1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Droid Eris/Sense UI "Scenes" ?

Discussion in 'Android Themes' started by mcbtrain929, Nov 18, 2009.

  1. mcbtrain929

    mcbtrain929 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    925
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    925
    129
    113
    ChiTown
    There are 6 "scenes" on the Eris (HTC, Play, Work, etc). But it seems like when I try to customize those, there's no way to save them to that name. So, are we basically stuck with what is on those scenes? Or is there a way to customize what is on the panels of each of those scenes and save it, and I'm just missing it?

    I know you can customize your own and give it your own name, but I just wanted to know if we can alter the scenes that they give to us. It seems pretty silly that they give us 6 different ones and we can't change the contents of them...
     

    Advertisement

    Nick in NYC likes this.
  2. mcbtrain929

    mcbtrain929 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    925
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    925
    129
    113
    ChiTown
    Bump.....anybody?
     
  3. alamoe

    alamoe Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    292
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    292
    21
    58
    what u can do is click "clean slate" and load it with whatever u want. then click "scenes" again and click on "current scene." it'll ask if u want to save the current scene. confirm that and type a name. you can't use any of the default names like "Work," "Play," but u can if u don't capitalize the W in Work or the P in Play. I've done it many times. :)
     
    Nick in NYC likes this.
  4. nkwebb140

    nkwebb140 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    10
    0
    15
    Finance
    Rhode Island USA
    So if the default scenes have widgets or items one doesn't use - it (the default screen, like Work) cannot be modified at all? Strange.

    I have a screen I use most of the time, any time I edit, I have to remember to save it.

    Looks like I will have a slew of customized screens and rarely use the defaults. Not a huge negative in my book but a bit surprising.
     
  5. Kevkelsar

    Kevkelsar Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    394
    27
    43
    This is the closest thread I could find about this topic. First, I want to restate that it's totally and completely silly/lame to have the HTC Scenes on our phones setup in some random way that we cannot change them. Yes, we can modify the default HTC Scenes and then save it as a new Scene, but we can't overwrite the defaults.

    As I thought about the Scenes and what's on them (meaning the HTC Scenes), I began to notice that they all contain the lame built in apps/widgets that I don't even want to use or use up any of my phone's resources and cannot uninstall. So, is it the fact that these apps/widgets are set in these HTC Scenes the reason that they even start up in the first place? I have made Dolphin my default browser, yet in my processes it always pops up as a running application even though I've never used it. Same with the default Messenger, Footprints, Stocks, Twitter, Voice Dialer, and all the other junk. None are set as my defaults and I never touch them.

    Are they starting up because HTC chose to stick them in their preloaded Scenes that cannot be modified? Or is the phone automatically programmed to start them regardless? Just curious if anyone has any ideas. I was wondering if we could just delete those Scenes that contain the crap we don't want, then would they even start up at all? I know it would take root to delete those HTC Scenes, which is REALLY lame. Our phone is forced to use resources that we don't want and never use.
     
    Nick in NYC likes this.
  6. semmtexx

    semmtexx Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    27
    2
    16
    Kevkelsar: First off, you can take any of the HTC scenes, remove or add any widgets or shortcuts, change the background, and then save it to whatever you want, Furthermore you could also just start with the clean slate and do the same thing. To remave anything on the screen just touch and hold the widget or shortcut and drag to the bottom. Press the + button to add - pretty self explanitory. The fact that you cant save changes to the actual HTC scene name is really inconsequential.

    As far as apps running in the background: Android OS operates differently than say winmo. apps can run in the background naturally without draining the battery for the most part. The stock apps that you complain about, well until the phone gets rooted, theres no way around it but being frustrated because they run in the background is really unecessary. The Android OS like I said before handles multiple apps running alot better than winmo etc. Make sure however that when you want to exit an app (except for maybe the stock browser) just use the back button and not the home button.

    Baically, yes these apps are going to run in the background unless you were to completely remove them which until the phone is rooted and custom roms are developed is impossible. My advice is to fully research AND physically use the device and OS before purchasing it. That way we don't have to answer whiny questions like these.
     

Share This Page

Loading...