1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Droid x stuck in infinite loop! Freaking out!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by wakka420, Mar 13, 2011.

  1. wakka420

    wakka420 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    26
    0
    15
    I was trying to make the notification bar the dark gray one, and i went and followed directions from here and the phone reset before i was even done typing in the directions, now im stuck in an infinite loop. I heard about sbf and all that, but i dont know where to start. My phones rooted with zroot (as far as i know). I tried to do the factory reset, but no avail. Someone help me out pretty please! I wasnt using a custom rom or anything, just the stock one from verizon.
     

    Advertisement

  2. chacen.droid

    chacen.droid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    110
    6
    36
    Glendale, Arizona
    wakka420 likes this.
  3. wakka420

    wakka420 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    26
    0
    15
    Now the only problem im having is locating my sd card adapter. rats!
     
  4. hunterwrot

    hunterwrot Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011

    Jan 1, 2011
    169
    11
    38
    Grassy Gator Lawn Care
    St. Augustine, FL
    Sorry buddy you gotta sbf. Its not too bad. If you created a clockwork backup then you can get it back once you sbf. Good luck.
     
  5. wakka420

    wakka420 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    26
    0
    15
    nope did not do any sort of back up. As long as i can get back to stockness for the time being im ok. Just talked to someone who works at verizon and he sayeth " as long as you can get into the system recovery menu (which i can), you should be fine. This is my first (and maybe last) experience with rooting...curse my only experience is this matter is "jailbreaking" iphones. gotta read more...
     
  6. chacen.droid

    chacen.droid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    110
    6
    36
    Glendale, Arizona
    ALWAYS do a backup before doing ANY root modification. Its your way home if this situation arises. Use ROM manager to rename important ones and delete ones you don't need.

    While on the topic, a backup of a fresh SBF is nice to have in the bag of tricks. Might consider making one before loading up all your apps and stuff.

    Don't let this be the end of root for you, once you get past the learning curve its gravy. Ask all the questions you need to.
     
  7. wakka420

    wakka420 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    26
    0
    15
    I might give rooting a try once i can fix this. Looks like im going to office depot to get an adapter seeing how mine is lost in the abyss that is my computer drawer. Gotta set the alarm and load up some podcasts on my zune HD. Its gonna be a long day at work tomorrow....
    Also, I shall be asking as many questions as possible about all this crazy rom stuff.
    So..theres no way to do all this without an sd card adapter for my comp?
     
  8. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    What would you need an sd card adapter for...... I haven't needed one of those yet and I have done almost everything imaginable to this phone.

    Whenever you need to put something on your sd card just plug your phone in and drag and drop. Your phone will mount the sd card on your computer for you.
     
  9. wakka420

    wakka420 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    26
    0
    15
    I cant get past the infinite boot logo...when i plug my phone in nothing pops up. windows 7 by the way
     
  10. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    right and to sbf the file needs to be on your desktop computer. And the only time it will mount is when it's in normal working condition. If you're stuck at the motorola M then SBF. (I'm pretty sure we've established that you need to SBF though :()
     
    wakka420 likes this.
  11. wakka420

    wakka420 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    26
    0
    15
    Yeah. I do need to sbf...rats rats rats! So, just to wrap up this horrible night, gotta grab sd card adapter, i already downloaded the sbf files. I need something called rds lite and then i can follow the instructions from rooler?
     
  12. RoOoLeR

    RoOoLeR Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010

    Nov 26, 2010
    31
    99
    53
    Cedar City, Utah
    I just got your tweet, i yelled back.. Have you tried Factory Reset/ Fromate Cache partition?

    Boot into stock recovery and do that.. see if itll boot up..

    If not time to SBF its not that bad i SBFed 4 times tonight hahaha
     
    gmenfan83 and wakka420 like this.
  13. wakka420

    wakka420 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    26
    0
    15
    I have tried the restore option, but not the cache. My phone battery died..so i have to leave it on and mess with it tomorrow. I had remembered that my mom has the same phone. So i'll just throw my sd into her phone and do the file transfer that way. Dont know why i didnt think of that sooner. Either way, im assed out a phone till tomorrow. Thanks for the help everyone. Im sure i will have more questions about all this tomorrow.
     
  14. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Most of the time when you are in a boot loop all you have to do is wipe your data partition in stock recovery and your good to go
     
  15. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    Were you able to get your battery charged? If so can you get into Clockworkmod recovery? If so you can flash the maderstock zip and not have to SBF. The madestock zip is the same as SBF but you don't need the computer. You can put the maderstock zip on the root of your sd card and flash it from CWM.

