1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Droid X/2 Overclock App - Easy & Noob friendly ;)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jrummy16, Oct 22, 2010.

  1. jrummy16

    jrummy16 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    53
    104
    48
    Well, I got my Droid X 3 days ago and have worked non stop (besides normal work + school :-/ ), and I am happy to bring you Droid X/2 Overclock.


    Droid-Life Article

    Currently you can Choose to set your frequencies at boot and in real time. It's just as good as an instant kernel installer to get your custom frequency and voltage whenever you want, instantly.

    Check it out on the market or GET IT HERE

    This is just the beginning, more customization to come as an advanced option and more extras are in the works ;)


    [​IMG] [​IMG][​IMG]
     

    Advertisement

    lafter, Candroid, colchiro and 3 others like this.
  2. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,959
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,959
    25,351
    3,933
    Male
    It works GREAT! Here's the QR:


    [​IMG]
     
  3. sleepsafe

    sleepsafe Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    96
    14
    18
    This one seems to work better for me than the other OC app.
     
  4. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,959
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,959
    25,351
    3,933
    Male
    Seems to work great. I have it set for the highest one on medium voltage. Can you tell me: is this a true reading? Am I actually overclocked at 1450 when it says I am (confirmed by SetCPU) or is that like a maximum-type number?

    Also, what is the voltage number for "medium"?
     
  5. SacNutz

    SacNutz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    81
    6
    16
    Bought it and used it once. I really like the app.

    One problem though, after that first use I made sure my phone was stable. I went to the app drawer and looked for it but I couldn't find it. So I went to the market to open it there and when I clicked it, a message popped up "the requested item could not be found." So is this happening with everyone or does my life just suck?

    EDIT: Nevermind it seems to be working now. Thanks for your hard work!
     
  6. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    You can view your current setscaling by typing the following in terminal emulator:

    cat /proc/overclock/mpu_opps

    Are you using gscript?
     
  7. soapinmouth

    soapinmouth Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    321
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    321
    56
    53
    Meh I like the other one better it has custom presets so I can fine tune each setting and switch.between em on the fly
     
  8. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    i bought the app but when i go to edit or change anything i get a prompt saying...error;failed to install overclocking components to email the dev?
     
  9. mikeg2716

    mikeg2716 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    11
    1
    16
    Southern California
    "failed to install overclocking componets""contact the developer for help"
    ??????
     
  10. Android Al

    Android Al Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    30
    6
    16
    Seattle, WA
    Yeah, same thing here, must be a bug in version 1.0.2
     
  11. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    do u guys think its something with the settings for overcloking in fabs 1.0?maybe turn his off?
     
  12. SacNutz

    SacNutz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    81
    6
    16
    I'm running fab's ROM. I did the overclock -off script and this app runs fine. I was actually getting mass reboots with the rom settings, but with this app I can run much higher speeds with no problems.
     
  13. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    i tried turning off the auto settings from apex 1.0 and it still dont work!
     
  14. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    i am also wondering if the apps running numbers are true to form......if your phone csnt run lets say 1.3 when u change the overclock settings manually or via zip or what have u how would it achieve that through an app?
     
  15. saps

    saps Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    5,092
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    5,092
    504
    233
    Top Secret
    WA
    Steven do you have any benchmarking programs/apps. Dont use quadrant as that will not scale accurately. But Linpack, SpeedPi, Benchmark Pi, CPUBenchmark or even the Benches within SetCPU's Info tab will give you a good sense if you in fact have gained 45% clockspeed
     
  16. jr1125

    jr1125 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    308
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    308
    8
    36
    How do you read the results? Just look like numbers lol
     
  17. Growler48

    Growler48 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    164
    6
    36
    Maryland
  18. SimsDelt

    SimsDelt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,067
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    1,067
    246
    143
    Project Manager - SAS Construction
    Bremen, Georgia
    So I can't use this app because it gives me "cannot install overclock files" or whatever that error is? Anyone know why? Is it because I'm currently running overclocked at 1.35ghz? I renamed all the files to .bak and it still gives me the error.
     
  19. Growler48

    Growler48 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    164
    6
    36
    Maryland
    I'm getting the same thing on mine and I'm not running a custom ROM, just a theme. I sent an email to the developer to see what he says.
     
  20. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    head to the market and install dx/d2 overclock app ...it is working great for me and actually works ....no offense to the dev but i cant use if it dont work!
     
  21. saps

    saps Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    5,092
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    5,092
    504
    233
    Top Secret
    WA
    Well you have to take preliminary numbers off the 1Ghz scores. So test it with 1Ghz and then re test with 1.45Ghz or whatever you end up at. There should be a relative proportional increase
     
  22. sic0048

    sic0048 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    545
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Jun 22, 2010
    545
    52
    78
    The qr doesn't work for me. It says pname:com.jrummy.droidx.overclock not found. I also didn't see it when searching for "overclock" in the store. Has it been removed?
     
  23. sleepsafe

    sleepsafe Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    96
    14
    18
    Bought it on Appbrain this afternoon. Search Droid X/2 Overclock. Or try here.

    [​IMG]
     
  24. 92slammer

    92slammer Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    135
    9
    36
    middle GA
    installed the droid x/2 overclock app but i get the "error failed to install overclocking components...contact the developer" if uninstalled it and reinstalled it 3 times and get the same message...even rebooted...any ideas
     
  25. bostoniansurvivor

    bostoniansurvivor Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010

    Mar 15, 2010
    164
    43
    63
    Does anyone have a benchmark with this overclock?
     

Share This Page

Loading...