1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support droid gps not working

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mell0yell05, Aug 20, 2011.

  1. mell0yell05

    mell0yell05 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    2
    1
    6
    I am having trouble with the gps on my phone and have looked in the forums but nothing seems to help. I use the gps on my phone for geocaching and the gps on my phone has always worked amazingly until 2 days ago. I am trying to figure out the problem and I can only assume it is one of three things...1. My phone fell out onto some wet grass (not longer than a minute) the day it started acting up 2. I downloaded "gps status and toolbox" and "gps fix". Both worked great for a few days and then the gps trouble started. 3. My gps just went screwy.

    I have tried everything I can think of...turning off the phone and turning it back on, uninstalling the two gps downloads, uninstalling and reinstalling google maps, uninstalling and reinstalling the geocaching map, using the google maps driving navigation to search for a gps and using the phone's navigaton system car home to search for gps (both of these continuously say locating gps and do not proceed any further). As a last ditch effort I factory reset the phone, without any luck. After the reinstall I tried gps test...it will bounce back between finding 4 satellites and no satellites in view without connecting to any of them
     

    Advertisement

  2. mhny47

    mhny47 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    2
    1
    6
    I wish I could help. Yesterday morning, the GPS on my Droid Incredible stopped working. I also downloaded two GPS status apps from the marketplace, however I downloaded them after my GPS stopped working in all the applications I have that use GPS. Before the GPS stopped working, I was using it daily with Google Maps, GeoTagging pictures taken with the camera and logging exercise routes with JogTracker.

    The only information I can offer is what a manager at a Verizon store told me a couple of hours ago. He said that Google Location Services was not working as of two days ago. The GPS did not work any any the the three sales persons phones in the store. He claimed the problem was not a Verizon problem, rather I was a Google problem.

    Thinking simply, the GPS still works on my TomTom car GPS. A Verizon salesperson said that the GPS on the Droid still accesses information from the Verizon network. She said it is not a standalone GPS system.

    I am no expert, so I will try to simply hang on for a few days to see if the problem is resolved.

    I'll check back here to see if anyone posts better information than I have.
     
  3. wnyendo

    wnyendo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    2
    2
    6
    I was actually having problems with the GPS on my Droid, and it also started two days ago. It was odd, because Google Maps could find my location to within a fairly small uncertainty. However, the Navigation and all my other apps that use GPS could not lock on. After reading through the other thread below, I tried various suggestions there - installing the Power Settings widget and cycling the power to the GPS, rebooting the phone, rebooting after the battery had been removed for awhile, removing all recently installed apps, etc. Nothing worked. I was even starting to suspect sunspot activity of something like that.

    Finally, I had success following a tip by Mike.nrb near the end of the "Moto Droid GPS Problems" thread. He suggested downloading GPS Test by Mike Lockwood (the "by Mike Lockwood" is important, because there are a bunch of GPS Tests in the Market) and hitting the "Clear Aiding Data". It took me a bit to get it to work (tip: you can't hit "Start" first, because the button you want gets greyed out), but then it did the trick. There's a link in Mike.nrb's post that explains how the GPS sometimes gets hosed and why this technique fixes that particular problem.

    It may not work for you, depending on your problem (e.g. you might have a hardware issue), but I highly recommend giving it a shot. Good luck!
     
    crack-kitty likes this.
  4. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,443
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,443
    1,942
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Where is everyone posting in this thread thus far located?

    I know that the International Space station has been doing flybys over the US over ht last week and a half, and a satellite that was temporarily turned off may not have turned back on....

    Have any of you searched for any outages of GPS info in your area? Are there other devices that *are* working?
     
  5. wnyendo

    wnyendo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    2
    2
    6
    Western NY, here. I checked on GPS outages at GPS Satellite Outage Information as part of my troubleshooting. Only one satellite was off the last few days, and it's been off for a long time. Like I said, I eventually solved my problem with a better GPS tools app.
     
    johnlgalt likes this.
  6. Sonor

    Sonor Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    17
    2
    16
    Count me in too, My DROID first generation hasn't been able to find a GPS satellite since last Thursday 8/18/11.
    Is there any definitive word on what the problem is?
    I do know it's very frustrating when you learn to depend on the service and it's no longer there..
    HELP!!
    Thanks!
    Eric :mad:
     
  7. Xeroid58

    Xeroid58 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Western NY
    I just used this tip on my DroidX running 2.3 and it fixed it!!! Tried the same on wife's Droid2 running 2.2 (no update available, yet) and had no effect > it seems to find only 1 or 2 satalites and never locks on. Both are running the same version of Google Maps.

