1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root DroidX failed to root?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Evildawn, Jun 30, 2011.

  1. Evildawn

    Evildawn Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    May 17, 2011

    May 17, 2011
    48
    8
    16
    im not sure what went wrong but i am pretty positive that i am still not rooted,... i tested my theory by trying to uninstall blockbuster and was not able to. im running a droidx through vzw

    this is the guide i followed

    - Connect your phone to your PC/MAC and transfer the application
     

    Advertisement

  2. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,295
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,295
    23,674
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    EvilDawn,

    Are you on GingerBread (2.3)?

    If you are running GingerBread (2.3), then Z4root (or even GingerBreak) cannot root it.

    Z4root only works for the Droid X in Froyo (2.2).

    You can only get root on the Droid X running GingerBread by SBF'ing back to Froyo, re-rooting with Z4root, and installing P3Droid's two-part pre-rooted .zip files from ClockworkMod.
     
  3. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    The only thing that I would change in those instructions is the last thing. If it doesn't root in 3 minutes or so just back out of the app and start it again, that's always worked for me.
     
  4. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,295
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,295
    23,674
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Ah, yes, sorry if I mis-understood...the OP might be doing the very process I described above ;)?

    Z4root also seems to work best/better by re-booting right after installing and running it right after you've booted-up (that has seemed to be the key for several folks).

    Good luck!
     
  5. Evildawn

    Evildawn Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    May 17, 2011

    May 17, 2011
    48
    8
    16
    I've ran it about 3 times now it says im rooted but im clearly not... I also never updated to gb because of all the bad feedback tho I don't know exactly what version I am running
     
  6. pool_shark

    pool_shark Android Expert
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,520
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    2,520
    578
    343
    Male
    Infrastructure Engineer
    Ohio
    Even if you are rooted you can't "uninstall" preinstalled apps, you have to freeze, rename, move, or delete (not advised) them.

    Do you have the superuser icon in your appdrawer?
     
  7. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,295
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,295
    23,674
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Go to Settings -> About phone and see what the "Android version" section shows near the bottom of the page.

    If its 2.3.3, then its GingerBread. If its 2.2.x, then you are still on Froyo.
     
  8. Evildawn

    Evildawn Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    May 17, 2011

    May 17, 2011
    48
    8
    16

    Im running 2.2.1

    Also no I do not see an actual super user function in my app drawer but I do recall seeing z4root say it had been granted super user access.

    So.if I cannot delete all the preinstalled junk what's the purpose of being rooted at all.
     
  9. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    You can delete the pre-installed apps but you can't do it like you normally would. You need to use an app like Root Explorer to either rename the app or remove it from the system/app folder.
     
  10. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,295
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,295
    23,674
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Yep, you are still on Froyo ;).

    The way I ran Z4root was: install, reboot, run it first thing, reboot.

    Did you get your version from the Market or from Ryan's page on XDA:

    [APP] z4root - xda-developers

    (which should be the latest / greatest version).

    Also, I think pool_shark meant that you are not given an option anywhere to use the uninstall feature / function on the pre-installed apps. The "best" way to handle those guys, is to carefully check the list of apps that you can "safely remove" and then use Titanium Backup (or suitable facsimile (Root Explorer, etc.)) to "freeze" them (i.e., remove their execute permissions). That way, the apps stay in place on your phone, but are not actually delete, but don't (can't get) started.
     
    Evildawn likes this.
  11. Evildawn

    Evildawn Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    May 17, 2011

    May 17, 2011
    48
    8
    16

    Ok.I.think that's what I installed astro app for... tho I just attempted to rename the blockbuster app(im using this one since I or sure know what it is) and it says I do not have the permissions to do so... ill try to app you suggested but I expect the problem.still lies in not.being rooted properly
     
  12. Evildawn

    Evildawn Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    May 17, 2011

    May 17, 2011
    48
    8
    16

    I got my version off megauploads it was a link provided on the guide I used to walk me through it... ill try the version u linked,.. although that link doesnt appear to work for me lol.
     
