1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Droid RAZR painfully slow and unresponsive

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cEElint, Jan 3, 2015.

  1. cEElint

    cEElint Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010

    Nov 1, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    661 Bako
    My RAZR has been extremely slow the past year, unusable at times. I am constantly running CleanMaster to free up RAM usage. Is there a fix for this? Would rooting device solve my problems? I've looked around online how to root this phone but didnt really see anything specific, maybe I overlooked it or something. Can someone point in the right direction? Its the regular Droid RAZR xt912 running OTA 4.1.2
     

    Advertisement

  2. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Welcome to Android Forums.

    Did you Wipe Cache Partition? Almost all performance problems are due to a fragmented cache partition. (I do this on my Droid Turbo every Saturday.)

    If you want to investigate root0ing ... visit the All Things Root sub0forum of this forum. That's where you'll find the most information.

    ... Thom
     
  3. cEElint

    cEElint Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010

    Nov 1, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    661 Bako
    yea, I've cleared cache... only speeds it up for a short period then its back to being slow again. Sometimes when receiving a call I swipe to answer and it just freezes and I miss the call. Very, very irritating. Every couple hours my RAM reaches 85-90% usage and only gets as low as 45% after clearing everything.
     
  4. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    The next step would be to run in Safe Mode (disabling all apps you added without uninstalling them). If the problem stops it is caused by an app that you added.

    ... Thom
     
  5. cEElint

    cEElint Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010

    Nov 1, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    661 Bako
    Booted in safe mode and it disabled all third party apps... was very quick and snappy like day one. I've already went and cleaned out nearly all unused, undesired apps and its still a turd. When I run battery Dr it shows a lot of Android guy system files draining the battery
     
  6. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Are you using YouTube? The latest update seems to be a problem.

    ... Thom
     
  7. cEElint

    cEElint Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010

    Nov 1, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    661 Bako
    I do occasionally... this has been happening since an update was pushed to my phone. I was checking in my battery Dr app and it shows the android system killing my battery the most .. next is Facebook, then dolphin browser
     
  8. cEElint

    cEElint Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010

    Nov 1, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    661 Bako
    I should clarify a Verizon update that was pushed
     
  9. Cattress

    Cattress Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015

    Jan 9, 2015
    2
    0
    15
    Female
     
  10. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Welcome to Android Forums. What is your question/comment?

    ... Thom
     
  11. CharlieD

    CharlieD Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #213
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    163
    27
    63
    Male
    UNIX/Linux System Admin
    Greece, NY
    I've been having the same problem for a while. I have cleared cache. I even have an app caled App Cache Cleaner. After some googling I found this page from Morotola:"

    http://www.verizonwireless.com/support/knowledge-base-66428/

    It explains how to wipe and reformat the cache partition. The interesting this is it says that clearing the app or browser cache is not the same wiping and reformatting the cache. I just did this and we'll see how it works.

    Charlie
     
  12. cEElint

    cEElint Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010

    Nov 1, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    661 Bako
    I wipe and format my cache at least once a week.. only helps momentarily
     
  13. cEElint

    cEElint Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010

    Nov 1, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    661 Bako
    Battery Dr says Android system is draining my battery the fastest. So, I'd assume its what is slowing my phone down the most. Still looking for a fix.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Cattress

    Cattress Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015

    Jan 9, 2015
    2
    0
    15
    Female
    I am having the same problem. It lags a lot, although sometimes it works just fine. I loaded Gsam battery monitor and sometimes it lags in notifying me of the battery level and will suddenly show a huge drop. I think there are some kernel wakelocks that prevent the phone from sleeping and use excessive battery, but I don't know which ones are normal, so I don't want to try to disable anything. I did a cache partition wipe but no difference. I was wondering about formatting the cache partition.
    Sometimes when my phone is really struggling, and won't respond to touching the screen, or the keys at the bottom, the back light for the keys will blink slowly. I'm not sure if blink is the right way to describe it, but basically the back light turns off and back on for a few moments at a time. I have checked to see which apps are running, if possible, and the ram is around 90% in use, and will fluctuate a little, showing different apps running and then disappearing from the list. I was wondering if anyone else has seen this happen or knows what is going on.
     
  15. vpelton

    vpelton Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    86
    3
    26
    How do you "Wipe Cache Partition"? I know how to clear cache for an individual app (menu; system settings; apps; <choose app>; clear cache), but how do you do it for all apps at once?

    Verizon, Android 4.1.2
     
  16. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    From Verizon website ...

    [​IMG] Performing a wipe cache partition removes any temporary files that may be causing an issue with the device. All personal files and settings are not affected by this option.
    1. Power the device off.
    2. Press and hold the Volume Up and Down button then press the Power button.
    3. When presented with the Boot Mode Selection Menu, release all buttons.
    4. Press Volume Down button to select 'Recovery' then press the Volume Up button.
    5. From the Droid triage screen:
      1. Press and hold the Volume down button.
      2. Press and release the Volume up button.
      3. Release the Volume down button.
    6. Select wipe cache partition then press the Power button.
      [​IMG] Use Volume keys to navigate options.
    7. Select reboot system now then press the Power button.
      [​IMG] Use Volume keys to navigate options.
    ... Thom
     
  17. vpelton

    vpelton Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    86
    3
    26
    Whoa! That was fantastic. I never would have figured that out on my own. Usually, when people tell me how to do something, there's always some step that's not clear. But this was very well presented. The only pause I had was with the "Droid triage screen". I expected three items but just saw Mr. Droid on his back with his compartment door open. But that seemed to be the proper screen.

    My cache is now clean & ready to go.
     
  18. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    I wipe the cache partition on my Droid Turbo ever Saturday.

    ... Thom
     

Share This Page

Loading...