1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Droid X as wi-fi device only?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mlc9, May 22, 2012.

  1. mlc9

    mlc9 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 22, 2012

    May 22, 2012
    1
    1
    6
    I have a Droid X with stock OS that has been reset to factory default. The phone has no Verizon service on it and does not have a line tied to it.

    I wish to use it as a wifi device only to surf internet and download Android Apps. Is this possible? If so, how do I get past the the activation process? Since it has been brought back to factory defaults, is forces me to make an activation call to Verizon. Thanks
     

    Advertisement

    kokomelala likes this.
  2. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
  3. timelord65

    timelord65 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011

    Nov 24, 2011
    396
    41
    43
    Yes once you get passed the activation part, which can be done rather easily. You can use the phone on wifi only. You just can't send text or call through Verizon's carrier or data service.
     
  4. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    You can go into the settings and turn off 3g to save a little battery.
     
    DaveBlu and Thom like this.
  5. DaveBlu

    DaveBlu Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012

    Jul 16, 2012
    11
    0
    15
    Male
    Software Engineer
    Michigan, USA
    I've done this. Upgraded to a SG3 a few weeks ago and use it to listen to podcasts a lot, but don't want to bring it to the gym and one lightbulb later, my DX is now my dedicated podcast/music player for the gym. Used to bring my tiny Sansa clip to work out instead, but w/o wireless capacities, it's not nearly as convenient to load my podcasts (d/l to PC, move via USB), where w/my wifi-only DX, I can just sync all my podcasts as they become available w/o dealing w/my PC at all. And dropping my DX on the treadmill won't be nearly as tragic as if I dropped my shiny new SG3 (though it'll still be sad). Oh, and I just keep it in airplane mode when not actively synching over wifi to save battery life. I guess just turning off 3G would accomplish the same thing and would save a button click.
     
  6. Doit2it

    Doit2it Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,962
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009

    Oct 23, 2009
    1,962
    467
    183
    Male
    FedEx... yea, those guys
    Nashville, TN
    You can also turn off the cell radio on the DX. I'm not sure if it searches for service when there is no account, but I might save some battery life. This also shuts down 3G on the DX.

    How to turn of the DX radio
     
  7. yensed

    yensed Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012

    Aug 3, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Once I upgrade to a GS3, I was thinking about keeping the DX around as a stand-alone GPS for My Tracks.
     
  8. Doit2it

    Doit2it Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,962
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009

    Oct 23, 2009
    1,962
    467
    183
    Male
    FedEx... yea, those guys
    Nashville, TN
    That should work fine, but I've used my SIII for My Tracks the last two weekends and it works GREAT. Battery consumption is minimal to moderate. MUCH better than the Droid X was. Of course if you aren't relying on the DX for phone calls, it's perfect, but to keep from carrying two devices, try the SIII. After the 4 hour hike the SIII was in the low 80%s on battery!

    Lock 4 Hike - Google Maps
    Bakers Grove Hike - Google Maps
     
  9. lateralus73

    lateralus73 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012

    Mar 14, 2012
    16
    5
    16
    Thonotosassa, FL
    I can't even get the Wi-Fi to work on my DX. I'm literally almost on top of my router and I'm getting one bar...
     
  10. Doit2it

    Doit2it Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,962
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009

    Oct 23, 2009
    1,962
    467
    183
    Male
    FedEx... yea, those guys
    Nashville, TN
    Are you running an ICS ROM? I had trouble with most of them and WiFi on the DX.
    Also, You can change the strength of your signal with most routers. But if you have no issues with any other devices , that probably won't help.
     
    lateralus73 likes this.
  11. lateralus73

    lateralus73 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012

    Mar 14, 2012
    16
    5
    16
    Thonotosassa, FL
    I am running CM9 on it right now, but I was on stock, then did the Milestone SBF thing for root. Never once has the wifi worked very well at all. All my other devices run perfectly with full signal. I am guessing it is the hardware. I only suffer because this is the phone my job gave me until they upgrade this to an iPhone, but it still sucks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...