  13. pool_shark

    pool_shark Android Expert
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,520
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    2,520
    578
    343
    Male
    Infrastructure Engineer
    Ohio
    Correct. Plus, deleting the apps prevent you from upgrading in the future.
    I don't rename the preinstalled apps, I just move them to another directory, they don't run if they aren't in the correct location.

    By the way, I love your battery monitoring app.
    I couldn't update to rooted .588 because Browser.apk wasn't located, once I moved all of the apps back the update worked fine.
     
    Evildawn and scary alien like this.
  14. Evildawn

    Evildawn Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    May 17, 2011

    May 17, 2011
    48
    8
    16

    i see so just moving them to another folder will keep them from running and bogging my performance?

    anyone else miss the days when a phone was simply just a phone lol.:eek:
     
  15. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    Gingerbreak works on 2.1 n 2.2 too ;)
     
  16. pool_shark

    pool_shark Android Expert
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,520
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    2,520
    578
    343
    Male
    Infrastructure Engineer
    Ohio
    It doesn't really affect performance anyway, I like many others just hate to see them running when we don't use them, and GB doesn't start as many apps as froyo did.

    Most of the apps reside in /system/app. I created /system/app/APPS. I move them all there and when I have to move them back one simple command at the # prompt puts them back.

    I do not miss the dumbphone days. I love surfing the net and getting my emails on my phone.
    Just had a home security system installed. I can turn lights on/off, unlock the door, arm/disarm, and adjust my thermostat all from my phone.
    Very sweet in a geeky way.
     
  17. Evildawn

    Evildawn Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    May 17, 2011

    May 17, 2011
    48
    8
    16
    am attempting to move them at the moment but am having little luck. it says its moving the file then i try to go to another folder to actually move it and idk it just forgets it was moving a file or something.
     
  18. Evildawn

    Evildawn Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    May 17, 2011

    May 17, 2011
    48
    8
    16
    but as is im actually seeing very little reason why i should even bother having my phone rooted if it wont improve my performance or really do anythign else i was expecting to be able to do.
     
  19. pool_shark

    pool_shark Android Expert
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,520
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    2,520
    578
    343
    Male
    Infrastructure Engineer
    Ohio
    You can improve performance by installing an over/under clocking app such as Android overclock by Jrummy.
    Being rooted also lets you install alternate ROMs, move files from your SDcard to your internal storage, etc.

    If you're using a file explorer, you have to use one with root accessibilty such as ES file explorer (my favorite), or root explorer.

    You could also install a terminal emulator and busybox to do it via the command line.
     
    Evildawn likes this.
  20. Evildawn

    Evildawn Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    May 17, 2011

    May 17, 2011
    48
    8
    16

    Ok final question for this thread then hopefully I have some research to do... if I can install and run the overclock app.u told me about then my root must be working correct?

    And im using ES file explorer I just can't figure out how to actually move the darn file grr lol... this sucks I hate sounding like im technologically challenged im really good with computers but this phone has me stuck lol.


    So I open the ES explorer, tap the sd icon to switch to internal storage, go to system, go to app folder, I then find the app I want to move and that's where im stuck. I tried holding the app until the menu popped up but got no.move option
     
  21. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,295
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,295
    23,674
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Evildawn,

    Did you finally get root working? (i.e, Superuser app, etc.?)?

    If you have, then I think you'll have to enable the "Root options" in ES File Explorer and re-mount /system as R/W:

    menu -> Settings -> Root options (NEW) -> Root Explorer (checked)

    You'll then be prompted by the Superuser whitelist app to allow ES File Explorer to run as root.

    Then you can navigate to your file that you need to change, long-press, and select "Properties". From there, you should be able to change the permissions.

    Hope that helps.

    Cheers!
     

Share This Page

Loading...