1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root droid2/r2d2

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by emerica243, Feb 15, 2011.

  1. emerica243

    emerica243 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    199
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    199
    11
    38
    Is the rooting process for a brand new r2d2 d2 the same as the normal d2? I think it runs a slightly different version of android then the normal d2. I just want to root it and load apex 1.4 on it.

    Im guessing ill need to use Z4 to root. Then load on droid2bootstrap, and make sure the phone is running 2.3.20 before i flash apex1.4?

    Also, if any problems occur, i should have the 2.3.20 FULL SBF on hand correct?
     

    Advertisement

  2. oshigeru

    oshigeru Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    2
    0
    25
    Correct. Hardware-wise, they're identical. I highly suggest SBFing first. Also, make sure you have BL 2.35, not 2.37. I bricked a D2 trying to flash 2.3.20 with BL 2.37 - sbf:droid2 [And Developers] has the bootloader. Z4 might not root the D2. I use SuperOneClick.
     
  3. emerica243

    emerica243 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    199
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    199
    11
    38
    How do i check the bootloader version? And what if i have 2.37?
     
  4. Bugly

    Bugly Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    1,057
    104
    143
    Male
    VW mechanic
    Tacoma, Washington
    Is there a specific SBF for the r2? I would like to mod my wife's device to emulate the r2, since I f'd up and forgot she liked that kind of stuff when I bought her new d2 for her...
     

Share This Page

Loading...