1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Droid 2 vs Droid 2 Global

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by fluffyz, Nov 19, 2010.

  1. fluffyz

    fluffyz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    What's the difference? They both seem the same to me. I undersand that one is built for world features, but are there any other differences?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Thornfullessrose

    Thornfullessrose Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    840
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    840
    63
    78
    Student
    Philadelphia, PA
    • Remote wipe of device and SD card
    • Document editing with QuickOffice
    • Inbox filtering
    • Invite attendees to meetings using GAL
    • Ability to juggle multiple schedules. (free/busy lookups)
    • 1.2ghz processor.
    • More responsive Keyboard.
    • 2 color options. (Winter White and Dark Sapphire)
     
  3. tbaker

    tbaker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    124
    2
    36
    Is the cpu the same cpu just up-clocked or is it the next model up cpu? Don't we all get quickoffice? I know it came with my regular D2?

    Is there any way to get the invite attendees feature installed on to the regular D2?
     
  4. Super_Six_Two

    Super_Six_Two Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    594
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    594
    76
    78
    NJ
    The CPU is the same. Its just overclocked on the Global, but its easy to do the same on the D2
     
  5. fluffyz

    fluffyz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    Well I just got a Droid 2 and the only feature I wouldn't have minded having would be the keyboard. Texting is where it's at :)
     
  6. arvcube

    arvcube Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010

    Aug 15, 2010
    13
    1
    16
    we just got my wife the global today and the keyboard is slightly different...not as flat as the standard d2 keyboard. still flat, but it looks like there's more definition in the buttons.
    also, there seems to be a pre-installed VPN client and a Task Manager
     
  7. tbaker

    tbaker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    124
    2
    36
    I played with a demo model at BB today and for some reason or another I found to keyboard to feel nicer to use.
     
  8. 3devious

    3devious Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,360
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    1,360
    115
    163
    Washington, DC area
    I can do that stock and without picking something up from the Market. :thinking:
     
  9. Thornfullessrose

    Thornfullessrose Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    840
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    840
    63
    78
    Student
    Philadelphia, PA
    You can do these without using any additional apps? These features are on the DROID2 Global only, or they wouldn't have listed them as exclusive features.
     
  10. tbaker

    tbaker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    124
    2
    36
    My regular D2, I recently got, came with quickoffice(granted it was a lower build that what you find on the Droid Pro and 2 Global). Never really paid attention to the other.
     
  11. 3devious

    3devious Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,360
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    1,360
    115
    163
    Washington, DC area
    I apologize for not seeing this earlier. I didn't add anything to it. Quick Office lets me edit files. I just update it when it says there are updates, I refused to buy it since I had a key for Documents To Go that they told me I could move to my R2D2 D2.

    I thought the remote wipe was a part of Backup Assistant, but I was wrong. Sorry about that (now I need to get something for that, lol.)
     
  12. omnipanzer

    omnipanzer Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    7
    1
    6
    IT Tech.
    Ohio
    Just wanted to point out real quick: according to the info Computer world has it's the same CPU that is in the Droid X overclocked not the Droid 2.

    Droid X - TI OMAP 3630 1000 - 1Ghz
    Droid II - TI OMAP 3620 1000 - 1Ghz
    Droid 2 worls - TI OMAP 3630 1200 - 1.2Ghz
    Droid Pro - TI OMap 3620 1000 - 1Ghz
    I guess it could have been a typo.

    I would assume if the 3620 and the 3630 were the same cpu but clocked differently there would be no need to add the 1000 or 1200 at the end.
     
    NiceGuysFinishLast likes this.
  13. tbaker

    tbaker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    124
    2
    36
    No, there is was shown to be a difference over at XDA. They found out the Milestone 2 also has the 3630 cpu at 1ghz, which is why it has 720p recording and the Droid 2 doesn't and so far isn't being able to be hacked to support it. Speculation is there is something in the 3630 that allows it that the 3620 doesn't support.
     
  14. loomer

    loomer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    300
    25
    63
    IT Technician
    New Jersey
    There is no physical keyboard on the global??
     
  15. tbaker

    tbaker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    124
    2
    36
    Is it true the D2G has a slight bigger 1425mah battery vs the 1300mah for the D2? If so where can I get one, or a 1500mah battery for $25 or less? Thanks.,
     
  16. vikki

    vikki Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    60
    6
    16
    I'd look into getting the XBP7 - the extended battery for the D2/D2G. It should come with a new battery backing because it is a bit thicker. If you have a case, you may want to see if it will accommodate the extended battery. Light to moderate users will notice a difference the the battery life. If you're a heavy user, I'm not sure if you will benefit as much.
     
  17. Squirrel

    Squirrel Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    47
    1
    36
    New Hampshire
    I think I may like the keyboard better on the global model. I don't want to say never, but I am 99% positive that I won't make use of the global potential of this phone. Is there any reason for me to get the non-global phone given that both are going to cost me the same to purchase?
     
  18. vikki

    vikki Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    60
    6
    16
    I've pretty much only used the keyboard twice and both times were to set up my phone from scratch (brand new and factory reset). If you plan on just texting and browsing, then the D2 should be fine. If you like having that extra 20% speed on the CPU, plan on using your phone overseas, or be an applications monger then get the D2G. One other thing to consider is battery life. The D2 has a better battery life than the D2G.

    That is pretty much it.
     
  19. Squirrel

    Squirrel Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    47
    1
    36
    New Hampshire

    Vikki - I appreciate your thoughts. 20% CPU speed increase is obviously the largest reason I am considering the global other than the keyboard feel. The cost being the battery life is a little worrisome, but I am coming from an Eris and do ok with its battery life. I definitely don't plan on using the phone overseas or making much use of office type applications.

    Maybe you are right about not using the physical keyboard, but that puts me back at considering an X; which I ruled out due to its size (funny, same reasoning I got an Eris over a Droid originally).
     
  20. Dakota - Tom

    Dakota - Tom Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    109
    15
    38
    MN
    Yes, there is a physical keyboard on the global. Same layout as the D2, slightly improved feel.
     
  21. Dakota - Tom

    Dakota - Tom Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    109
    15
    38
    MN
    The D2G uses the BP6X battery, rated at 1390mAh (min) - 1420mAh(typ).
     
  22. cainn.mickey

    cainn.mickey Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    mechanic/ driver
    all over
    Got my upgraded phone today, and it was the d2 global. I've noticed a few major differences right off the bat.
    1. the d2 global does move faster(faster processor)
    2. it feels lighter than the d2
    3. the keyboard does feel easier to use
    4. comes with a task killer
    5. the battery has not lasted as long
    The main reason that I got it is due to the fact I'm going overseas to work and don't wanna deal with the hassle of phone cards or lines to use the phone. The sim card is pre-installed and should not be activated until you absolutely need it. I won't activate mine until I get my plane tickets. It does cost a grip...
     
  23. Dakota - Tom

    Dakota - Tom Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    109
    15
    38
    MN
    These to together are interesting. Did they include #4 because of #5?
     
  24. UncleMike

    UncleMike Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,323
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    2,323
    484
    163
    Central NJ
    Cause and effect - #4 being the cause, and #5 being the effect.
     
  25. filmont

    filmont Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Why wouldn't you activate it sooner? I'm just curious to know, not criticizing.
     

Share This Page

Loading...