1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Droid X will not work 10 feet a cross the border

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Ikona, Jun 30, 2011.

  1. Ikona

    Ikona Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    5
    0
    25
    I have a Droid X which I love for the most part; however, I also live on the United States Mexico border too. Well for some reason when ever I am roughly ten to twenty feet into Mexico I have no signal goes to zero, no bars at all. This is unusual because when I am right at the fence I have full bars, but ten feet away it is zero. This happens in three did border borders just the same way. I was wondering if anyone knew if Verizon uses GPS, or some other system like that too lock the phone out from working because it is like their is a invisible wall between the United States and Mexico. If their is does anyone know how to turn this feature off, or if that can be done?

    Also it seems weird because another phone on our family account which is a feature phone works fine in Mexico, but my Droid X & my father
     

    Advertisement

  2. MutantCheese

    MutantCheese Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    782
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010

    May 17, 2010
    782
    99
    78
    Edge of Insanity
    haha, that's awesome. You have to pay for international calls lol
     
  3. mortymouse

    mortymouse Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    246
    24
    38
     
  4. Wally World

    Wally World Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    981
    61
    78
    Better get the Montezuma's Revenge app......
     
  5. Ikona

    Ikona Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    5
    0
    25
    One of the states I was in was Baja California, so I wish you the best of luck!
     
  6. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Moved to support. :D

    Have you tried updating your roaming? *228, pick option 2.
     
  7. sic0048

    sic0048 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    545
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Jun 22, 2010
    545
    52
    78
    While I am surprised the signal dropped so quickly and such a short distance from the border, I can assure you that Verizon placed their towers very carefully along the border. The signal outside of the US is basically wasted and therefore the companies are going to place those towers carefully to ensure that the tower broadcasts in the US as much as possible and inside Mexico as little as possible. Anytime a tower US consistently broadcasts in Mexico means wasted money for the cell provider.

    What I mean by this is that if a US tower is positioned so that it broadcasts inside Mexico by 1/2 a mile, that tower was placed 1/2 mile too close to the border. By placing the tower correctly where it doesn't broadcast in Mexico at all (or very little), the cell provider gains an additional 1/2 mile coverage on the northern side of the cell tower range (because the tower is 1/2 mile farther into the US). The cell companies understand this and plan their towers accordingly.
     
  8. Ikona

    Ikona Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    5
    0
    25
    We tried dialing *228; however, even after doing so it did not have an effect on how the phone operated a cross the border.
     
  9. Ikona

    Ikona Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    5
    0
    25
    Also I agree the cellular phone provider is going to maximum the useful range of their towers; however, what still makes me believe their is some kind of program which kills the signals is that when I am ten feel on the U.S. side I have full bars, but when I am ten feet in Mexico I have no signal. How does the signal decay so quickly in ten or twenty feet?
     
  10. apavolka

    apavolka Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    495
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    495
    30
    43
    Plumbing Supply House
    Flagstaff, AZ
    I have yet to travel to Baja with my DX but with my Eris, I had full coverage in Ensenada, Tijuana, and a couple other big cities hundreds of miles south. I do racing down there and never had I had phone that didn't work after crossing the border. And I came from Alltel as well.
     

Share This Page

Loading...