1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Droid not connecting to computer when debugging active

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by D13, May 28, 2010.

  1. D13

    D13 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,088
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,088
    234
    143
    Elkridge, Maryland
    I have been rooted since February and up until i bought a new laptop everything has worked great when running adb commands. But one day, after I bought a new laptop, it would not recognize that my droid was connected. So I did some research and one solution I saw was to disable debugging, I did and that and it worked. But now I cannot run any adb commands(error: device not found). I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling the usb drivers but still that didn't fix the problem. I was wondering if anyone had any ideas on how to fix this problem.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Papadroid

    Papadroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,139
    281
    183
    Tampa, FL
  3. D13

    D13 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,088
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,088
    234
    143
    Elkridge, Maryland
    Installing right now.
     
  4. D13

    D13 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,088
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,088
    234
    143
    Elkridge, Maryland
    Right when I replied I got a message that said, unable to install because a newer version is available. I'm pretty sure I already have the newest version. I have version 4.6.0
     
  5. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,170
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    2,170
    516
    213
    Male
    Wireless Sales Manager
    Let us know. I DLed the drivers directly from the Motorola site and haven't had any issue.

    And while I doubt it's applicable, when I first flashed CM 5.0.7.1 I couldn't mount my sd card. No idea why. Another one of those issues that worked itself out after a lil while.
     
  6. D13

    D13 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,088
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,088
    234
    143
    Elkridge, Maryland
    yeah i also downloaded the drivers directly from motorola. Right now im running nexbeast v1.1. But had the same issue with cyanogenmod 5.0.7.1 and bb v1.1
     
  7. htowngtr

    htowngtr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009

    Oct 21, 2009
    168
    1
    36
    Since running BB 1.0/1.1 I have had this issue. If debugging is on, the SD card will not mount.
     
  8. StingRay

    StingRay Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    161
    18
    38
    Dallas
    My debugging and mounting appear to be okay...I'm unable to start up ADB/SDK tools in order to perform any adb commands with my PC....

    Now I'm getting a message saying "adb server is out of date. killing...."

    any time I try now it says device not found....

    I updated my SDK Tools, my Motorola drivers are up to date...the only thing left to do is to switch to another ROM to see if it is unique to CM 5.0.7.1, as I did not have a problem until updated to that...
     
  9. D13

    D13 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,088
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,088
    234
    143
    Elkridge, Maryland
    Yeah i am not even able to mount my sdcard let alone run adb without debugging turned off.
     
  10. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
     #64
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,335
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,335
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    This has baffled me forever. My phone is fine...my wife's phone has to have debugging turned off to connect. Same computer...same ROM...doesn't matter. I just tell her that her phone is difficult just like her! :p
     

Share This Page

Loading...