1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Droid Maxx 4.4 Kit Kat Bugs

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kmwhiten, Dec 20, 2013.

  1. kmwhiten

    kmwhiten Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012

    Apr 14, 2012
    87
    0
    15
    I wanted to start this thread to report any bugs on 4.4. I personally have not got the update yet.
     

    Advertisement

  2. frodub

    frodub Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011

    Feb 28, 2011
    126
    33
    53
    - When connected to my car via Bluetooth, I can no longer use the volume controls on my phone to control the volume... It's all done through the vehicle now. I have not tried this with any other Bluetooth devices yet.

    - SMS messages are supposed to be able to transfer to my vehicle's(subaru) in-dash touchscreen unit, but messages still are not receiving.

    - Completely locked up once and needed soft reset, but has been behaving well since.

    - no transparent notification panel at the top (not a bug, just a letdown)

    If there's anything else you guys would like me to test or try out, let me know
     
  3. Somniferum

    Somniferum Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #386
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Jan 14, 2010
    283
    65
    63
    Just as an FYI, you can get the transparent notification bar via Nova Launcher or GEL now that we have KitKat. I know some people don't like third-party launchers but it is an option.
     
  4. kmwhiten

    kmwhiten Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012

    Apr 14, 2012
    87
    0
    15
    I dont really like this part. My first Maxx locked up and then it would only get to the Moto screen :'(
     
  5. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,695
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,695
    1,927
    483
    From a message by Motorola's Punit Soni on Google+ announcing the availability of the update, this was deliberate based on requirements from Verizon. They wanted the stock status bars, including the "Holo blue" color for the icons. On the good side, that also means that the icons also show network activity using animated arrows, which was removed from the network status icons on the Nexus devices and the Motorola X.
     
  6. Einsteindks

    Einsteindks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010

    Nov 24, 2010
    157
    29
    43
    Touchless control was out/locked up for a little while, but seems to be working fine now
     
  7. lewwill

    lewwill Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    127
    24
    38
    retired
    New Hampshire
    I can't say I am unhappy about not having the transparent status bars with white icons. I like the black bar and holo blue. More information and easier to see.
     
    Einsteindks likes this.
  8. kmwhiten

    kmwhiten Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012

    Apr 14, 2012
    87
    0
    15
    Have they pulled the update because it was bricking phones? I haven't got the update yet. I am in Athens GA.
     
  9. Fruban

    Fruban Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    78
    7
    16
    Male
    Still waiting for my update too on my Maxx. My droid mini got it the first day... But that's my work phone which I barely use.
     
  10. Old Member

    Old Member Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,586
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    2,586
    1,905
    313
    Male
    Teacher/Church Planter/ Basketball Coach
    Cincinnati
    FoxFi doesn't seem to work with 4.4 also I keep getting a warning that my network may be monitored by FoxFi. I can't seem to clear that warning.
     
  11. Old Member

    Old Member Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,586
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    2,586
    1,905
    313
    Male
    Teacher/Church Planter/ Basketball Coach
    Cincinnati
    GEL launcher no longer responds to Okay Google. I went into settings and listen for hot words is checked.
     
  12. Old Member

    Old Member Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,586
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    2,586
    1,905
    313
    Male
    Teacher/Church Planter/ Basketball Coach
    Cincinnati
  13. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,243
    Posts:
    11,702
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,702
    4,845
    1,243
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    It works for me.

    I recorded "OK Droid Now" and can say "OK Droid" "weather" to get the cur4ednt weather report.

    I also use the new option to turn off the acknowledgement feedback tone.

    I pause very briefly between "OK Droid" and "whatever the command".

    For me it is an improvement over Jelly Bean.

    ... Thom
     
    jimd1050 likes this.
  14. Old Member

    Old Member Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,586
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    2,586
    1,905
    313
    Male
    Teacher/Church Planter/ Basketball Coach
    Cincinnati
    Okay Google Now works for me without issue now as well. It is only a problem when using the GEL. Prior to 4.4 I could say "Okay Google" from any homescreen and the listening feature would activate. Now that I have 4.4 it no longer works that way. I have to say "Okay Google Now" and it goes to the Motorola black screen with the red dot in the center and says "Yes Jeff" as it always has.

    Can you get "Okay Google" to work on the GEL?
     
  15. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,695
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,695
    1,927
    483
    That was reported by Moto X users after the KitKat update, so it's not surprising that it doesn't work on the Ultra series, either. The launcher was created for the Nexus 5 exclusively and not meant for other devices, so it's probably not surprising that it doesn't work.

    Frankly, I'd just not use the launcher or wait until Google releases a version generally in the play store, as they did the keyboard, if they ever do.
     
  16. Old Member

    Old Member Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,586
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    2,586
    1,905
    313
    Male
    Teacher/Church Planter/ Basketball Coach
    Cincinnati
    Dooglad, with your thoughts and opinions on here I'd think you work for Verizon or Motorola. ;)

    You've been more than clear about your opinion of side loading apps that are not meant/designed for our phone, rooting and modifying anything to work with our phone. Just letting anyone that doesn't hold to your opinions know that have used the GEL know if they are having issues, they are not alone. :)
     
  17. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,243
    Posts:
    11,702
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,702
    4,845
    1,243
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    I don't use GEL (Google Experience Launcher) so I don't know.

    I use NLP (Nova Launcher Prime) and it has never been a problem.

    ... Thom
     
  18. Old Member

    Old Member Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,586
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    2,586
    1,905
    313
    Male
    Teacher/Church Planter/ Basketball Coach
    Cincinnati
    I am currently using NLP also bit that's due to the issues with GEL. I really used the page to the left of my homepage. I realize that it's the same thing as dragging the home button up on the arc but I liked it better. Oh well.
     
  19. Old Member

    Old Member Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,586
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    2,586
    1,905
    313
    Male
    Teacher/Church Planter/ Basketball Coach
    Cincinnati
    I thought there was a thread dedicated to apps that don't work with Kit Kat but I can't find it so here goes. Chase Mobile app no longer has the option to deposit checks.
     
  20. orcsbane13

    orcsbane13 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    138
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    138
    29
    43
    USB OTG native support is gone as well. I have to use a 3rd party app now to access my menova USB drive.
     
  21. Old Member

    Old Member Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,586
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    2,586
    1,905
    313
    Male
    Teacher/Church Planter/ Basketball Coach
    Cincinnati
    I remembered that holding down the recent apps button acts as a menu button when a menu isn't present. Now I have the ability to deposit checks again in the Chase Mobile app.
     
  22. matt5951

    matt5951 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013

    Aug 28, 2013
    18
    3
    16
    South Florida
    My hangouts crashed the other day and I had to uninstall updates to get it to work. Re-installed the updates later in the day and it has been fine. Not sure if this was KK related, but it never happened before.

    Other than that things seem ok, though the battery seems worse.
     
  23. LizMac

    LizMac Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #271
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    331
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013

    Nov 14, 2013
    331
    194
    88
    Female
    looking forward to trying this update. Not available for me yet. I'm in Eastern TN. Verizon. :kicks can: just waiting......
     
  24. Robweis

    Robweis Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014

    Jan 3, 2014
    16
    1
    16
    Is there a step by step how to get kitkat without the Verizon update
     
  25. Robweis

    Robweis Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014

    Jan 3, 2014
    16
    1
    16
    Good luck with that
     

Share This Page

Loading...