1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Root Droid X Free WiFi Tethering on .602/.605 (Confirmed working as of 9/30/11)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dnalloheoj, Sep 30, 2011.

  1. dnalloheoj

    dnalloheoj Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010

    Dec 21, 2010
    8
    4
    6
    Grays Bay Networks LLC
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Found this on another forum, so I can't take credit for it. But it took me a few days of digging around to find it, and I haven't see any other working solutions as of late. This fix allows you to use your Droid X (Or Droid 2) as a mobile wifi hotspot using the 3G connection, and will get you past the Verizon screen asking you to sign up. Be careful with how much data you use, as Verizon has been notorious lately for tracking people down for doing this.

    Download and install RadioComm. It worked fine on Windows 7 x64 (Despite saying it won't).
    Open Radiocom. This was the first time I opened the app, and a splash screen asked for me to "select which MA to use." I couldn't find the MA mentioned in the thread in this list, so I just selected 3G All Others (or something like that).
    Open the Main menu, select MA, Common, MDM 6x00 Chipset Base.
    Open the Settings menu, select USB, PST USB Driver.
    Connect phone to computer via USB. Change the phone's USB connection mode to PC Mode.
    The Radio Detection icon on the right side of RadioComm will turn green.
    Scroll to the P2K 4 tab.
    In the STELEM / RDELEM section, tick the Dec Entries radio box.
    In the text boxes, enter:

    Element ID: 8040
    Record #: 1
    Offset: 0
    Length: 128
    Press RDELEM. It will turn green and the following data should appear:

    40767A7733672E636F6D00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000
    Change Element ID to 8041.

    Press STELEM. It will turn green.
    Change Element ID to 8091.
    Press STELEM.
    Change the phone's USB connection mode to Charge Only.
    Reboot the phone.
    Install Wifi Tether 3.1-beta6.
    In Wifi Tether's settings, change the Device Profile to Motorola DroidX (CDMA). (Droid2 does not work.) This is a good time to set your SSID and encryption as well.
    Done. You can now tether.
    In case you need to revert the changes we just made, here's the original values: (these are the same on a D2G and Droid X)

    8041:

    4064756E2E767A7733672E636F6D000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000
    8091:

    40767A7733672E636F6D00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000

    I'm not responsible for anything you do to your phone, nor do I know how to support this fix. I suggest following this guide EXACTLY and backing everything up before making any changes. It's working for me thus far.

    Proof:
    [​IMG]

    Good Luck!
     

    Advertisement

  2. kg2128

    kg2128 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    197
    34
    43
    There were rumors verizon could track tethering through software on .602 a couple months ago. It wasn't confirmed if custom roms or deleting certain files would make it unable to be detected. Does bypassing this screen mean that it is now the same as pre .602? Where you could still get caught from using tons of data but otherwise it appears no different to verizon?
     
  3. dnalloheoj

    dnalloheoj Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010

    Dec 21, 2010
    8
    4
    6
    Grays Bay Networks LLC
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    The built in tethering service (Blue icon on my phones top bar) does show up, but typically goes away within a couple minutes of connecting a device to the phone. I don't know if that means it's not running or just hidden though. I'm sure they could still tell that you're tethering due to a sudden spike in data usage though, which is why I advised to use it somewhat sparingly.
     
  4. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I know a guy at work (not rooted) who uses Pandora for music at work via his X, every day. I don't understand why he doesn't get spanked for data usage. I've never tethered, but would love to use my phone's gps for my tablet. My data is around 200 megs a month.

    IMO, it shouldn't be tether yes or no. It should be all about data used. If you're under 2 gigs for the month, you can do anything you want.

    We shouldn't have to sneak around to use a little occasional data via our phone.
     
  5. barchamb

    barchamb Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    24
    1
    16
    Central Coast, CA
    I don't understand why you need to do all the RadioComm stuff at the top. I've been using the WiFi tether app from googlecode for quite a while with my tablet, and it's always worked fine. I've never had to do anything other than run the app...
     
  6. mdl948

    mdl948 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I have done everything your instructions say to do. but when i start the program, it tells me my drivers are wrong and that the program version is out of date. then when i get into the program and do as you say, i get RED insted of GREEN when i press the RDELEM button. so im not sure where im going wrong. could it be drivers?? i am using the latest ones from the motorola site.

    Any insite would be great. ty

    running on rooted .605
     
  7. GandalfTehGray

    GandalfTehGray Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    846
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010

    Dec 19, 2010
    846
    84
    78
    Texas
    Why not just flash tether patch and use experimental tether app? much easier
     
  8. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    I'm almost at 4GB this month, no tethering :D
     
  9. GandalfTehGray

    GandalfTehGray Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    846
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010

    Dec 19, 2010
    846
    84
    78
    Texas
    I grandfathered into unlimited, but i rarely hit above 2 unless im out alot with nothing to do but netflix. Pandora lags too much for me to use
     
  10. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    I tether once in a great while but I've accidentally deleted the patch, any idea where I can find it?
     
