1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Droid X being replaced with X2

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cvfd13, Aug 7, 2011.

  1. cvfd13

    cvfd13 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    111
    23
    38
    Exotic Dancer
    State of Confusion
    I have had my Droid X replaced a couple of times due to it having issues. My current X loses data connectivity from time to time and also does not allow me to place outgoing calls or send texts without reseting the phone. My home button has also quit working. I went by Verizon today to see about gettting a replacement and was told they no longer have the Droid X for replacement, and I will be getting the X2. I will be getting the X2 on Tuesday.

    If anyone is needing a replacement and wanting to get the original Droid X, you better hurray and hope your local store has one in stock.
     

    Advertisement

  2. quickaudi

    quickaudi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    3,100
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    3,100
    415
    273
    TN
    Hmmm, had to replace mine the other day and got an original X sent to me next day.
     
  3. cvfd13

    cvfd13 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    111
    23
    38
    Exotic Dancer
    State of Confusion
    I was told today they are now using the X2. They said it will be a refurb, but will be a complete kit, as they called it, meaning I will get the battery and back door.
     
  4. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    this is what i'm afraid of. I will probably get mine replaced before my upgrade time because i'm getting burn in spots on the screen and my physical buttons are starting to act ******ed....i don't want a friggin DX2.....If they tell me there are no more DX's i may complain and try to get an Inc2. I need a new world phone anyways.
     
  5. cvfd13

    cvfd13 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    111
    23
    38
    Exotic Dancer
    State of Confusion
    I tried to get something different. I tried in the store first, and they said they would not give me something by another manufacturer, but I could call the 800 number. I called 611 and they said I could only get the X2. I am taking the X2, and when the HTC Vigor is released, I will use the VZW trade in program or Ebay and get rid of the X2.

    I may even try to go through a couple of X2s before then if I can ;)
     
  6. mike145

    mike145 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I was having trouble with my DX1 constantly rebooting. Tried everything, removed all market apps and factory reset. When I called tech support they said they were out of stock on the DX1, so they are sending me a DX2. I am up for my upgrade and they first tried to get me to upgrade. But I told them I was waiting for the Bionic. They said it's still under warranty so they're sending the X2 in its place, should be here Monday.
     
    MetalWych likes this.
  7. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    It's a faster phone but unfortunately, the dev community for it is absolutely dead, and I suspect it will remain dead with newer phones on the horizon.

    That said, if you don't care about the dev community, you'll probably love it - and if you do care, you could always swap it for a DX1 + cash.
     
  8. erisftw15

    erisftw15 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    48
    0
    15
    im having problems with my X and i asked if i would get the X2 if i got a replacement and he said only if the store doesnt have the X in stock
     
  9. chmodx

    chmodx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    567
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010

    Dec 31, 2010
    567
    25
    68
    I have yet to find a store in my area that has any replacement phones on hand. Even walking in with Droid 2, Fascinate, and X, they all ordered them in their system and shipped to me.

    I'd take the X2 over the X, it's a better screen with slight improvements over the X. I have until January for mine to die.
     
  10. nj02vette

    nj02vette Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,346
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    2,346
    2,034
    313
    Male
    Marlton, NJ
    So you want to intentionally commit warranty or insurance fraud :eek:

    People who abuse the system are why others have to pay so much.
     
  11. cvfd13

    cvfd13 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    111
    23
    38
    Exotic Dancer
    State of Confusion
    I must be reading a different post than you. No where in my post did I say anything about committing any type of fraud.

    I have had the X2 less than one week, and it can barely go more than 10 hours before it needs to be charged. My last X that I had could go two days between charges. If the X2 has problems, I will get it replaced and not put up with the problems as long as I did with the previous Xs I owned.
     
