1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Droid Memory Issues

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by swimman2867, Jul 14, 2010.

  1. swimman2867

    swimman2867 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    24
    1
    16
    ATX
    Moto Droid user reporting in. I noticed that when looking under running applications, three were running. However, after I ATK'd my apps, the ATK widget said I had just killed 7 apps.

    Any explanations??
     

    Advertisement

  2. rmp152

    rmp152 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    33
    0
    15
    Kind of a side question...

    I used ATK when I had 1.5, but after upgrading to 2.1, each time I would click the widget, my data would cut and then reload after about a minute. It makes that notification noise when it's off, and then again when it's on. I like ATK, but I hate my data cutting in and out.
     
  3. swimman2867

    swimman2867 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    24
    1
    16
    ATX
    More specifically, I need help understanding how the Droid manages its memory. Am I wrong to assume that adding more apps drains RAM even if they are not running?
     
  4. JerryCrockford

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    8
    1
    6
    Having just come from the Symbian environment, I just LOVE Android on my Legend.

    I do miss being able to 'tidy up' after using an app by using the 'exit' option though.

    As I understand it (Newbie here), Android manages apps itself, turning off those that aren't being used.

    But today, about two hours after I used Sygic Navigator to get to an appointment, it started bleating in my pocket telling me I had "Arrived at my destination". (This, let me tell you, was VERY helpful during a client meeting).

    So, I guess the maps app had been running, burning battery the whole time.

    Is Advanced App Killer a good solution for this?

    Or would Android have eeeeeeventually shut the app down?

    Cheers,

    Jeremy
     
  5. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,853
    2,370
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago
    Android doesn't kill active apps, and it will only kills apps in the "background" (inactive) if it needs more memory for other apps.
     

Share This Page

Loading...