

    JWhipple Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    256
    40
    43
    Melbourne, FL
    Here ya go! If you have trouble unzipping it, try using 7-Zip, which is what I used to compress.

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/18067054/LG Esteem.zip
     
  4. papichulo916

    papichulo916 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011

    Aug 11, 2011
    188
    30
    43
    student
    the 916

    Thanks man you're the best :)
     
  5. philmiami

    philmiami Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011

    Apr 17, 2011
    58
    7
    16
    Miami,FL
    I have tried everything.
    I tried on a iMac thru bootcamp with windows7 ultimate.
    Says starting daemon and then hangs...
    now tried with old win xp laptop....starts daemon.......hangs
    I have debugging enabled
    I have it to where the usb is connected, have to select and always select Internet
    so I am not getting this to root.
    I bought this yesterday @ the corp store on Sunset/117ave (Miami).
    downloaded root .zip file from your website Mike....
    pulled battery but did NOT erase user data because I need the phone today as I switched from my Indulge to this.
    So MikeToolz or ANYONE out there, can you help me out here?
    and it's 3:40AM Monday, gotta go to work so can't play around with this now.
    later today I'll check for any replies or PM me.
    I am on all forums as same user id.
     
  6. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    did you right click and run as administrator, or you might want to turn off uac and restart computer and try it again.
     
  7. Aplus

    Aplus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    653
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    653
    255
    113
    Bay Area

    Did you install outside drivers or did you let your phone install the drivers? My phone installed all drivers the first time i plugged it in. I've never had to install separate drivers.
     
  8. redhook

    redhook Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    895
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    895
    142
    93
    Cameron Park
    Are you sure about that? My phone did not come with any drivers on it. Perhaps you had installed LG drivers for a different phone in the past?
     
  9. Aplus

    Aplus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    653
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    653
    255
    113
    Bay Area

    I'm sure. Just clicked 'autorun' and they installed (i watched it say 'installing device drivers')
     
  10. papichulo916

    papichulo916 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011

    Aug 11, 2011
    188
    30
    43
    student
    the 916
    that's correct, the phone comes with its own drivers...just put the phone in mass storage or internet, maybe both work, and it'll install them. at least that's what happened with mine.
     
  11. Prime85

    Prime85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    800
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    800
    201
    93

    Every phone uses different drivers
     
  12. philmiami

    philmiami Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011

    Apr 17, 2011
    58
    7
    16
    Miami,FL
    This is bootcamp'in my iMac 27" (newest-2011) into Windows 7 Ultimate (so it's like I got a pc).
    I have tried the autorun (install from phone) drivers...keep getting UAC, click yes
    nothing
    downloaded LG usb drivers (full and one that's supposed to be just for the Esteem)..
    get nothing...
    Starting blah blah blah......
    hangs..
    I tried on a old Win XP laptop and it hangs there too, but, that laptop I used to root the Indulge....could the USB drivers for the Indulge be causing a problem with the LG Esteem?
    Anyway....I wish someone would just compile and put this out for the mac.
    someone give me any input here......
    thanks
     
  13. TattooedDroid

    TattooedDroid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    319
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011

    Sep 16, 2011
    319
    45
    43
    GuitarGuru (Go Gibson or go home)
    Jacksonville, FL
    My esteem installed it self too...it took like 20 minutes on Vista but its great.
     
  14. kanaida

    kanaida Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    788
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010

    Dec 2, 2010
    788
    336
    113
    .Net and Android Programmer
    when you plug in the phone in your android notification bar it's a something like usb settings. it's a little unusual but I have to pick the 1 that says on something like usb tether. by default it's in mass storage mode. you also have to make sure did you go to settings applications debugging and enable debugging via usb too. after switching to this the popup for the looking for new devices will show on your pc.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...