1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root droid x2 com.android.phone problem

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ElectricDevil, Feb 9, 2014.

  1. ElectricDevil

    ElectricDevil Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    32
    8
    16
    NYC
    Hey everybody.
    I have a droid x2 rooted with eclipse rom.i was fiddling with titanium backups freeze freature to freeze some bloatware and i acidently disbale something called "phone" (since i use my droid x2 for only a portable media player i disconnected it a year ago from service)
    Now i keep getting this annoying message that says "Sorry! The application (process Com.android.phone) has stopped unexpectedly.
    Whenever i hit force close the message comes back again within a second.i cant go nowhere without this message getting in my way :(
    any help?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,872
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,872
    4,901
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    This thread was moved to the area where root-ed X2s are discussed ... the best place to encounter an answer.

    ... Thom
     
    ElectricDevil likes this.
  3. themib

    themib Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    778
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011

    Is bootstrap set to reboot to recovery or charge mode?
    If with phone off, connecting to charger, phone boots to bootstrap recovery, you could restore a nandroid backup
    If you have not made a backup you could restore the one in my list. Under ROMs or in my dev-host link

    If bootstrap is set to charging mode, you could try pushing phone apk with adb.exe, but USB debugging will have to be enabled, and you will need the phone.apk.

    Next option is flash 2.3.5 sbf, reroot, bootstrap, reflash eclipse.
    sd_shadow's (themib) [Collection] of Links for Droid X2
     
    ElectricDevil likes this.
  4. ElectricDevil

    ElectricDevil Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    32
    8
    16
    NYC
    i installed bootstrap sometime ago but it doesnt come up when i charge the phone,just the stock charging screen
     
  5. themib

    themib Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    778
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011

    How to push .apk with adb

    download
    adb-fastboot.zip
    moto drivers
    phone.apk

    install moto drivers
    unzip abd and phone.apk

    Copy
    adb.exe, AdbWinApi.dll, AdbWinUsbApi.dll, and phone.apk to a folder named adb directly in the c drive so it's location is c:\adb

    open command prompt on pc (ex. WinKey+R, Type cmd, Press Enter.)
    enter Code:
    cd/
    cd c:adb
    adb push phone.apk /system/app/
    adb reboot

    done.
     
    ElectricDevil likes this.
  6. ElectricDevil

    ElectricDevil Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    32
    8
    16
    NYC
    when i try to push the apk it doesn't find the device,i dont think the usb debugging is turned on on the phone and this message wont let me get to it.
     
  7. themib

    themib Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    778
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011

    Yes, usb debugging is likely the problem, but did you install and verify moto drivers?
     
    ElectricDevil likes this.
  8. themib

    themib Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    778
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011

    if installed correctly DX2 should look like this in windows device manager
    [​IMG]
     
    ElectricDevil likes this.
  9. ElectricDevil

    ElectricDevil Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    32
    8
    16
    NYC
    i installed the moto drivers (64bit).i dont see anything in device amanger about adb
     
  10. ElectricDevil

    ElectricDevil Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    32
    8
    16
    NYC
    any idea on how to get around this?
     
  11. themib

    themib Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    778
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011

    only steps I know will work
    flash sbf (firmware), and wipe data
    phone will boot normally, then you can root, bootstrap and install eclipse if you want

    A few things could be tried if phone is, signed in to a google account and wifi is connected, but not likely to work.
    If those two are true, sign in to play.google.com
    from a PC/Mac and install a dialer and/or a launcher .
     
    ElectricDevil likes this.
  12. ElectricDevil

    ElectricDevil Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    32
    8
    16
    NYC
    Thanks a toooooon Themib my android is back up and working :D
     
  13. themib

    themib Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    778
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011

    Great, do you know what worked?
     

Share This Page

Loading...