1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Droid X 2.2 wifi

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mald, Oct 19, 2010.

  1. mald

    mald Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010

    Oct 19, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    My new Droid X does not pick up wifi at home. I see this is a known issue:
    https://supportforums.motorola.com/thread/38876

    I really like this phone, but no wifi is killing me. Is there a fix available? I still have a couple weeks of my 30 day 'trial' with Verizon. This will be my 4th phone if I trade it in...
     

    Advertisement

  2. wad7719

    wad7719 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    38
    9
    16
    My wifi after 2.2 was working for about 10 minutes then when connect and disconnect over and over. It also does the same anywhere else I go. 3G is an ok solution while out and about, but not at home.

    What I found worked at home, temporally until the update comes out, is switching my router form n to g. This slows down the router (still faster then 3G) but works for me since I have nothing else using the router. Once I made this switch to the router it hasn't dropped once.
     
  3. mald

    mald Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010

    Oct 19, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    That is my exact problem. I don't think trading this phone in for another one will work. So I either trade for an HTC Incredible or go back to ATT with my iPhone.
     
  4. Riverman

    Riverman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    101
    17
    38
    I finally bought a new router after having all sorts of issues with my Netgear N router. I bought a Buffalo N router after reading a bunch of Droid X forum posts, and it's worked perfectly. It was only about $50 at Newegg.
     
  5. wxman2003

    wxman2003 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    411
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    411
    43
    43
    This problem sounds almost identical to the problem the ipad was having with wifi when it first came. Luckily a patch solved the problem.
     
  6. SgtBaxter

    SgtBaxter Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    189
    15
    38
    This is a problem with all kinds of devices and wireless N, not just the Droid X. The problem is companies were putting out N devices before the N specification was fully realized, and many of them simply just don't work together. It's why you see so many people have a problem, and then just as many who don't - it's a total crapshoot.

    If all anyone is doing is wireless internet with devices like the droid and ipods, then a G router will probably work best, as wireless G is faster than 99% of home internet connections anyway. The only real advantage N has is speed if you're transferring large files between devices, and better range.
     
  7. quickaudi

    quickaudi Android Expert
    Rank:
     #100
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    3,099
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    3,099
    415
    273
    TN
    does it on my G only wireless router at home, too

    annoying
     
  8. mald

    mald Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010

    Oct 19, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    I should not have to buy a new router to match my phone. Motorola knows about this problem and needs to fix it. I am using an old DLink wireless access point at home and only have a problem with my Droid X.
     
  9. quickaudi

    quickaudi Android Expert
    Rank:
     #100
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    3,099
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    3,099
    415
    273
    TN
    well, I believe their 3G radio also bounces from 3G to 1x (does on mine), so they messed something up in the Froyo stuff
     
  10. Napalm

    Napalm Android Expert
    Rank:
     #186
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    948
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    948
    100
    123
    Aircraft Engineer
    Memphis, TN
    Well contrast. My 3g and 1x issues I don't think are froyo related as it's more or less just like it was when I got the phone. My house/neighborhood is between 2 main cells for VZ and AT&T (I get similar issues with my crackberry)

    Wifi though, When on I get solid 54mbs connection with good and excellent ratings. At home works great. However I have a Trendnet Wireless N router that I bought this spring, I get N on my Xbox and on a friends laptop. No N on DX. That is part of my pet peeve.

    No signal strength varies a lot, but connection is still fairly solid.
     
  11. Riverman

    Riverman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    101
    17
    38
    Very true. My old router was a draft-N and the new one meets the final specifications, which may have something to do with it. My X works great with the cheap Belkin G router at my parents' house. My last phone, a MyTouch 3G, had very similar issues, so I wonder how good Android's implementation of wi-fi is, and if it's not entirely Motorola's fault.
     
  12. tshooter22

    tshooter22 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Had a similar issue (WiFi would connect .. but no pages would load on Droid X) this was while using an older Netgear 802.11b router. I downloaded an update for the router from Netgear.com. Problem solved. Hope this helps..
     
  13. sund0wn

    sund0wn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    775
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    775
    175
    93
    I work in an office. It has a window, but it isn't
    In a house, near some mountains.
    i was having the problem on my new linksys too, and i loaded up dd-wrt to manage my mobile phone network, and it worked like a charm.
     
