• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Droid x how to get the best experience?

thefoxhole

Lurker
Sep 28, 2010
I just got the Droid x update to 2.2 and have been researching it for months. I am new to the smartphone scene (I used to have a camera phone text, pic, and talk) So all this new stuff is blowing my mind. I am trying to do all these things and I am having some issues.
I am reluctant to post however after going over many tutorials and guides it seems like it is hard to stay up to date with everything going on. It also seems that because of apps its easy to not have the best setup all the time.
So my main issues are now. Setting up ringtones and wall papers. I have the .mp3's in media/audio/ringtone (found that in a guide) and wallpapers in dcim/wallpapers however every time i try and select a ringtone or wallpaper it sidescrolls to black screen and doesnt set anything up.
Next, I am trying to integrate my computer and android to share files. Currently using dropbox. Is this the best solution? I am also reading that task killer is obsolete. I am contemplating root because i am sick of blockbuster and skype and city id always opening and taking up space. But that is besides the point. Im sure ill have more issues but this is holing me up as of now.
thanks

As far as the Task Killer goes, it's really up in the air...50% of people use it, 50% of people swear against it. I used it pre-2.2, but now 2.2 (atleast with Advanced Task Killer) requires you to hard Force Close applications, making the 1 click widget pointless. Most of the time, killing these apps makes the matter worse, because major system processes will automatically start back up on their own either way.

I havent used Dropbox yet, but personally I just connect my phone through bluetooth to my Macbook to share files, or just quickly email files to myself through gmail.