1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Droid Maxx Rooted?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dmodert66, Sep 10, 2013.

  1. dmodert66

    dmodert66 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,551
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    1,551
    221
    163
    Project Manager
    Southern California

    Advertisement

  2. mcadam

    mcadam Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    119
    33
    43
    Male
    South Jersey
  3. 18t

    18t Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    144
    27
    43
    Verizon Moto X gets temporary root - LINK

     
  4. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,420
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    6,420
    1,204
    353
    Male
    MECHANIC OBDII. NOS. FUEL INJECTION. Saving a Life
    Park Ave., HELL
    May i ask what site is this from . I see that they have a bootloader solution for the s4:eek::what:
     
  5. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,420
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    6,420
    1,204
    353
    Male
    MECHANIC OBDII. NOS. FUEL INJECTION. Saving a Life
    Park Ave., HELL
    Also how much gb does this moto x has the newest one they say tmobile is getting it but stores in my hood say not yet
     
  6. Old Member

    Old Member Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,586
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    2,586
    1,905
    313
    Male
    Teacher/Church Planter/ Basketball Coach
    Cincinnati
  7. Old Member

    Old Member Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,586
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    2,586
    1,905
    313
    Male
    Teacher/Church Planter/ Basketball Coach
    Cincinnati
    While we're rooting, can we please change the boot animation to this:

     
    Covert_Death and BRAINZ2013 like this.
  8. mistermojorizi

    mistermojorizi Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    500
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011

    Oct 26, 2011
    500
    178
    93
    On xda jcase said the maxx is rooted now. But all these roots are still temporary and none of then ate released yet
     
  9. Old Member

    Old Member Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,586
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    2,586
    1,905
    313
    Male
    Teacher/Church Planter/ Basketball Coach
    Cincinnati
  10. Lucky Armpit

    Lucky Armpit Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    674
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    674
    352
    133
    IT Manager
    Rocky Mount, NC
    Yup, it's only a short wait away from the looks of it. JCase is going to enjoy that almost $700 bounty. Good for him! And good for us! :D
     
  11. dmodert66

    dmodert66 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,551
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    1,551
    221
    163
    Project Manager
    Southern California
  12. Old Member

    Old Member Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,586
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    2,586
    1,905
    313
    Male
    Teacher/Church Planter/ Basketball Coach
    Cincinnati
    I think I am too, root checker says my phone is rooted but I can't install SU.
     
  13. Old Member

    Old Member Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,586
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    2,586
    1,905
    313
    Male
    Teacher/Church Planter/ Basketball Coach
    Cincinnati
    Also, I didn't install it through ADB Push I installed it by simply clicking install. Although I think I'm rooted, I can't uninstall any Verizon Bloatware.

    Any ideas?
     
  14. redpipe

    redpipe Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012

    Aug 2, 2012
    29
    7
    16
    Install SuperSU. It will tell you that the su binary needs updated, ignore that. Download your favorite root app and give it a go.
     
  15. Old Member

    Old Member Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,586
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    2,586
    1,905
    313
    Male
    Teacher/Church Planter/ Basketball Coach
    Cincinnati
    How do we uninstall the Verizon bloat now?
     
  16. redpipe

    redpipe Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012

    Aug 2, 2012
    29
    7
    16
    I used Root Uninstaller
     
  17. Old Member

    Old Member Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,586
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    2,586
    1,905
    313
    Male
    Teacher/Church Planter/ Basketball Coach
    Cincinnati
  18. Old Member

    Old Member Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,586
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    2,586
    1,905
    313
    Male
    Teacher/Church Planter/ Basketball Coach
    Cincinnati
    Okay, I feel really dumb. I think it's the giddyness of root. I always use Titanium Backup. I even have the "pro" version of it.

    :eek:
     
  19. Old Member

    Old Member Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,586
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    2,586
    1,905
    313
    Male
    Teacher/Church Planter/ Basketball Coach
    Cincinnati
    I've uninstalled them but they still show up in my apps as disabled.

    Hmmmmm . . . .
     
  20. redpipe

    redpipe Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012

    Aug 2, 2012
    29
    7
    16
    Oh yea, we don't have full access to system yet, so for now we won't be able to disable bloat. If you reboot, they will be back.
     
  21. Einsteindks

    Einsteindks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010

    Nov 24, 2010
    157
    29
    43
    SU update isn't installing for me, but is doing permissions fine. I took the out-of-the-box update, and there were no glitches running the exploit. I did notice all my notification sound assignments were scrambled. Small price to pay!

    Last edit(?) q/e in recovery reads 0/0. I guess this doesn't truly reflect the root situation anymore?
     
  22. Somniferum

    Somniferum Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #366
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Jan 14, 2010
    283
    65
    63
    Great news on the root developments! I'm going to wait until things stabilize a bit before rooting my Maxx, but I'm super excited to see people successfully achieving root!

    Just one word of caution from my experience with the Bionic: If you ever want to install a future OTA update (and you probably will), you are much better off using Titanium Backup (or a similar app) to Freeze the bloatware rather than uninstalling it. The reason is that the updater process checks for the bloatware and if it doesn't find it, the update will fail. This happened to a lot of people on the Bionic. At that point the only option is to do a FXZ (if available), which is a huge PITA.

    Of course you don't want to be taking any OTA updates right now if you want to root, since the update would likely patch the root exploit, but in the future once root access is stabilized it may be possible to maintain root through an update using apps such as Voodoo OTA Rootkeeper. At that point the issue with uninstalled bloatware would come into play.

    Just a heads up!
     
    SNeitzel likes this.
  23. 18t

    18t Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    144
    27
    43
  24. Lucky Armpit

    Lucky Armpit Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    674
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    674
    352
    133
    IT Manager
    Rocky Mount, NC

    Yup, same thing for me. TiBu Pro says they are uninstalled but checking Apps in System Settings, they are still there. JCase says he's working on the SuperSU issue. I need to correct my post on xda.
     
  25. Einsteindks

    Einsteindks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010

    Nov 24, 2010
    157
    29
    43
    :-D. He da man! I can't imagine it being anything hugely significant. Take your time JCase!
     

Share This Page

Loading...