    Read this thread and download the file.


    http://androidforums.com/droid-x-all-things-root/254605-update-2-3-340-easily.html
     
  16. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    I don't think he can get into recovery. If he says it right he can't get past the moto M that's the logo not the animation. . Whenever i've been stuck at the M nothing helps other than a reboot because something was hung on boot or SBF. I've never been able to get to the stock recovery when at the logo.

    When you have an infinite boot loop (the boot animation not M) it means that your system has loaded fine but data is not compatible. So a data clear fixes that.

    And I'm still not clear as to why you need an SD card. Did you originally download the SBF file on your phone? You can get the SBF online. . .You don't need your sd card to even be in your phone to SBF.
     
  17. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Ah I was under the impression he was in a boot loop but yeah if he's stuck on the m then it's time to sbf
     
  18. wakka420

    wakka420 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    26
    0
    15
    Ok. heres the skinny. Could have been more descriptive lastnight. I didnt put any sort of sbf on my phone before messing with it. No clockwork restore available due to the fact that i didnt install it. It sometimes goes past the M, then shows the droid logo, but the logo animation is really choppy. I had my phone on the charger all night long, but it appears to not have done much of anything. I cant access my phone as a mass storage device because it wont fully boot. So thats where im at right now. Once i do this whole sbf refresh, i shall be taking better precautions ( backups etc) so if/when this happens again i will be prepared. Thanks for all your help guys. It turned from me freaking out and running around the house screaming to me being annoyed. Thats a step in the right direction i think.

    EDIT: also, i can get into recovery, but a wipe did nothing. I didnt mess with the cache wipe though, but seeing how my phones battery is dead, im not able to do much. I will just throw my moms phones battery into the phone and go from there.
     
  19. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    Yes, you need a battery with about 70% up to do your SBF safely. You don't need any special files on your SD Card for SBFing. Download your flies and drivers to your computer, boot your phone into Bootloader mode and SBF. Following the instructions on Ro0ler site
     
  20. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    This is what you need to do now.
    1. forget about needing an SD card adapter.
    2. Acquire mothers battery. The phone will not charge in the state its in.
    3. Set up RSDlite 4.9 and download the current SBF (click link for 2.3.340 full SBF) to your desktop.
    4. Boot into your bootloader by pressing the up volume button + camera button + pwr button.
    5. SBF from you Windows 7 desktop PC using RSDlite. All of which is done from your computer.
    6. get your phone set back up. don't be afraid of rooting. Make a backup of the stock rom as soon as you root.

    Just a FWIW for you and everyone: SBFing in a linux environment is so easy. You download the SBF file and another file that is super small. You give the small file executable permissions and then each other time ALL you have to do (no driver install or anything) is run the following command sudo ./sbf_flash droidx_sbf_filename.sbf and it runs :)
     
    chacen.droid likes this.
  21. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    +1 on flashing in Linux ,,it's so simple and I never have a problem
     
  22. wakka420

    wakka420 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    26
    0
    15
    Well, now i am in the bootloader. Finally understood what roooler was talkin aboot...lol. Anywho, when i run rsd, it tells me it failed to get the initialization values from the ini file. What gives?

    ok, forget all that edit stuff. im about 14 percent complete with the sw update thing. So about these custom roms....Thanks again roooler.
     
  23. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    Dunno what you're trying to get across. From what I'm reading is you originally had problems with the init file then got it to work somehow and you're 14% through the process of the SBF? With RSD 4.8 you had to manually apply the init file to RSD with 4.9 I've read its already in there but not sure. Hopefully another windows user will come along. I haven't used windows as my main computer for almost 6 years or I'd try and help.

    And about custom roms. DO IT. Take a few weeks and run each one you want to try out. I would recommend trying a ROM out for at least 3 or 4 days unless its absolutely horrible. None of which should be. If the ROM seems crappy maybe another install would better. With these ROMs make sure you follow the directions. Most will ask you to wipe data/cache. Backups save lives.
     
  24. wakka420

    wakka420 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    26
    0
    15
    sorry. Kind of giddy now that my phones fixed. Got it all running. i was using an older version (4.6) at first. Updated to 4.9 and everything went gravy.
     
  25. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    cool cool man! glad you got it all back on track. Now that you're familiar with SBF you can really get into ROMs and the like.
     

Share This Page

Loading...