  14. tshooter22

    tshooter22 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Contact your router manufacturers website to see if you have the latest version of router software installed. I had a WiFi connection but no pages would load while using an older Netgear 802.11b router. Downloaded and installed the most recent version of router software from Netgear.com and once applied the problem was solved and browsing is now working fine. Be careful and read all instructions for installing any new software. I wrote down all the current visible router settings just in case. As it turned out the software updated nicely and I did not have to adjust any other settings after the update installed. It is easy to focus on the new device (Droid X) when a problem arises but you need to understand that there are other devices involved when connecting via WiFi. Compatibility issue and out dated software on the router in my case. GOOD LUCK!!
     
  15. tshooter22

    tshooter22 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Updating my routers software to the latest version solved my problem. I have an older Netgear router using 802.11b. Check your router manufacturers website to see if any software updates are available.
     
  16. Martimus

    Martimus One bite at a time...
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    19,535
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    19,535
    4,045
    843
    Male
    Engineer
    'neath a cactus
    The WiFi seems to be limited to specfic equipment and circumstances. I know several people, including myself, whose DX's work just fine with WiFi. Mine regularly connects to Cisco AP's at home, at my office, and previously connected to my old Linksys AP's too. Encryption at home is WPA2/AES and at work is through the offices Radius server.
     
  17. mald

    mald Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010

    Oct 19, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    My laptop connects perfectly, just as my iPhone did. No changes in hardware or software since. The phone (Droid X) is the problem. I am going to try and swap it today.
     
  18. Riverman

    Riverman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    101
    17
    38
    Your phone may be the problem, but chances are it's a problem with either Motorola's or Android's implementation of wi-fi and not something that's going to be fixed with another X.
     
  19. SgtBaxter

    SgtBaxter Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    189
    15
    38
    By contrast at home I run several G routers with DD-WRT in WDS. The iPod and iPhones have fits if you're in certain parts of the house because they don't know which router to connect to. Have to connect in the living room nearest the primary router, otherwise they drop connections like mad. My droid however connects fine anywhere in the house.
     
  20. quickaudi

    quickaudi Android Expert
    Rank:
     #100
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    3,099
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    3,099
    415
    273
    TN
    it's going to depend on the radio strength for wifi as well

    my laptop has zero issues in my house, but the X is hit/miss in some rooms.
     
  21. mald

    mald Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010

    Oct 19, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    After a trip to the Verizon store yesterday, I came back with the same X. The 'tech' person wanted to do a hard reset because the wifi was working when I was in the store. I contacted Verizon last night and finally got it figures out. I need to turn the wifi off, then on again to connect. I find this unacceptable. There are two other people in my office with the same phone. Neither of them has this problem.
     
  22. Napalm

    Napalm Android Expert
    Rank:
     #186
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    948
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    948
    100
    123
    Aircraft Engineer
    Memphis, TN
    So is anyone getting N speeds out of the device yet? Again My only pet peeve.

    I don't get N out of it, now I am looking for updated firmware on my router. But I get really solid G connections at home and almost anywhere I go.

    Again not a connection problem in any way. but I never get N speeds out of it.

    I was hoping someone would say they get N out of it, and maybe even have a speed test to show it. Granted I don't have that fast an internet connection at the house, I would like to get all I can for file transfers.

    Again more pet peeve than real issue, my wifi works great
     
  23. travishamockery

    travishamockery Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    171
    20
    38
    I have no problem running N with my router. I have a Linksys WRT600N. It only locks to a maximum of 65mb/s but I'm cool with that. I am running DD-WRT rather than the stock Linksys firmware, so not sure if that helps it work or not, but it does.
     
  24. jasadell

    jasadell Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010

    Dec 9, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    DX. Not rooted. FortiWiFi, WPA2 set to G only. Worked really well before the 2.2.1 update. Now it stays "connected" but passing traffic is intermittent. 7 other wifi clients with zero issues. This is a software problem, not a hardware problem (since it worked well before)
     
  25. lachambers1a

    lachambers1a Member
    Rank:
     #1,321
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    32
    1
    16
    I'm having the same issue with my X and my Wifi. I'm using a D-Link DIR 615 and it was working great. All of a sudden it connects but will not show any pages. I have to use 3G only now. Everything else like my laptop and HTC Incredible work fine. What should I try first.
    Thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...