1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Droid X2 Links: ROMs, SBFs, OTA updates, Mods and Scripts

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Scur, Oct 14, 2011.

  1. bolski

    bolski Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #382
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    313
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010

    Dec 8, 2010
    313
    73
    63
    Male
    IT Architect/Developer
    I was going back to stock because of "bugs" in some ROMs, but Liberty seems to be pretty bug free. Even with the recent "Google Music" issues (which affected everyone on custom ROMs and was easily fixed), I have stuck with Liberty.

    I have yet to find anything "missing" that I need from Liberty.
     

    Advertisement

  2. coolpoete

    coolpoete Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    332
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    332
    57
    73
    Alabama
    @ scur: Yeah, I should have clarified. I meant rooted/adjusted stock.
     
  3. Scur

    Scur Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    1,394
    481
    163
    Male
    Illinois
    I think this weekend I'm going to grab the Naked ROM and build one from scratch. I've been wanting to for a while now and finally have the time to tinker a bit with it.
     
    Th3Coog likes this.
  4. ShanDroyd

    ShanDroyd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #535
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    243
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    243
    22
    48
    Male
    transportation
    53150
    Just started running Eclipse ROM, and so far I am loving it. Very smooth, no lag, quick, looks great. Everything runs great with the exception of a few downloaded games. For some reason Contract Killer: Zombies keeps crashing, but that could be due to the app itself being poor quality?
     
  5. Scur

    Scur Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    1,394
    481
    163
    Male
    Illinois
    Wierd. I don't recall having trouble with any apps at all. Did you delete and reinstall?
     
  6. Th3Coog

    Th3Coog Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    148
    11
    38
    Student
    Oak Park, CA
    I'm not sure if it's the Molten or Eclipse ROM but I have had my time and date reset back to August 23rd two or three times now with the wrong time. The most reset time was last night when I was in the Black Friday BestBuy line and I switched from my extended battery to standard battery.

    Has anyone else experienced this?
     
  7. Scur

    Scur Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    1,394
    481
    163
    Male
    Illinois
    Not that I've ever seen. You sure it isn't an app causing it?
     
  8. Th3Coog

    Th3Coog Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    148
    11
    38
    Student
    Oak Park, CA
    How would I be able to check?

    Additional Info: My phone tells me it's 2:23 PM, Wed, August 24th right now.
    Calls and Texts still come in but using the time the phone says.

    I can still use the web but Google+ shows "Just Now" as the time.

    Gmail isnt working. It says "No connection"

    If I flash a new rom and it gives me correct info.
     
  9. Scur

    Scur Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    1,394
    481
    163
    Male
    Illinois
    Finding an app as the culprit of an issue is a pain in the butt. It helps to know the permissions of the apps, but mostly it's trial and error and taking educated guesses about which app to play with first. The random issues are the hard ones to track down. Since I haven't seen other complaints about it, I would assume it was a bad flash, a bad app, or a good app that simply needs reinstalled.

    edit:I've added about a dozen apps and removed about a half-dozen in the past day or so, and something is suddenly causing my homescreen to reload slow as hell. I've got my own app to track down...
     
  10. Scur

    Scur Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    1,394
    481
    163
    Male
    Illinois
    Updated the info, plus I added the last known updates. If you catch me slipping on those, call me on it. :)
     
  11. Fightingkid11

    Fightingkid11 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    How long did it take to install the original gingerbread 2.3.4 on your droid x2? and how did you do it? mine is taking quite some time...
     
  12. Scur

    Scur Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    1,394
    481
    163
    Male
    Illinois
    lol I just did it not 20 minutes ago to prepare my phone for a new flash. It takes 5 - 10 minutes. Watch the percentage in RSD and make sure it's moving. Let it reboot a couple times, then after that if it still reboots time after time (I always make sure it reboots 3 times in a row), unplug it, pull the battery, go into your recovery, wipe data, then reboot. That should do it for you.
     
  13. Fightingkid11

    Fightingkid11 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    What is "RSD"?
     
  14. Scur

    Scur Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    1,394
    481
    163
    Male
    Illinois
    Ok, you need to reed the Newbie Start Point.
    Download the GB SBF.
    Download RSD.
    Click the link for "How to use those together. Guide."
    Follow those directions.
     
  15. Fightingkid11

    Fightingkid11 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Thanks i got it all taken care of, you helped me big time!
     
  16. Scur

    Scur Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    1,394
    481
    163
    Male
    Illinois
    That's what we do here. :)
     
  17. Th3Coog

    Th3Coog Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    148
    11
    38
    Student
    Oak Park, CA
  18. coolpoete

    coolpoete Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    332
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    332
    57
    73
    Alabama
    Thanks.. been kinda bored with it lately, need to try something new!
     
  19. arparaspolo

    arparaspolo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    410
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010

    I flashed Eclipse and also Liberty. I honestly prefer stock to either. I just wish I knew how to change my icons in the notification bar. That is all I want to do. I like motoblur (for the most part) Is there a way to do what I am talking about? Change the signal bars, battery(with percentage), wifi indicator and more.
     
  20. Scur

    Scur Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    1,394
    481
    163
    Male
    Illinois

    Check out ROM Toolbox, it's in the market.
     
  21. PRao700

    PRao700 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011

    Nov 10, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    hey guys I have another question. Gotten the hang of changing roms and I have tried a bunch with no problem. I wanna give some of those 2.3.5 roms a try so I heard that I need to flash it back to the stock SBF 2.3.4 then flash the update over that. I am doing it now. wiped the cache and the dalvik cache and I downloaded the SBF2.3.4 and I am flashing it over eclipse, or trying to at least. It keeps getting stuck at the "installing update" part under the recovery. Whats going on?
     
  22. PRao700

    PRao700 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011

    Nov 10, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    NVM I figured it out.
     
  23. Lord Nikon

    Lord Nikon Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010

    Oct 31, 2010
    22
    0
    15
    I downloaded the Liberty zip, and unzipped it to my desktop. But when I go into recovery, what am I actually installing? There are so many items under the Liberty zip, which one am I actually installing? Or am I not extracting the files right on the first place?
     
  24. Lord Nikon

    Lord Nikon Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010

    Oct 31, 2010
    22
    0
    15
    Nevermind, brain fart, I got it.
     
  25. Th3Coog

    Th3Coog Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    148
    11
    38
    Student
    Oak Park, CA
    Eclipse 2.0.2 is out. He was unable to update Changelog yet, but if you follow him on twitter, direct download link is there.
     
    Scur likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...