1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Droid without Text Messaging

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Diamond00Eyes, Feb 2, 2010.

  1. Diamond00Eyes

    Diamond00Eyes Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    :rolleyes:Hello,

    So I am wanting to buy the Motorola Droid but looking to get ride of the messaging option such as text messaging. I mean I will have access to e-mail so do I really need text messaging? Trying to save some money and I really only get maybe 50 texts a month.

    Anyone else have a Droid without the text option. Just Nationwide Talk?

    Also another question: Anyone buy a Droid through Bestbuy? Looking to buy Droid through Bestbuy cause hubby wants the Blackberry 8530 Curve? and you can get it free when you buy the Droid. Otherwise through Verizon you can get the Eris with a purchase of the Droid but hubby insists on the Blackberry, he's lets say not really into computers anyways.

    All comments and suggestions greatly appreciated - Thanks!
    :cool:
     

    Advertisement

  2. esocid

    esocid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    122
    4
    56
    Not worth mentioning
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Your inclusion of text messaging is purely preference. But the per message cost is 0.20, so if you average ~50 messages/month, that comes out to $5. So on one hand, if you don't even text in a month, it's a waste of $5 (lowest plan), on the other if you use >50, you save $. Just throwing that out there.

    I got mine through bestbuy. The guy in the mobile section opened the box, activated it, handed it to me, and that was that. No BS that you have to suffer through with VZW reps, granted their managers are forcing them to act like that. Also I've been hearing some people saying VZW either preinstalled some apps, or installed them before handing it over. All in all, I'm glad I went to BB over the VZW store.
     
  3. Arsonman

    Arsonman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    130
    6
    36
    You can also have text messaging blocked. I did that before I had the droid. I do believe it was free.
     
  4. radikal

    radikal Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    928
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    928
    10
    63
    yeah block text and use google voice, free text
     
  5. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    Or, you could just sign up for a Google Voice number, and use that to text over data, which you'll already be paying for.
     
  6. anjoga

    anjoga Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    101
    1
    36
    NY

    Check your math. 50 messages at $0.20 a message is $10 for that month (or 25 messages at $0.20 for $5). Verizon offers a plan of $5 a month for up to 250 messages. So, if you text (send AND receive) at least 25 messages or more each month, but not more than 250, it is definitely worth it to get the $5/250 text message plan. I average about 75 texts a month myself, and the $5 plan is definitely worth it for me.
     
  7. doomedromance

    doomedromance Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    664
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    664
    82
    78
    The Left Coast
    Agree with Fab. Just make sure you have the Google Voice setting so that it doesn't forward the text messages. You'll have to check it from the Google Voice app on the phone.
     
  8. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    521
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    521
    17
    83
    NW.Indiana U.S.A.
    I was offered a BB for free for Verizon store when I got my MD.
    I got the Eris without data package for a non computer person. It is basically a cellphone with a huge battery. I did add a few games thru the computer via my Droid.
    They did not want me to have it data free but they wanted to sell me the MD.
    Made the person I gave it to very happy with 5 hour talk time.
     
  9. esocid

    esocid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    122
    4
    56
    Not worth mentioning
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Wow, don't know where my head was when I did that :thinking:. Thanks for catching that.
     
  10. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande?
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,973
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    7,973
    3,603
    513
    Android App Developer
    NY
    Txt msgs r kewl
     
  11. JoeProcopio

    JoeProcopio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    288
    4
    56
    Video Engineer
    New Jersey
    How did you manage to get the Droid Eris without a data plan?
     
  12. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    521
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    521
    17
    83
    NW.Indiana U.S.A.
    They did not want to sell it to me without data. They tried to tell me it was needed to operate. Their store ad said buy a MD and get an Eris free with activation. Never said anything about data. They also offerd be a BB with the MD. It took awhile for them to agree that the Eris did not need data, and to sell me it that way.
    Anything I need for the Eris I get through the MD. All updates are still OTA.
    I thought I got a good deal until I found a better deal at a overstock (wink) web site.
     
  13. JoeProcopio

    JoeProcopio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    288
    4
    56
    Video Engineer
    New Jersey
    Damn...why didn't I think of that when I got my Droid.
     
  14. anjoga

    anjoga Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    101
    1
    36
    NY

    Wow, you are lucky to have gotten away with that. It is very specific in the contracts at verizon that smartphones must be activated with a data plan. I believe it is required so they can subsidize the cost of the phone. Granted, they are still making out like bandits when all is said and done, but it sounds like somebody at verizon screwed up in your favor.
     
  15. Afgroyalty

    Afgroyalty Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010

    Feb 27, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    If you but it off ebay then activate it without getting a deal from Verizon you dont need to get a data plan. Same with all smartphones, but you do have to pay it out full and you have to pay like 300$ but worth it in the long run i guess
     
  16. i VTAK

    i VTAK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    787
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    787
    73
    98
    Indiana,USA
    Even without the data plan that Eris should be able to access the internet and the Market through WiFi. It took a few days to activate my Hero when I got it, but I was surfing the web through my home WiFi.
     
  17. cookiemonster79

    cookiemonster79 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    80
    21
    18
    Actually I don't think Verizon will allow you to active it w/o a data plan, search around on the forum a bit if I recall there have been many posts on the same topic.
     

Share This Page

Loading...