1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Droid 2 rooted Froyo and OTA GB update install

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Seventurns9, Sep 5, 2011.

  1. Seventurns9

    Seventurns9 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    This is a a tuff situation for some people who are new to rooting (including myself). I rooted my Droid 2, as it has Froyo on it. I put ClockworkModRecovery and Droid 2 bootstrapper on it after I used Z4 to root it. I only used the Wireless Tether program and didn't uninstall any of the stock apps. Three days ago I received the OTA Gingerbread update but didn't install it. I am hoping that someone who has successfully installed the GB OTA update on their rooted Froyo - Droid 2 would tell me if it works... because I have no idea how I'm gonna get all of my settings, apps and contacts and everything else back the way it is now if the only way to get GB update is to SBF back to stock first. Isn't there a way to do this GB update on a previously rooted Froyo Droid 2??? ​
     

    Advertisement

  2. lrv

    lrv Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010

    Nov 20, 2010
    229
    39
    63
    Virginia
    You need to unroot using z4root first and foremost, but I didn't install over rooted Froyo, so I can't elaborate any further.
     
  3. Seventurns9

    Seventurns9 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    I know I should unroot, but I think the biggest hurdle is having a bootstrap installed and that will cause problems... I'm making a somewhat informed guess at this as no one has really done this, or hasn't posted about it. But I do think that the bootstrap program has to be removed before it could possibly install successfully. I have the Droid 2 bootstrapper
     
  4. shpadoinkle

    shpadoinkle Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010

    Jan 24, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    IT Support
    NC
    If your phone is all set up the way you like it, you may want to consider not updating. You can rename some system file (easy google search) to disable the OTA notifications.
     
  5. Seventurns9

    Seventurns9 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    No, I want to try out the new GB release. I'd like to be able to do it without having to SBF back to stock though.
     
  6. biggiesmalls657

    biggiesmalls657 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    326
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010

    Nov 30, 2010
    326
    30
    43
    Retail Clerk
    United States
    It is nice but I am using the leaked gb
     
  7. Seventurns9

    Seventurns9 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    I guess I should wait it out until Verizon has a final GB release for the Droid 2 that someone has hacked so that it can be used to update a rooted Froyo Droid 2. Is that a distinct possibility or will one always have to go to SBF to get the Verizon release of GB on their rooted-Froyo Droid2?
    Thanks
     
  8. JDunc

    JDunc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    416
    37
    43
    Image Processor
    Arkansas
    The OTA went live last week. Surely within a few weeks we will have a SBF for D2-GB that we can flash.
     
  9. markm2

    markm2 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    11
    2
    36
    Bucks County, PA
    My D2 was rooted with Z4Root. I had frozen some apps using Gemini App Manager and used a few root apps like ad-free, Barnacle wifi. I never uninstalled any bloatware or installed any ROMs, etc. I allowed the Verizon standard GB upgrade to come down and install successfully without unrooting and had no issues. Can't guarantee you the same result, but there's at least one data point for you.

    Rgds/Mark M.
     
  10. Seventurns9

    Seventurns9 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Thanks, but did you have a Bootstrapper like Droid 2 Bootstrapper or ClockWork Mod Recovery installed on your phone before you installed the OTA update? If you didn't I bet that is why the update went ok. I'm not positive about this and I'm posting this comment so more people can identify, but I think failure to update the OTA on a rooted Froyo may be caused by having a bootstrapper installed. That is what I'm trying to determine before I pull the trigger on mine
     
  11. markm2

    markm2 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    11
    2
    36
    Bucks County, PA
    That might be it. No I just had standard root apps like those listed. No bootstrapper, clockmod, voltagemod, or custom ROM.

    Rgds/Mark M.
     
  12. rickrabies

    rickrabies Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    66
    0
    35
    stuff
    iowa
    Im rooted on froyo. Vzw tried to do an ota update n it faild. Since this thread iv unrooted n downloading the new stuff. I liked my stuff but it had bugs
     
  13. chrstdvd

    chrstdvd Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    435
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    435
    60
    53
    Retired
    Virginia
    I was running Frayo, rooted and had/have D2 bootstrapper installed. I now have GB installed and nothing changed, everything is exactly the same. I unrooted before the I downloaded the update. The update does not mess with anything on your phone except for replacing the Frayo system files with the GB files. As long as you do not clear your cashe, data, and do not do a factory reset, everything will be exactly the same as you have it now after the update, inlculing if you are running a thing like launcher pro and have you picture as your screen background.
     

Share This Page

Loading...