1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Droid remembers my WAP but won't connect

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by abaum, Jan 8, 2010.

  1. abaum

    abaum Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Anyone having problems with Wifi? In my case, my Motorola Droid remembers my access point, but can't connect. I have to "forget" and add it back.

    adam
     

    Advertisement

  2. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    It happened to me just once ... I think it was right after the 2.0.1 update. Hasn't happened since.
     
  3. gentlefury

    gentlefury Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    252
    1
    36
    I've had an issue where I have to actually go into network settings and tell it to connect...but it never forgets the settings.
     
  4. magnus

    magnus Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    204
    1
    36
    I have that issue every now and then. It never forgets my home network....but doesn't connect. But then when I go into settings -> wireless and networks -> wifi settings....It immediately starts to connect without me actually having to select my home network.

    Oh well.....I can live with it
    :)
     
  5. dys07

    dys07 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    39
    0
    15
    happened to me all the time, wish i knew how to remedy the issue :/ ... i rarely use it now.
     
  6. justjosh

    justjosh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009

    Dec 4, 2009
    24
    8
    16
    Download the app "wifi buddy" its free and it like automatically connects you to access points and stuff it is pretty cool try it out.
     
  7. sethschaffner

    sethschaffner Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011

    Jan 7, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    My droid refuses to connect to a certain network, my house wifi.
    The droid remembers the network, tries to connect, fails, then starts over. It does this until I turn off the wifi. Does anyone know what could cause a specific network to be not be connectable?

    I have a droid HTC EVO 4G
    The router is a D-link DIR-615
    I created a name and security passcode for it.
    I tried restarting everything.
    Any info on which channels the droid prefers or what 802.11 setting to put the router on would be helpful.
     
  8. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Is the one it will not connect to a wireless N WAP? Droid cannot do N.
     
  9. allanlaw

    allanlaw Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    437
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    437
    31
    63
    Los Angeles, California
    Why yes, it would be . . . Droid is also not terribly fond of blocked SSID with WPA2.
     
  10. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    No, it is not lol.

    I had to downgrade my Wireless N router to do both N and G (and thus eliminate dual band approach on this particular router) b/c my DROID will not connect to the N at all.

    I'm worried that newer phones that support N still will not be able to use the 5 GH band, too....
     
  11. allanlaw

    allanlaw Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    437
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    437
    31
    63
    Los Angeles, California
    Is it possible to leave the radio going in the N router and bridge it via ethernet to a G router just for the Droid?
     
  12. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Hmmm, by bridge, I assume you mean to use a wired bridge? Sure. You can even disable DHCP on the G Router so that the DROID gets a G signal but gets the IP from the N router.

    I opted to make my router go dual band b/c the room I am in is where it is located- the G router I was going to place in another room farther away - and it was at night, and I had 2 hops to go through.

    In the end, the reception of the N router doing double time as N and G is sufficient enough in my bedroom and throughout the house that I didn't need to establish a second router.
     

Share This Page

Loading...