1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Droid GPS Problems This Morning?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bigbill25, Feb 18, 2010.

  1. bigbill25

    bigbill25 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    48
    1
    16
    Portland, OR
    On my drive into work, I started up the nav app to get traffic data, and it came up with an odd "No Route" message. I then just went into Maps and when the GPS locked, it put my out in the Pacific! I power cycled the phone, went back into maps and same thing; I was 50 miles or so off the coast of San Fransisco (I'm in Portland, OR).

    I started the "GPS Status" application and it showed my moving between 500 and 800 mph! I had my Garmin Forerunner in the car, so I turned that on and it was working just fine, so it something going on with the Droid.

    Anyone else have issues this morning?

    --Bill
     

    Advertisement

  2. milrtime83

    milrtime83 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    668
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    668
    74
    78
    Do you have weatherbug on your phone? That seems to mess up the gps for some people. Pulling the battery out for 60 seconds or so has always corrected it when I couldn't get a signal.
     
  3. vico512

    vico512 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    22
    2
    36
    FAA
    Seattle area
    I posted in this forum about a similar event yesterday, where the Droid showed me first in Idaho, then in Billings, MT, in each case traveling at a high rate of speed (I'm in Seattle). Later in the day, it showed my correct location, although it took a long time to acquire a lock-on. And, yes, I do have Weatherbug installed -- might be the culprit....?
     
  4. milrtime83

    milrtime83 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    668
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    668
    74
    78
    Weatherbug may just be a coincidence, but I've seen a couple people say their gps started working after uninstalling it.
     
  5. bigbill25

    bigbill25 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    48
    1
    16
    Portland, OR
    Interesting... I don't have Weatherbug installed. I'll see what happens latter today, I suppose!

    --Bill
     
  6. Dabrador

    Dabrador Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    328
    24
    38
  7. bigbill25

    bigbill25 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    48
    1
    16
    Portland, OR
    Interesting thread, Dabrador...

    Just went out for lunch and it worked just fine. Frustrating... Seems like we can't rely on the Droid as a true Garmin replacement yet.

    --Bill
     
  8. bekonstructive

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    I've found that I can't get a GPS lock if I'm in the car and it's traveling at freeway speeds (~50mph or higher). However if the car comes to a stop or city driving speeds it will lock on my location quickly every time. Has anyone else noticed this?
     

Share This Page

Loading...