  12. MetalWych

    MetalWych Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    I am having the same problems. I called Verizon and they are sending me a replacement. I didn't even know they were replacing the DXs with DX2s until i just read this. I wouldn't mind a DX2, its faster and has a "better" screen (i put the quotes because I have heard negative reviews on the qHD screen). Whatever I get, I hope it isnt abused too badly.
     
  13. MetalWych

    MetalWych Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    I just got off the phone with Verizon. My DX is constantly rebooting (as many as 40 times a day). Until I looked here, I didn't even know they might give DX2s as a replacement for my DX. The rep didnt say anything about it, so i doubt i will get anything other than a DX, which I am fine with since that was what i was calling for. Now, mind you, if they send me a DX2, i wont argue...
     
  14. brute347

    brute347 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    216
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011

    Jan 7, 2011
    216
    8
    36
    Why do people not want a dx2???????????

    I might need to have mine replaced that's why I ask
     
  15. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    I believe the qHD Motorola screen is a pentile screen, which means it has somewhat fewer pixels than a traditional LCD. There's actually a lot of information here:

    PenTile Blog

    The pixelation of pentile displays really bothers me - enough so that I was not enamored of the Galaxy S lines of phones when they came out despite everyone raving about the screens.

    It doesn't bother everyone, though, several people I know have the X2 and are very happy.
     
  16. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,297
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,297
    23,684
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
  17. bigbadwulff

    bigbadwulff Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,442
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    2,442
    200
    143
    My buddy got his X replaced with an X2. Wanted me to set it up for him(just launcher and such). While using it I noticed it was faster than my X, especially pulling up weather radar from the same app.
    Had Gingerbread on it and I thought it was nice, even the notification bar ;)
     
  18. moynihan1129

    moynihan1129 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    33
    0
    15
    Odd that everyone is getting DX2's. I submitted a claim this morning (warranty) for a replacement due to radio issues. This will be my 4th DX
    1) Dead pixels
    2) Headphone plug came out
    3) Bad Radio

    They did promise me they do have DX's in stock so I don't understand how everyone is saying they are getting different phones.
     
  19. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    Warehouse inventories are a mysterious thing ;)

    Seriously, warehousing and supply chain has to be one of the most convoluted processes in any business. All of the forecasting, cost centers, inventory locations, etc. is all crazy.

    I'm sure what's happening is some areas of the country/some cost centers have X inventory, and some don't, so some people will get an X2 and some people will have no trouble getting a replacement X.
     
  20. moynihan1129

    moynihan1129 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    33
    0
    15
    I can attest to this. I am the supply chain manager of a pharmaceutical company. Though I must say I know my inventory levels, productions, etc, it is a very convoluted process.
     
  21. mike145

    mike145 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    The DX2 came today, It was new in the box with everything not a refurb.
     
  22. quickaudi

    quickaudi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    3,100
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    3,100
    415
    273
    TN
    not so, in my case. they didn't have any in stock but overnighted me a replacement X.
     
  23. MetalWych

    MetalWych Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    I got my replacement for my DX today, and have already sent it back. They sent me an OG Droid. No thanks! When i called the rep said they are out of DXs. Ok, but an OG Droid is a major downgrade (i had the OG Droid on launch day, then got my DX on launch day, so i dont want to go backwards...). They are sending another something tomorrow. Maybe they will try to make me take an eris next!
     
  24. MetalWych

    MetalWych Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Just in case anyone was wondering, they are replacing DXs with DXs. I got my replacement DX today. Of course, it doesn't work. Will not even boot up, and I can't get it into the bootloader to sbf it. Its going back. Verizon were very apologetic, and they are sending me out another DX that I will get tomorrow. Since I was trying to replace my DX (and its 40+ reboots a day) for a DX, the fact that they are replacing DXs with DXs is cool for me. Now, hopefully I can get a certified like new to actually work...:thinking:
     
  25. quickaudi

    quickaudi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    3,100
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    3,100
    415
    273
    TN
    hmmm, my replacement works just fine...

    *Knocks on wood*
     

Share This Page

Loading...