1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Droid eris doesn't type sometimes

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by enkay19, May 29, 2010.

  1. enkay19

    enkay19 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    I recently got an eris, and I read that in order to optimize battery life, you could install Handcent SMS, so I did. But, at times, my phone will not type. I will type in words and the word predictor will work, but it will not type anything into the actual message. Any fixes? :p
     

    Advertisement

  2. zutmin

    zutmin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    164
    16
    38
    zion
  3. Familyguy1

    Familyguy1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    580
    21
    63
    Gallatin, TN
    zutmin likes this.
  4. zutmin

    zutmin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    164
    16
    38
    zion
  5. zutmin

    zutmin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    164
    16
    38
    zion
    Well, thanks for fixing it for me :)
     
  6. Familyguy1

    Familyguy1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    580
    21
    63
    Gallatin, TN
    NP, one question. I installed SWYPE... yet how do I use it??
     
  7. Resun

    Resun Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010

    Apr 1, 2010
    37
    1
    16
    Mine does it too even with swype. I just exit out of the program I'm using and restart it. Seems to work 90% of the time. Other times I have to restart.

    Sent from my Eris using Tapatalk
     
  8. zutmin

    zutmin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    164
    16
    38
    zion

    Settings>Keyboard & Language>Swype

    then

    Open your messaging app and long press on the box where yo would enter text. You will get a popup asking you for "input method." Select Swype and you are good to go.
     
  9. zutmin

    zutmin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    164
    16
    38
    zion
    Hmm sounds like you may need a factory data reset. See sticky thread at top of this forum.
     
  10. Resun

    Resun Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010

    Apr 1, 2010
    37
    1
    16
    I have done a factory reset. Multiple times actually.
     
  11. Crunchbot

    Crunchbot Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    15
    0
    25
    mind does the same thing, no matter what keyboard I use. It usually starts again if I exit the app, as stated before, or wait about 20 seconds. It didn't happen before I installed v3, and I was hoping the OTA would fix it. Just one more bug to get used to with Android, I guess.
     
  12. Roaddog

    Roaddog Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    200
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    200
    28
    43
    That sometimes happens to me, but I've noticed that it happens when I'm holding the phone in landscape mode, and not when it's in the vertical position. Dunno why, but that seems to be an issue.
     
  13. gruss

    gruss Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,411
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    1,411
    116
    163
    IT
    Toledoish
    That's just masking the lag problem all he probably has to do was disable haptic. And if you really must suggest a program to fix you could at least offer alternatives especially when ShapeWriter and slide it are available in the market. Not some hacked version ;)
     
  14. cmajpwc

    cmajpwc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    269
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    269
    4
    36
    Believe it or not, I read this thread this morning, and experienced this problem later in the day for the first time. Wow, what bad luck. To fix it I just go back one screen and start over. It's a minor annoyance but I deal with it for now. I haven't experienced this in landscape by the way (knock on wood)
     
  15. cdmapes

    cdmapes Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    mine does the same thing sometimes. however, if i keep typing, when i close the keyboard, i notice that it actually did type in my message and i can send it. it's somewhat annoying that you can't check your message as you type but if you pay attention while you type it's less annoying than going back to the home screen every time.
     

Share This Page

Loading...