  11. dnalloheoj

    dnalloheoj Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010

    Dec 21, 2010
    8
    4
    6
    Grays Bay Networks LLC
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    I attempted to use a tethering patch but never had any lucky, which led me to believe it was hotfixed recently, thus bringing me to finding this solution.

    If you have/know of a tethering patch that works, I'm sure plenty of people would love to get a hold of it.


    Like I said in the OP, I can't really support this fix, as it's not mine. But a good place to start might be your driver version. What are you using? I believe I'm running 5.2.0. If need be, I can upload the exact driver package I'm using.
     
  12. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    I tired a few of the tethering apps that I have and Wireless Tether version 2.0.7 works fine without any kind of work around. Just start the app and it connects instantly.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  13. keegan1014

    keegan1014 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    431
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    431
    72
    73
    Open garden wifi tether is in the market and works great. Or gust use bluetooth dun with pda net, both work perfect.
     
  14. dragonbro

    dragonbro Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    262
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    262
    25
    43
    Bay Area, CA
    Interesting....just downloaded that .apk and it runs fine on my DX running MiUi .23. Dialog box pops up saying access control is disabled, but it still runs just fine? I don't really have a use for tethering, but was curious :)
     
  15. dnalloheoj

    dnalloheoj Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010

    Dec 21, 2010
    8
    4
    6
    Grays Bay Networks LLC
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    I had tried the 2.0.7 apk on my DX prior to doing this fix but it would still lead me to the Verizon Screen.

    Since doing the fix, the 2.0.7 works as well as 3.1.

    If you can get 2.0.7 working without doing all this, then go for it! Like I said, I couldn't get any solutions I found to work until trying this, so potentially figured someone else would have a use for it. Do whatever works for you, I'm not saying one method is better than any other.

    Question: Is that a custom rom? I'm not saying 2.0.7 doesn't work on it's own, but could it be CM7 has something to do with it?
     
  16. GandalfTehGray

    GandalfTehGray Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    846
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010

    Dec 19, 2010
    846
    84
    78
    Texas
    I have a copy on my Dx still and on my computer i believe, anyone wanting the patch can PM me their email and ill send it to them. I never needed patch for it to run on CM, but on GB and Apex i did the patch before using tether.
     
  17. 209carlos

    209carlos Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 19, 2011

    May 19, 2011
    9
    4
    6
    SayOw likes this.
  18. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,980
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,980
    25,389
    3,933
    Male
    ^^^^^^^^I can affirm/confirm the efficacy of said methodology. ^^^^^^^
     
  19. Neubsauce

    Neubsauce Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010

    Oct 1, 2010
    21
    2
    16
    Does anyone else's tether program upload data endlessly? It's a bit unnerving.
     
  20. dnalloheoj

    dnalloheoj Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010

    Dec 21, 2010
    8
    4
    6
    Grays Bay Networks LLC
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    I've noticed this as well. Not particularly fast (If I'm browsing the web, the up will stay significantly lower than the down), but even while not doing anything the up still seems to climb.

    I'm tethering to an iPad which could be part of the issue (iPad doesn't close apps, it just puts them in a sort of hibernate mode).
     
  21. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I'm on MIUI and Wireless Tether only worked with my laptop (adhoc).

    Wifi Tether (beta) works great tho with no additional s/w on the client side. Configured quickly using WPA with my wife's Nook Color (CM7) and two HP Touchpads (webOS), not that I will use it much.
     
  22. smmx

    smmx Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010

    Nov 10, 2010
    4
    3
    6
    Confirm working on stock .605
    Thank you for sharing the information! op!
     
  23. jeglinas

    jeglinas Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    34
    3
    16
    I keep getting the verizon page with bets 3.1 and open garden....
     
  24. mwp2295

    mwp2295 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011

    Oct 12, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Yes, I have tried to look into this and figure out what the hell is uploading so much data. Whenever I start wifi tether, my upload number just start counting up at a pretty fast pace, even before I connect any devices at all. I used Network trafficStats app to see what application was uploading the data. There were no applications that were uploading data? Something is weird about this. Not sure if Verizon has found a way to notice this but something is definatley sending a large amount of data upstream to somewhere. My friend with an HTC evo is using the same wifi tether app as I am and he is not getting data uploaded. I wonder if it has something to do with the radiocom settings changed. I am thinking about reverting back the radiocomm changes. Does anyone have any Idea what this might be, and why Network TrafficStats doesn't even show an app that is uploading data?
     
  25. jeglinas

    jeglinas Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    34
    3
    16
    Did the radiocomm thing works like a charm!
     

Share This Page

Loading...