    I live in Western NY and was at the county fair, yesterday and stopped by the Verizon booth. The people who had been flown in from down south said that their GPS had stopped working on all of their phones shortly after they arrived and that western NY was having issues. I explained that I had a replacement phone on the way and they were surprised to hear that because all the verizon support people were supposed to be aware of the problem. Of course he then proceded to explain that through all of his extensive training, verizon phones NEVER use satellites for GPS location services and that if I ever went to an area that wasn't covered by the verizon towers or a "partner" I would never be able to lock on. I suspect what he really had been taught was that without a data network available, Google would not be able to retrieve a MAP for the location I was in. Can't argue with an expert, though. :rolleyes:
     
  8. Amhalpern

    Amhalpern Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    1
    2
    6
    I just got off the phone with Verizon tech support and there is a major issue that is causing problems with all Verizon GPS phones. They are aware of the problem and are working on a resolution.
     
    crack-kitty and Sonor like this.
  9. Sonor

    Sonor Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    17
    2
    16
    It's Too Bad Verizon Doesn't Announce This..... 8/21/11
    Right now they have people wiping their phones to factory condition, uninstalling/reinstalling Google Maps and their other GPS related software..
    Downloading all kinds of GPS test software...
    I don't know who or what's to blame, but it seems like pretty poor communication from a communications provider.. I'm just sayin'.. :D
    Eric
     
    gjohannes and crack-kitty like this.
  10. jdb1941

    jdb1941 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011

    Aug 21, 2011
    5
    1
    6
    I also live in Buffalo, my GPS stopped locking on my Droid 2 when I needed it on Friday. I did a factory reset and also did not correct the problem. The update seems to have updated the firmware in the gps chipset. Sometimes the GPS does momentarly lock onto a signal, however it believes I'm in either France or Spain traveling at 700MPH. I did contact Verizon support, and they stated that is a known issue with no ETA of a fix. And now I hear that my family and friends are now beginning to have the same issues with different android devices, but all on the Verizon Wireless network. I don't believe it is an issue with the GPS satellites as I have a USB GPS that connects with Microsoft Streets. It finds between 8-10 Satellites. Why do I have this feeling that issue isn't going to be fixed in a timely matter?
     
    Sonor likes this.
  11. Sonor

    Sonor Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    17
    2
    16
    Now wait a minute, what do you have against Spain and France? ... and I think driving at 700 MPH is just too darn fast..
    Seriously though, I kind of figured it would fall to Verizon (this problem) and that the problems would be corrected hopefully sooner rather than later, but your probably right about that too.. (it probably won't be fixed in a timely manner.)
    PS: I used to live in Cheektowaga, many years ago, I have fond memories of that area.
    Take Care,
    Thanks!
    Eric
     
  12. rmcnamara

    rmcnamara Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    6
    1
    6
    I live in Dutchess County. Little more than an hour from NYC. I have been having the same problems with my Droid x. I have talked to a bunch of other people that are having same problem. I got off the phone with tech support about an hour ago. I was told this problem is only on android phones and google is looking into it. The tech was from Rochester. He has an incredible and has the issue.
     
    Sonor likes this.
  13. Sonor

    Sonor Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    17
    2
    16
    rmcnamara,
    Oh so the problem is not just in upstate, maybe Google can light a fire under Verizon's butt and get things moving..
    Thanks for the information..
    I'm just glad I didn't wipe my phone and go that route before reading this thread on this forum..
    Take Care,
    Eric
     
  14. rmcnamara

    rmcnamara Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    6
    1
    6
    I did everything to my phone. I sbf'ed as i was rooted at the time. Still same problem. It is one of the weirdest things i have seen. Just out of nowhere the phones stop connecting to GPS
     
  15. crack-kitty

    crack-kitty Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011

    Jan 23, 2011
    2
    1
    6
    I had the same problem... approx 2 days now. I live in Albany, NY and have a Droid X which has 2.3.3 and last night (i think) it updated to system version 4.6.602.MB810 (verizon). I have a bunch of GPS apps, none would connect (Speedview is excellent because it graphically shows you as it connects, i could get as many as 4 but that's it).

