1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Droid touchscreen has gone bad

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ChrisTheDBA, Aug 29, 2011.

  1. ChrisTheDBA

    ChrisTheDBA Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    my droid touchscreen recently went totally unresponsive. Nothing has seemed to work. I've reset, pulled the battery, changed back to a stock rom(all using the slideout keyboard).

    I figure the hardware has gone bad, but where do I get a new phone? Ebay, Amazon? Verizon wants to charge me for a new phone and a new contract right now - if I wait until next year the upgrade will be free.

    I guess my ultimate question is, if I get a replacement how do I go about making that my new phone? Is there a SIM card that gets transferred or what?

    Also, what should I look for? I have an A855(Droid), but it would be nice to get something newer.
     

    Advertisement

  2. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #52
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,443
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,443
    1,942
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    As far a stransferring data, well, if you're storing your contacts to your Google Contacts, then they transfer when you sign in to a new Android device. Same with email, of course. Other settings will also transfer as well.

    3rd party apps (well, the data associated with those apps) - you'll have to check with the app devs to see how to transfer that stuff.

    All apps that you purchase and / or download through the market under your current Google account will remain in your history until you uninstall them via market, so you'll be able to download them again, on a new android device.

    I would say get Titanium Backup, but since your touchscreen is not working, well, you're kind of out of luck, unless you can find a tutorial on how to use TiBu even without a touchscreen to backup your app data.
     
  3. ChrisTheDBA

    ChrisTheDBA Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Thanks for info. I was really wondering if I get a new(used) phone what is the process for getting the phone number(verizon setup) on the new phone?
     
  4. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #52
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,443
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,443
    1,942
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Oh, that is simple - call them and they'll tell you what you need to do. Or, you can do it yourself - *228 I think does the trick.
     

Share This Page

Loading...