1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Droid incredible udate - don't do it!!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by todds, Nov 14, 2010.

  1. todds

    todds Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Woke up with update message, ran update. Phone completely wiped out of ALL data. Was very upset!! Does anyone know how to find a list of all previously loaded market place apps? This is a total pain in the butt...
    Thank you.
     

    Advertisement

  2. locoandroid

    locoandroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    123
    17
    38
    QA
    FL
    My wife's cell had it this morning and all the apps were there after the update
     
  3. Medion

    Medion Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,855
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010

    Aug 14, 2010
    1,855
    958
    233
    Male
    Auburn, WA
    My phone is doing the update now, I'll edit this post with what happens.

    EDIT: Retained my apps and settings.
     
  4. i.bike.for.life

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    Female
    Hillsborough, NJ
    Same thing happened to me...I had to reload everything I could remember...I know I don't have all of them, I just can't remember them all.
    For me, all my accounts, settings, contacts....everything was gone....including my work email exchange account....arrrrghhh!:mad:
     
  5. todds

    todds Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    yep, same here. still trying to remember things too. what a total pain. i don't know why we don't have a backup assistant that will backup everything. certainly some developer wants this too!
     
  6. Medion

    Medion Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,855
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010

    Aug 14, 2010
    1,855
    958
    233
    Male
    Auburn, WA
    Let me ask you this out of morbid curiosity. If you paid for an app, do you now have to pay for it again? Or, is it remembered by the Android Marketplace? If so, how does it indicate if it's remembered?
     
  7. JuniorNA

    JuniorNA Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    288
    50
    53
    IT/Networking
    Nowhere NEAR Cupertino...North NJ
    the Android marketplace will remember what you purchased so if its not installed and u see it available to download it will say purchased. you in now way have to buy them again in the app store. other apps from other places...not sure. but app store, one time payment only
     
    Medion likes this.
  8. i.bike.for.life

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    Female
    Hillsborough, NJ
    I wish it did that for the free apps:(....Cuz, when I remember an app I used to have and go to the marketplace to get it again, it is not saying anything to make me think it remembers me.
     
  9. trojanchick99

    trojanchick99 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    94
    16
    38
    Los Angeles
    I installed the update and my apps are still there.

    I do however recommend in the future, you get AppBrain which syncs your apps and makes re-installing them much easier.
     
  10. VegasOnAcid

    VegasOnAcid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,758
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    1,758
    160
    143
    Or pay for "Titanium backup" that application is amazing esp if you switch roms often.
     
  11. Hitch_Itch

    Hitch_Itch Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    90
    15
    18
    Like Trojan said, If you use app brain and have done a appbrain sync you can log into appbrain from you desktop and send all you apps back to your phone, next time you open appbrain from your phone and hit sync it will start to reinstall all your apps you had
     
  12. parkschr

    parkschr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    260
    11
    38
    Ohio
    I didn't lose anything after my update a few days ago. Plus I use appbrain as well.
     
  13. Stupifier

    Stupifier Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    392
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    392
    46
    43
    I updated last night.....no issues at all.
     
  14. Mr. Boom

    Mr. Boom Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    689
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    689
    84
    98
    EOD/UXO
    Nevada
    Appbrain!!
     
  15. koolaid25

    koolaid25 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    18
    1
    16
    Arizona Mountains
    After the update my SD card was unreadable. Initially system said it was, suddenly removed. Put the card in my computer. It would list my folders. After messing around with it I was able to copy some important stuff. Checked SD card for file system errors. Had a handful. Repaired and now it seems fine. Noticed the 'location' options have changed. 'Better Keyboard' is now very slow. V cast store is is expensive and there are no comments.
    Koolaid25
     
  16. lgldrgdlr

    lgldrgdlr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    717
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    717
    192
    93
    Burbs of Chicago
    As others have said, I would recommend either a) using appbrain or b) using a file manager such as astro, which has in it an option to back-up apps. This way you have a copy of all of your .apk files on your sd card, which you could then copy to your computer as a more secure back-up in case your sd gets wiped somehow. MyBackupPro is a great back-up app as well that'll back-up everything. Contacts are already backed up via your gmail account, as long as you select contacts to be a gmail contact rather than phone contact.

    As for getting the apps you had before, the only ones that are remembered by the market are the paid apps. Market>menu>my downloads. . . it will list all your purchased apps.
     
  17. lamoglinsgal

    lamoglinsgal Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,044
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    1,044
    115
    143
    Virginia
    Mine factory reset after the update, too, but see my other thread I've been having issues on prior to the update. I'm not feeling very Incredible at the moment. :(
     
  18. weihl165

    weihl165 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    296
    14
    38
    Updated mine and gf's on saturday with no problems
     
  19. GammaAzazel

    GammaAzazel Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    88
    6
    16
    Mine only wiped out contact facebook data...but its still a pain in the ass none the less, I lost all of the numbers synced for the account, now they aren't showing up at all, and some of my friends on the phone won't show up as a contact at all.
     
  20. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Got my update on Thursday and all my apps and settings were still there. It's strange that some people got wiped
     

Share This Page

Loading...