    Anyway, I tried the suggestion of using GPS Status to clear data, and that didn't work. Then I tried the suggestion above using GPSTest (Mike Lockwood version) and after a phone reboot (I did that, not 100% sure if it was necessary), all GPS functions are restored.

    Thanks wnyendo for chasing that down and posting it!!!!
     
    Sonor likes this.
  16. moonmaster

    moonmaster Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011

    Aug 21, 2011
    1
    1
    6
    Syracuse ny with droid 1 rooted verizon. Having the exact same problem. Called customer support twice and it was a waste of time. "Go to settings, check enable gps blah blah..." I'm not an idiot. I pay $100 a month for the service I only use about 25% of what its worth. Thanks for the heads up verizon
     
    jksabre likes this.
  17. Sonor

    Sonor Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    17
    2
    16
    I tried a few of those test things including the Mike Lockwood GPSTest, but it didn't seem to do anything for my situation...
    But I have the original DROID, still at version 2.2.2 (as of 8/21/11)
    So it this point my GPS functionality is still Sleeping comfortably..
    Eric
     
  18. capequackers

    capequackers Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011

    Aug 21, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I attemped to use my geocaching.com app. on August 19. It said I was in France. I didn't have time to check it out then. Today, August 21, I attempted to use the radar app. and it wouldn't work. I tried the geocaching.com app; it wouldn't work. My navigation will not work either. It is funny though, I leave the geocaching map on and it will switch between the right location and somewhere in France every few minutes.

    I would say it was an issue with my particular phone, but it looks as though several folks are having trouble. Are any of you using the Droid Incredible on the Verizon network? Perhaps there was a recent software update or app update that caused the issue? I am going to try the *228. I have already turned it on and off, then took the battery out. I uninstalled the geocaching.com app. and reinstalled. Nothing has worked. If the *228 does not work, I will try the suggestion from a previous post.

    I NEED MY PHONE!!!! :eek: I work EMS. It is my GPS for getting to the scene in an emergency. (Not to mention, it's far better than my eTrex for geocaching!
     
  19. jksabre

    jksabre Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011

    Aug 21, 2011
    7
    1
    6
    I am having same problem here in Batavia ny. Customer service told me about a work around.. I got excited then they said uninstall then reinstall Google maps. I was like da i already tried that. She said they are aware of problem and cant give me timetable on fix. Then she suggested download vz navigator from market(which you have to pay for) I would doubt that would work either. I also tried the suggested gps test with no luck. I am really glad i found this forum. Least i know its not just my phone
     
  20. jwbrins

    jwbrins Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011

    Aug 21, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I also live in Dutchess County NY and I know people all over New York and they are also having issues with their gps too. I go to Google latitude and it says that they are in France or Spain on my phone. When I go to Google latitude on the computer it says unknown location.

    When I use GPS test I have been only getting one sometimes two satellites.
     
  21. BobDoyle

    BobDoyle Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    same issues, I'm south of Warsaw, NY. above fix did nothing for me... Verison no help... had me reset phone, nothing, then told me I needed a new phone, would not send replacement, as I am 4 months out of warranty and do for an upgrade... just sent emails to Buffalo News and Roch D&C... maybe they will ask Verizon a few questions and get things going...
     
    Sonor likes this.
  22. PhilM

    PhilM Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    It's interesting everyone that mentioned their location is in NY. I've been traveling from the Hudson Valley to Buffalo area the last 2 days and my GPS is non-functional. I've tried all the tricks in this thread and only get 1 or 2 sat's briefly.

    I also received an phone SW update this morning, but it didn't help.
     
  23. Garick

    Garick Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    42
    0
    15
    south of buffalo here on an OG droid and cannot get a gps fix either
     
  24. caved

    caved Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011

    Aug 21, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Having same problem on Droid A855, but my wife's Droid 2 Global is working. Travelling from Ithaca to Buffalo and have had the problem the entire time. Tried GPS Test workaround to no avail.
     
  25. hilmar2k

    hilmar2k Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,369
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    1,369
    293
    163
    New York
    Add me to the list. Incredible 2 in Dutchess County and no GPS for me. Extremely frustrating...
     

Share This Page

Loading...