1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Droid

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by droid3ra, Apr 14, 2010.

  1. droid3ra

    droid3ra Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010

    Mar 19, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    So i have cyanogenmod v5.0.4.3 and i want to get back to stockk 2.0.1. Can i do a factory data reset what exactly will that do?
     

    Advertisement

  2. istolvampire

    istolvampire Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    503
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    503
    35
    68
    read the thread-now you can live without fear
     
  3. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
  4. silkchaos

    silkchaos Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    86
    2
    36
    IT Director
    Binghamton, NY
    Actually, if you have ROM manager installed (which i am assuming since you are running CM) you can just load ROM manager, go to "Download ROM" and under stock images, is the Verizon Droid 2.0.1 Stock -Stable, NOT rooted.

    This should do what you are looking for.

    Editted to add: A factory reset will not return you to stock, it will just wipe out all your data and settings but leave you running CM)
     
    droid3ra likes this.
  5. slick_old

    slick_old Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    277
    10
    38
    Financial Analyst, Writer
    Nice thread title.:rolleyes:
     
  6. droid3ra

    droid3ra Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010

    Mar 19, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Lol just a random thread title. But Rom manager isn't working it says, "An error occured while attempting to run privileged commands!" I love this ROM and i'm going to stick with it i just want to be able to get back if i ever have to take it in.
     
  7. slick_old

    slick_old Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    277
    10
    38
    Financial Analyst, Writer
  8. nstallion

    nstallion Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    1,152
    136
    143
    San Diego, CA
    Seriously. A lot of people fail at making easily searchable thread titles. If someone else wants to search for how to return to 2.0.1 they aren't gonna be looking for a thread named "Droid".

    Maybe I'm in a minority that actually thinks about being productive with a thread rather than just getting someone to answer a question that has been answered a million times in other threads - most of which have equally useless titles.
     
  9. slick_old

    slick_old Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    277
    10
    38
    Financial Analyst, Writer

    +1
     
  10. jsimanella

    jsimanella Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010

    Mar 28, 2010
    39
    24
    18
    I tried this, several times. No luck :( I keep getting an error when I reboot and try the downloaded update.zip file.

    Any suggestions? I want to return this Droid and I can't figure out how to get rid of the SuperUser Permissions program.

    Help!!! (and thanks!)
     
  11. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Use the thread I linked to in post #3 - it will get you back to a stock install with no root, etc. You'll be able to return the phone without any problems.
     
  12. jsimanella

    jsimanella Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010

    Mar 28, 2010
    39
    24
    18
    Thanks!!! Worked like a charm. Gave me some type of error, at the end (failed), but 2.01 was back and Superuser was gone :) Updated to 2.1 and will take it back to VZW shortly.

    Thanks, again!

    John
     

Share This Page

Loading...