1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Droid X physical Buttons

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by phatajames167, Sep 9, 2010.

  1. phatajames167

    phatajames167 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010

    Sep 9, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    is there a way to set the physical buttons on the side and front to do things when the screen is off like go to the next song or volume up? it would be great for when im listening to music that way i dont always have to turn the screen on and unlock just to turn the volume up or down.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Moved to the Droid X forums for you, phatajames. ;)
     
    phatajames167 likes this.
  3. phatajames167

    phatajames167 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010

    Sep 9, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    sorry, didn't see the phone section. iu looked before posting, guess not hard enough
     
  4. mahers

    mahers Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,320
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    1,320
    164
    143
    Male
    Product Manager
    Concord, CA
    The Widgetlocker app allows use of the volume buttons when locked. You can use the camera button for stuff too, but I don't use it so I can't remember what's available. Volume comes in handy, tho
     
  5. bm196

    bm196 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    Don't have the answer, but there is also an app out there (searched, but couldn't find, after seeing it referenced in one of the frorums) that will allow for changing when the button lights come on and how long they stay on. Perhaps the answer is also in that app if anyone knows of it. I believe it has to do with power control.
     
  6. RichSz

    RichSz Not Entitled
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,086
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    2,086
    1,173
    313
    Male
    Software Engineer
    Between Imladris and Lothl
    I'm confused. When I'm using the stock mp3 player my volume buttons are active even when the screen is locked. Being able to pause/play or go to the next track would be nice but raising or lowering the volume is no issue.
     
  7. arelunde

    arelunde Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    CA Central Coast
    Ya. My rocker button works on the sound even when the X is locked. Also, interesting to note that you can switch from the album cover to a sound-generated computer graphic by touching the box that contains the cover! Pretty cool!
     
  8. nycebo

    nycebo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    520
    45
    68
    New York, NY
    When I am on phone calls and the screen turns off, sometimes the rocker volume buttons don't operate. Drives me crazy. I have to 'activate' the screen and then lower or raise the volume. I'm hoping all of this is a bug until 2.2 arrives.
     
  9. 10splaya22

    10splaya22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    525
    51
    78
    Midlothian, Va
    What do u mean? 2.2 arrived weeks ago! Haha
     
  10. phatajames167

    phatajames167 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010

    Sep 9, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    your right. the volume buttons do work when the screen is locked. im also using widgetlocker but had the function turned off
     
  11. phatajames167

    phatajames167 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010

    Sep 9, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    still would be awesome though to have the front buttons be able to go to the last song, stop, play, and go to the next song though. would that be manageable through an app or would it have to be rooted first?
     
  12. nycebo

    nycebo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    520
    45
    68
    New York, NY
    Just bringing this thread back from the dead again. Have updated to 2.2, and the volume rockers only work when the screen is off. When the droid x security lock (hello motorola) activates and requires the pattern or numbers to unlock, the volume rocker buttons don't function, either for media for for phone calls. I have to illuminate the screen in order to restore functionality (though I don't need to unlock the phone).
     
  13. queenrocks77

    queenrocks77 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    147
    7
    36
    Male
    I'm the President of the planet Neptune (don't ask
    Missouri.... It's south of Iowa
    My rocker works with screen off
     
  14. nycebo

    nycebo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    520
    45
    68
    New York, NY
    Yes, with screen off, but what about when the screen is locked (as when the security lock engages after your preset time duration)?
     
  15. ekyle

    ekyle Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,773
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,773
    108
    143
    Male
    Software Engineer
    Central NY
    I hated that security lock thing. I disabled it as soon as I noticed it was active. Is this a corporate phone?
     
  16. nycebo

    nycebo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    520
    45
    68
    New York, NY
    Yeah, I have my exchange client on it and my IT department was really insistent that I use the lock.
     

Share This Page

Loading...