1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Droid is rooted with BB 0.9 but still getting OTA upgrade

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mdevine, Apr 5, 2010.

  1. mdevine

    mdevine Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    64
    0
    15
    My Droid is rooted and running Pete's BB 0.9. My phone is constantly asking me to do the OTA 2.1 upgrade. Any idea how I stop this OTA from happening and asking me to upgrade?
     

    Advertisement

  2. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    986
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    986
    31
    98
    Male
    Test engineer
    Bartlett, IL
    you need to do this:

    delete otacerts.zip from /system/etc/security

    I used Root Explorer to do this
     
  3. shrink57

    shrink57 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,529
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,529
    149
    143
    South Florida
    just to add, set root explorer to RW (read / write).
     
  4. jacwashere7

    jacwashere7 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    83
    0
    15
    PA
    Im BB 7.5 and having the same issue
     
  5. shrink57

    shrink57 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,529
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,529
    149
    143
    South Florida
    It seems like some (very few) people are having issue with a range of different ROMs from different developrs but it has been very rare from what I am reading. I have not heard of any problems yet with the latest ESE81 based and Koush ROMs (at least not yet).
     
  6. Sportster

    Sportster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    449
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    449
    25
    43
    Male
    Steelworker
    Indiana, US
    OK, what to do if otacerts refuses to delete?
     
  7. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    986
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    986
    31
    98
    Male
    Test engineer
    Bartlett, IL
    Is it set for R/W and not Ready Only?

    how are you trying to delete it?
     

Share This Page

Loading...