1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Droid won't update to FRG83G

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Namrepus221, Apr 23, 2011.

  1. Namrepus221

    Namrepus221 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    38
    0
    15
    OK My brother's droid keeps getting the update notification for 2.2.2. But it wont' let him update. It get the file, reboots, then gets to a screen with the Triangle with the Exclaimation point in it and just hangs there, doesn't do anything.

    He is rooted. He did flash clockword recovery at one time to try a custom rom but went back to stock root because he didn't like it. When I tried going into recovery, it went into the stock recovery and not clockwork.

    Please help. He wants this thing to stop asking him to update 4 or 5 times a day.

    We've tried downloading the update files from Peter Alfonso's page, but the files wont' work in the "standard" recovery that keeps coming up. It says there's a file mismatch and then says it can't update it. We haven't tried flashing clockwork again to use it to try and flash the update.
     

    Advertisement

  2. thruapole

    thruapole Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    4
    0
    5
  3. Namrepus221

    Namrepus221 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    38
    0
    15
    Heacctually wants the update because he's experienced the problems that it fixes and doesn't want it happening anymore
     
  4. skilaufen

    skilaufen Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    570
    88
    78
    Something
    Somewhere
    Did you delete any of the pre-installed apps you don't use or uninstall any system apps when your rooted? Also what stock ROM did you flash back to and how did you flash it?

    It could be something you changed when rooted. The other way is like you mentioned, flash clockwork recovery then from recovery, make a backup, then flash pete's odexed 2.2.2 stock rom (not the sbf file unless your using rsd) after making sure you still have clockwork recovery installed (if it flashed back to stock recovery reflash clockwork recovery).

    Let us know how it goes and we will get ya the help you need.:)
     
  5. Namrepus221

    Namrepus221 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    38
    0
    15
    No he didn't delete any "system" apps.

    He backed up a copy of 2.2.1 with clockwork and then flashed to Cyanogenmod 6. DIdn't like it, and then flashed to the backup he made of 2.2.1.

    I tried to flash the deoxed version of peter's 2.2.2 rom using the recovery console (not clockwork. For some reason clockwork likes to "disappear" after being flashed. He's out of town now so we'll have to reflash it when it comes back) I'll have him reflash clockwork then try the rom from peter's.

    But will he lose everything he has flashing this?
     
  6. skilaufen

    skilaufen Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    570
    88
    78
    Something
    Somewhere
    Firstly, the reason you keep losing your clockwork recovery is that the stock version of the Droid 1's ROM has a feature that will reflash the stock kernel everytime you reboot. When you reboot the stock version checks your recovery and if it is different than the stock it reflashes the stock recovery. The only way to fix this is to install a custom ROM or meddle with your stock recovery reboot files (not recommended unless you know what your doing).

    Secondly, the stock recovery will not flash any unsigned or improperly signed ROMs (ie: nothing not from Verizon) which is why you need to have clockwork flashed.

    Thirdly, if you flash a new ROM you should be wiping data and cache before each time you flash a new type of ROM. If you installed a back up I would say wipe your data and cache. If you don't wipe the data and cache in between CM and the stock ROM then you may develop problems. If your going from Stock 2.2.1 to stock 2.2.2 then you should not have to wipe data/cache and your friend will not lose anything. When you wipe data/cache it is like a factory reset and you have to redownload all of your apps and such.

    Finally, based on what you want and the problem you are having I would:

    - Download the stock ROM you want to flash to your sd card,
    - Flash clockwork recovery,
    - Since you say you have a working backup I would flash your stock ROM from your recovery mode (not from ROM Manager) and see if it loads.
    - Once it loads it will probably replace your clockwork recovery, but it shouldn't matter at this point.

    * If it doesn't load you should still have clockwork recovery and then you can reflash your backup.

    If your still having problems, do the above steps again but wipe your data/cache before flashing as another alternative. Let us know how it goes.
     
  7. Namrepus221

    Namrepus221 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    38
    0
    15
    1. He wiped when he went back to the stock back up. He used CM6 for literally 60 seconds, then discovered they didn't come with the gapps automatically installed, and flashed the backup of his stock. Stupid I know, but he did everything atlike 1 am and needed his phone for work in the morning @ 6.

    2. When he get's home I'll reflash the device for him using one of peter's downloads.

    3. Why, when my phone got the ota, did it let it do it without a problem? Why is his hanging at the triangle like it is?
     
  8. Tugdaturtle

    Tugdaturtle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    166
    13
    38
    Well Suggest going to this link here and revert back to stock 2.2 rom and then let it update to the latest rom then re root it .

    When you click the link look for
    How to revert back to Stock 2.0, 2.0.1, 2.1, or 2.2
    and it should explain how to go back to normal stock rom.

    I know its a pain but it would save you loads of time and its a quick easy fix .

    Hope this helped you

    Tugdaturtle
     
  9. Namrepus221

    Namrepus221 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    38
    0
    15
    Will flashing it back to an older non rooted rom make it lose data and apps?

    Last thing I wanna do is totally bork his phone beyond repair.
     
  10. skilaufen

    skilaufen Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    570
    88
    78
    Something
    Somewhere
    Yes, because to be safe you would want to wipe data/cache in my opinion. As for borking his phone as long as you don't screw up the bootloader and you can get to recovery you can always use RSD to flash an sbf file if it is the stock recovery or if you have clockwork mod then you can flash a ROM or back up to get it fixed.

    Bricking a phone requires one to mess the bootloader up so that you can't get it to boot.

    Another site to check is also Motorola A855 Droid Info

    It has guides to walk you through restoring to stock (It is Teddyearp's site)
     

Share This Page

Loading...